We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dim Sum!”
Review of Capital Seafood

Capital Seafood
Ranked #185 of 664 Restaurants in Irvine
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Jamboree and Alton
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great Dim Sum!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This busy place packed with customers even in the Saturday morning before noon. (“Long” line outside after we’ve done) We’ve been in this place several times, only took dim sum, no formal meals on the menu.
The setting and decoration of this restaurant are at the higher end of Chinese restaurants, very pleasurable. We chose Bean curd rolls, Chicken feet (classic!), Meat in tofu, Pig tripe shreds (just love it!), and Seafood dumplings. We enjoyed it very much. Would be back if we’re in Irvine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuang004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    62
    23
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum in the O.C.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are in Orange County and don't feel like driving to the San Gabriel Valley for Dim Sum, this is the place. Great selection of high quality food. I little pricey compared to what you get in the SGV, but hey this is Irvine. It gets crowded on the weekends. You can get here early to beat the crowds (the open at 9 a.m.), but you also miss some of the other dishes like the radish cakes that comes out later in the morning. You can go next door to 85 Degrees for dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheapasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You Must Try This Dim Sum Place!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We were in Irvine for a short vacation and were craving some Asian Cuisine. Someone mentioned the Irvine Spectrum Center and that it had a few good Asian places to eat at. Let me tell you Capital Seafood and Dim Sum will NOT disappoint.

Our waiter was Ben; simply a fantastic man who has mastered the craft of service. Friendly, professional, attentive and extremely patient. We had our 2 year old daughter with us and he has probably been the best waiter we've had since having our daughter and going to eat out.

We ordered the crab wontons and butterflied shimp as starters; simply amazing! At that time we ordered our daughter the kids beef and brocolli and asked to just have it come out whenever ready because our daughter was getting to be a little crazy as she was very hungry. 6 minutes later a piping hot dish of delicious looking beef and brocolli comes out with a huge helping of steamed rice and a spring roll. That quick, before the appetizers! Ben made sure it was the first thing they cooked when he went back there! And it tastes AMAZING!!!

We ordered the spicy beef fried rice, sizzling seafood platter, and the sea bass. I cannot begin to describe how amazing all the food tastes, it was fresh, and the flavors were to die for.

Ben then brought out complementary bowls of their red bean tapioca, and it was just the cherry on top of a phenomenal meal. We asked to speak to the manager about the superb service we received from Ben. Allen came by our table 30 seconds later, introduced himself and thanked us over and over for how we raved about the food and service. He shook all of our hands and thanked us for visiting while on vacation. He told us to come back in soon as ask for him by name, and would ensure we were well taken care of.

This place did not disappoint, and we will certainly visit everytime we're visiting Irvine!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dim Sum Heaven”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have spent some time in Asia and Hong Kong is our food standard. Many restaurants in The US have improved and offer very good food. Dim Sum is hard because of the large selection and served hot is a challenge. Capital meets the challenge. They offer a great selection and they use the rolling cart service keeps everything hot and fresh. Needless to say everything we had was excellent. It is crowded we were there on Sunday and could only be served at the bar since we were 2 people that worked for us. For what you get the prices a very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Despite waiting for a table, the dim sum at Capital Seafood was quite good. They had a reasonable selection of offerings and price was in line with the average dim sum restaurant. And like most dim sum restaurants, some of the waiters appeared like they wanted to be elsewhere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank German F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Seafood also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Capital Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing