We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for fish”

McCormick & Schmick's
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 664 Restaurants in Irvine
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main & Gillette
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great place for fish”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A wide assortment of fish, all very fresh. Excellent service. Yummy bread. This is the OC outpost of a group of restaurants, most called "McCormick and...(Schmick or Kuleto)" and all of which are very good. I go to the one in San Francisco fairly often.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tuturista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    70
    33
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Tired fish”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We haven't been here for probably 15 years, but we had a gift card burning a hole in our pocket and went there on a Sunday night. The place was fairly empty and the booth at which we were seated was difficult to get into. The bread was bland, the wine was subpar, the swordfish had no taste and the "wild" mushrooms didn't taste like mushrooms, they just had a strong taste of rosemary. The salmon was OK. The bill + tip topped $100. Now I remember why we haven't been here for a while.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Dinner”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had reservations far in advance, waited for 10 mins to be seated.,after which we were totally ignored for over 20 mins.Finally a waitress came by and asked if someone had gotten our check. We explained to her we had never been waited on. She explained that no one had put our table number on her section of which she was suppose to be servicing.She said she would let the manager know about the problem, but she never did.
After receiving a sorry processed meal,of which we did not enjoy, we paid and ask to speak to the manager.Richard met us at the front ,apologized,said he would address the problem, although he did not seem that concern. Probably will never eat at this particular restaurant again. Managers and staff should be more concern about all customers, without our business they would not have a job.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rambo772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Celebration!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were there for a birthday celebration and Neil made it exceptional. We ordered both fish and beef dishes and all were done perfectly and very tasty. The servers were very attentive and made for a great time by all. Would definitely recommend the new age surf and turf and also the upside down apple pie....Great job done by all! Thanks again Neil.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbs092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“AMAZING SERVICE!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The wait staff for our very large party of over 50 was quite good! Sourdough bread to die for - tip - ask for balsamic vinegar & oil! Salmon and Shrimp dishes were cooked perfectly and welll proportioned. Chocolate flourless cake can easily be shared - way rich! Coffee standard as was salad. Service rocked the night we were there. Super friendly!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank summerpopsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to McCormick & Schmick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing