We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Orange County Great Park”

Orange County Great Park
Ranked #16 of 44 things to do in Irvine
Attraction details
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Orange County Great Park”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The park is not yet completed by the plans they have for it are just amazing. We went twice last summer for free movies in the park. It was really free. Free parking, free seating, free everything. We brought our folding chairs and some beverages and watched a movie on a giant blow-up screen under the stars. They were great evenings.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaboRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    33
    21
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Orange County Great Park”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The park has been an amazing mecca of great arts and culture activities. The gallery space is amazing and the garden classes have a hands-on approach. The Farmer's Market was great as well. I want to see more of these events during the summer!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Park not great or very interesting”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The park is open 4 days of the week, so seeing the minimum of what is not exactly enhanced so far, not simple. For many years the plans have been talked about and vast quantities of money spent, but as to results for many to enjoy, not at all interesting.

The theme is much about ecology, self sustaining. I doubt in 20 years the park will be sustainable. Sure, classes on how to grow this or that go on during the slim 4 days a week it is open go on; if the wind is low, then a quick ride up the harnessed orange balloon is available. If you like to picnic I suppose the park could please you.

I am disappointed in that I have gone to the Park 3 times in the last 2 years and not seen improvement, just continuing building and talk, lots of talk about what is coming. Boring.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Park???”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wow.... what a waste of a drive. I can not believe this is a project they have been working on for a decade. Supposedly they are making changes. They now charge for the balloon and carousel rides.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank lvchick79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
391 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Unique tethered balloon ride”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Unique tethered balloon ride 400 ft above the ground! First of its kind in the United States...Zero dollars before April 4th 2013. Now they are charging the following:
Rates
Beginning April 4, 2013, flights on the Great Park Balloon will include a fee.
• Adults 17 and older: $10
• Children age 6-16: $5
• Children under 6 are free

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange County Great Park also viewed

 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Orange County Great Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing