We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great dining option for something a bit healthier” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urban Plates

Urban Plates
Ranked #4 of 643 Restaurants in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great dining option for something a bit healthier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

went for dinner around 630pm on a wednesday night and the place was decently crowded. waited maybe 10 min in line before i got to go through the cafeteria style line. ugh dont even get me started on how much i dislike their style of ordering...if you want a salad go here, if you want a sandwich go here...diff stations depending on what you want to order but then you all end up in the same line to pay which i think slows everything down but alas its their system so i gotta deal with it haha

went with one of their plates ($10) which is an entree with 2 sides. i opted for the turkey meatloaf with mashed potatoes and mac 'n cheese. i really enjoyed the meatloaf. it comes with bbq sauce drizzled on top which adds extra flavor and paired with the creamy mashed potatoes, it was a really hearty meal. only disappointment was the mac 'n cheese - it tasted kind bland and not very cheesey at all. would skip that next time and try a different side. overall for the quality and price, i think urban plates gives you a lot of bang for your buck. like the concept that most items are priced the same and you get a lot of food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kristin_chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    73
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
372 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very hip and modern cafeteria like restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very good desert chicken salad. I love this restaurant's decor. Inside and out dining. They use local produce and meat if they can. Check out the pictures...very cool place. The line moves pretty slow during peak hours.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and Yummy Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a great addition to Irvine. Went there three times in ten days with different friends. The beef on the first day was not the most tender, but by the third time, it was 100% better. The salad was wonderful, just the right amount of dressing. (some restaurants drown the greens with too much dressing) The hot sides were delicious...broccolini and brussel sprouts to die for, and you get generous portions too. My friend had beets, they were roasted and super yummy. I believe they were roasted and not boiled. I think it will take me some time to try all that is on the menu, but I am hooked. I wish they have some more vegetarian dishes. My friend had the vegetarian curry, and he was not impressed. They put the rice at the bottom and it gets soupy. I think that maybe I will try their 4 for $10 next time. It's 4 hot or cold sides for $10. For an extra $4.00, you can get double meat. My son the carnivore had that one night- that is 8 oz of beef!
Anyway, it gives California Grill and Veggie Grill in the same shopping center a run for their money. I got totally turned off Veggie Grill once I found out that the food is loaded with excessive sodium. Glad I found this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAmamasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fresh, organic and yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Interesting kind of place. It is cafeteria style, meaning you order and are served on the line but the food doesn't sit in a big huge pre cooked chafing or casserole dish.

The food is good. locally sourced and made on site daily. I have been a few times and still haven't tried every thing on the menu but I want to. And the best of all, it one price fits most plates on the menu....
Try the desserts./..super yummy too

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinkeedrawers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Plates also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Urban Plates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing