We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambiance”
Review of Houston's

Houston's
Ranked #2 of 664 Restaurants in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Houston's offers great food and ambiance. I enjoy taking clients there for lunch because it's close to many Irvine business offices. I have also been there for dinner, however, the wait is usually long. The selection of drinks at the bar makes the wait enjoyable. Little secret, there is no corking fee if you bring your own bottle of wine. I highly recommend the smoked salmon appetizer if you are going to endure the wait.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    101
    30
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointed and surprised: stay away from the prime rib”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We've eaten at hustons in other locations and raved about it BUT... I ordered prime rib: medium rare here and it came out WAY overcooked... I sent it back and was concerned when it came back again in less than 5 min and this time it was chewy and not even cooked....I gave up at that point. I totally expected that someplace like Huston's would do prime rib well but I was very sadly disappointed. To be fair, my wife's grilled chicken salad and daughter's coconut shrimp sushi were great and they "comped" my portion but I'm not sure I'll try Hustons again....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
“Can't Go Wrong”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Everything I've had there has been superb...and I go once every couple of weeks. Try the smoked salmon appetizer, they smoke it fresh in house and it's absolutely addictive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I ate at Houston's while visiting in Southern California. Good food; fast service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbb57aolcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Steak House Around”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Filets are the best I have ever eaten, anywhere! The consistancy of the food is always fabulous and the service is top notch

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing