We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better, Cheaper than the Hyatt Across the Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better, Cheaper than the Hyatt Across the Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I originally booked a room at a great price ($86) at the Hyatt Regency across the street during a holiday visit with family. But we left after one night because we found the same price at the Residence Inn across the street. And unlike the Hyatt, which charges $19 a night for parking, there is no parking fee at the Residence Inn.

And unlike the worn carpets and outdated rooms at the Hyatt, the Residence Inn was clean and even had a sitting area and small kitchen. The beds were also more comfortable. And they had free wi-fi (again, unlike the Hyatt, which charged about $10 a night).

My only quibble is the breakfast buffet, which is overrun with guests and very mediocre.

Cost alone it was a no-brainer to move hotels. But what really won me over was the staff at the Residence Inn. When our daughter got sick overnight, they graciously moved us to another room and let us check out two hours later than normal the next day.

We will definitely be staying here the next time we're visiting Orange County.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear dktravel,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all of your feedback and we will strive to keep your expectations high and experience great. We are happy to hear that you were able to utlize our many complimentary amenities and we hope your daughter is feeling better!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    86
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
92
31
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

On very convenient location, free parking and shuttle to SNA airport. Rooms are well appointed, clean and full kitchen ate. Nearby (5 min walk) is Ralph's supermarket, CVC pharmacy and fast food restaurants. Definitely great value when on buissnies or a pleasure trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drago23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Drago23,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you throughly enjoyed your stay with us. The Residence Inn Irvine takes great pride in both or hotel and service and we truly appreciate your great feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stay in a lot of hotels on business and this one far exceeded my expectations. I stayed here for four days on a business trip and couldn't have been happier. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, the front desk staff was very helpful and attentive (and remembered our names and group), breakfast and dinner menus were well cooked, fresh, and tasted great. In addition, there are tons of awesome places to eat near the hotel within walking distance (Boudins SF for sandwich/soup is a must), and it is QUIET - didn't hear a lot of kids running around. The outdoor seating area is great for casual meetings and the workout area has a good selection of equipment. WIFi works great and they have a business center. Loved having the big r efrigerator and the full kitchen. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: I always ask for a higher floor - and the views are great on the side of the hotel that has odd numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Mel F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here, even if it was for business. Our team takes great pride in both our service and facilities so when we hear great compliments like yours, we know our hard work has paid off.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Cindy H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel differs from most Residence Inns because it is more of a hotel than a townhome set up. This lends itself to a much more secure feeling, having enclosed hallways like a hotel, rather than a door that opens to the outside. The queen studio is perfectly comfortable and comes with a well-equipped kitchen, (everything except an oven), including a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, and two-burner stove. Pots, pans, dishes and linens are included. The room has a very cozy sitting room, and a kitchen table PLUS a work desk. The large television swings from the sitting room to the bedroom area, using a large dresser as a base. The bathroom is very roomy with drawers and a large sliding door closet and full shower/bath. The room also has an IPOD docking alarm clock, which is a feature I wish every hotel had! There is breakfast included, as well as a happy hour with dinner each night. Parking is free. There is no better deal available in Irvine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear TexasTravelette,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Our hotel is definetly a great deal and we are glad you were able to take full advantage of our facilities. We are actually the only Residence Inn in Orange County that has the high rise feature.

Thank you again for the wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Cindy H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in CA for a business trip but decided to add an extra day on to see family that lived a few hours away. The staff immediately accommodated by having our guest rooms on the same floor and next to each other. The hotel if conveniently located, clean, free parking and friendly, helpful personnel. Hot breakfast was the normal fare but we truly enjoyed the evening reception - which was dinner!! After a long day, it was a pleasure to NOT have to go out to find a restaurant! Much appreciated!
There is a Souplantation restaurant (buffet) right next to the hotel. Good selection and great prices. Other restaurant choices are nearby.
We will definitely return to this hotel when in the area.

There is a lovely pool but during our stay (I think it was that time of year) when not much sun was on the pool. There is a great area of casual seating outdoor around a firepit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bj81698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear bj81698,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy we were able to accomodate both you and your family. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy both our breakfast and dinner. We hope the next time you visit the Southern California sun will be out and ready for you to enjoy!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Cindy H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel. The room was clean and so as the bathroom. The hot breakfast is probably the best thing about this hotel. They had everything including cereal, scrambled eggs, sausages, potatoes, biscuits n gravy, fruits, yogurt and last but not least the DIY waffle machine!!! I had so much fun making waffles for myself =). The hotel was a great location as well with couple restaurants surrounding it like Boudin and Souplantation. The Diamond Jamboree plaza is just down the street where all the happening is in Irvine. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STtotheEVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear STtotheEVE,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give our hotel such a wonderful review! We truly appreciate it. And who doesnt love to make their own waffles? We are glad to hear that you had a great time at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Room was very clean and very roomy. I love the small kitchen and big fridge with marble countertop. We only stayed two nights so we didn't utilize the kitchen at all. This is much much nicer than expected. They have free hot breakfast, free internet and free parking, which were really nice. Hyatt across the street gives no free breakfast and charged $15/day for self parking and $10/day for internet, and the room wasn't as nice and roomy. It is very conveniently located so everything would be a short drive away. The only thing I didn't cared for was the bed. It seemed like every single person slept on that one side so the bed was in a slope with the right side down. It was a little uncomfortable because it was a little firm for me I felt like I'm gonna fall off since that the side I sleep on.

Overall, this is an excellent place to stay, especially for families or anyone wanting to stay for a long stay. This will be the place me and my husband whenever we come to Orange County.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lricketson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Iricketson,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and were able to take advantage of some of the amenities that we offer. I apologize about the bed, the next time you visit, we will make sure this wont be an issue again.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Cindy H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 19 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
0.8 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#8 of 19 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Property: Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Address: 2855 Main St, Irvine, CA 92614-5901
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Irvine
#7 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the comforts of home when you stay at the Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport-Orange County Hotel. Enjoy a prime location only 3 miles from John Wayne Airport and 9 miles from Newport Beach. This all-suite hotel in Orange County, California is also less than 10 minutes from South Coast Plaza, Fashion Island, and the Irvine Spectrum. Guests at the Residence Inn Irvine Hotel are welcomed with thoughtful amenities including complimentary daily breakfast buffet, an on-site fitness center and complimentary WiFi. Join us at The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. Three nights a week our hotel features a different opportunity to socialize in our lobby or outdoor space. Inside our spacious, newly-renovated suites we provide you with all the conveniences of home. Curl up in our new king beds or make yourself a meal in the fully equipped kitchen. Separate living and sleeping areas give you plenty of room to entertain guests and pets are always welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County Hotel Irvine
Irvine Residence Inn
Residence Inn Orange County
Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing