We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 10/24
8:00 PM
Ranked #2 of 711 Restaurants in Irvine
Price range: $8 - $70
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Michelson Dr and Jamboree
Description: Ruth's Chris Steak House specializes in serving aged USDA Prime steaks, broiled in a trademark 1800-degree oven and served on a plate heated to 500 degrees to ensure the steak stays "sizzling" hot. To experience fine dining at its best … Just follow the sizzle to Ruth's Chris Steak House located in Irvine, California!
Reviewed July 15, 2016

This was a business meeting.
The service was very good. The staff was friendly and had good suggestions when asked.
The Corn chowder soup was very good as was the BBQ shrimp app. I then had the filet with shrimp and it was cooked exactly like I like it.
We also had a great wine as well.
There is no question this place is a great place to visit.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julio6925
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 158 of 376 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2016

Never disappointed in Ruth's Chris. Service is always spot on and the food to die for. Not cheap by any means but a great place for a special occasion

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rastabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Ruth's Chris is our family's go-to special occasion restaurant that offers the best steaks in town. It's New Orleans style steak so they do put butter on their steaks before they are served sizzling. You can't go wrong with the Filet Mignon here (petite or regular portion). The Rib Eyes here are perfectly marbled as well with your choice of sizes as well. They have generous portions for sides perfect for between two people. Crab cakes and Lobster Bisque here are the best and unequaled anywhere I have been to. Bread is never stale and they whip the butter here so it goes on smoothly. They do ask guests who wear black pants if they prefer black cloth napkins (to avoid the white lint from white cloth napkins) which is a really nice touch! Service here is consistently excellent - never disappoints. They always warn you about the 500 degree plates which they truly are so keep your hands away from them. They do have kids meals, but they are not the usual kind you find in restaurants. I wish they would offer hotdogs or grilled cheese sandwiches here. Not a big deal though. Cocktails are pretty good and they do have a variety of wine selection. They do have German Rieslings here so that's always good to enjoy. Their lemonade is truly freshly squeezed - it's not refillable though but who cares I just order another one. And they have good Strawberry Daiquiri here which my husband and son enjoy a lot. The recommended attire here is business casual although we've been able to get away dining in jeans here. Just don't get offended if they seat you in the back room though. To be honest, I think the best seats are in the back room behind the bar where it's nice and quiet away from the main dining room. They also offer valet here for a minimal fee - complimentary during lunch most times. Ruth's Chris Irvine is an excellent choice if you want to enjoy steaks and a nice time with family or as a couple.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

When having steak is the one thing and bringing my wife and friends for a special occasion is the reason. Then it's time to join Ruth's Chris with with the people I love the most. What a great time.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016

Let's start with the obvious: This is an excellent steak house. Flat out awesome.

My brother-in-law treated us to dinner while he was in town and a treat it was. Between the four of us, we had the petite filets and the crab cakes along with wedge salads, heirloom tomato salads, baked potatoes, potatoes au gratin, and brussel sprouts. All of it was excellent.

The steaks were cooked perfectly and were amazingly tender while the crab cakes were rich and buttery. The sides were done up perfectly as well. I loved the brussel sprouts; they were baked and done up with honey-butter. It sounds like an odd combination but it really does work. The baked potato was huge, easily over a pound.

The staff here is also awesome and really know their stuff. They're a very professional crew and make you feel very welcomed.

You really can't go wrong with a restaurant like this one.

A couple of observations.

If you have older parents (e.g. need canes or walkers), this may not be the best place for them. The interior is beautifully done up and subdued but it is also dark. My Dad, while this was a treat for him, found it difficult to maneuver his walker through the aisles which were tight and dark. This isn't a knock on the restaurant - you just have to be prepared for the environment if you decide to bring your (older) parents.

The volume/noise level of the restaurant is also good and made it easy to converse, even for my Dad who uses hearing aids.

The parking here is a joke. Again, not the restaurants fault but they are part of a larger shopping/eating complex and there is simply not enough parking for Saturday evening dinner hour. We had to use the Valet. Be aware of the parking situation and be prepared to walk.

I will definitely bring my wife here for a special-occasion dinner but probably not the entire family as my (younger) boys wouldn't really appreciate the fare. And the place is expensive. You get what you pay for - awesome food, great service, terrific atmosphere.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank W6633PYpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.