We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great food”

Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill
Ranked #13 of 658 Restaurants in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: IRVINE RESTAURANT: DINING, CATERING, TAKE-OUT AND GIFT CARDS The best American BBQ Dining at Moderate Prices! Among BBQ restaurants in Irvine CA, Wood Ranch stands out as a great and unforgettable restaurant. With award winning selections of Certified Angus Beef(C) steaks, Tri-Tip, as well as our highly praised chicken and fresh fish, Wood Ranch is one of the most delectable BBQ restaurants in Irvine, California. Whether for lunch or dinner, take-out or catering, we invite you to savor our deliciously prepared dishes. We are also renowned for our Kids' Menu, rich selection of salads, appetizers, desserts, premium signature cocktails, as well as our excellent service and overall great value.
laguna hills
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently great food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We've been here a bunch of times and the food has consistently been great! The prices are reasonable, especially if you get the combination 2, 3, or 4 item and share with people. I recommend the tri tip, always get the free rolls, and the sliders on the appetizer menu are delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nadiashahmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    57
    20
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Everything you would want in a BBQ Restaurant”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stopped by the Spectrum branch of Wood Ranch BBQ and Grill. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon (around 2:00). We were quite surprised at how busy the restaurant was at this hour, but we were immediately seated.

After taking our drink orders, the extremely attentive and efficient waiter, brought over some terrific, warm rolls. This was quickly followed by our caesar salads. While the salads were not unique, they were quite satisfying.

However, the highlight were the entrees. My wife and I both had bbq chicken with a side of mash potatoes. The chicken was moist and tasty. The bbq sauce was not overwhelming but quite delicious. My son had the brisket and had the opportunity to try a couple of the different bbq sauces. He was quite satisfied with his meal.

All in all, we plan on returning when the opportunity presents itself. Incidentally, the cost was not exorbitant as we left with a bill of about $50.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Saturday evening at the Spectrum, had to wait about 45 minutes for a table for two. Walked around a bit, had a drink in the bar waiting for our pager to go off. Food here is always good and reasonably priced. We shared a Natalie's salad, nice fresh greens with avocado, candied walnuts, dressing on the side. My wife had the tri-tip which is always good and slow-cooked generally to medium. I had a mixed plate of dry rubbed St. Louis ribs and Texas brisket. The peach/habanero sauce is pretty spicy so be careful. Both dishes came with two sides, we had peanut coleslaw and mashed sweet potatoes. We're not big eaters so there was plenty left for lunch even without dessert.
Bit noisy on a Saturday as you might expect, but service was friendly, prompt, and attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 65oski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

What a nice place to eat. Pretty long wait on a Friday night but worth it. Keep an eye on on tables in bar area if you don't mind sitting there. You don't have to wait for those, just grab them when they become available. They also have outdoor seating. food was delicious. Service was okay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank karen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Service above all else”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

As the title says. We had meals which weren't right or weren't right to our taste. ABSOLUTELY NOT A PROBLEM - cooks came out, wanted to know how to do it our way. Did it that way! If you like BBQ Southern or Eastern Midwest styles this is for you. If not, go somewhere else. If you've never had this sort of cooking, by all means step up and give it a go.

Sauces could be more varied perhaps but then that's the highly experienced with this stuff person speaking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank better_beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing