We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
yukhojo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Housekeeping”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

i had an extended stay @springhill suites on 17601 fitch road in irvine, ca for the holidays. on Jan 1, i placed the no disturb note on the room but took it off when i left the room @1145am. i came back @420pm with my room still unserviced. i called front desk and was told housekeeping go until 530pm. 1h45min later, i went down to front desk and was told bec the sign was on the door, it meant i didnt want the room serviced. i mentioned that was never my experience in other hotels including marriott-owned properties and i was told that this is their policy in this facility. i am a seasoned traveler, both for business and leisure and this response is just not acceptable. have the rules changed? if i am on a business trip and am in a meeting, i would put that sign out to avoid distraction and normally houskeeping would come back at a later time but never completely unserviced. is this a rule that is left to the individual facilities' interpretation? This really puts a wrinkle in an otherwise uneventful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yukhojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    144
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
117
55
16
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I arrived late on the evening of 12/14/2012. I selected this spot because of its proximity to John Wayne Airport and it enabled me to catch a 6:00 AM flight with no problem.

When I arrived there were a large number of teens hanging around in the lobby. It was a situation the desk clerk should have prevented in that they seemed to be attempting to see who was checking in and seemed to be paying attention to my transaction.

The desk clerk changed shifts while I was checking in and I wound up on the 4th floor when the new clerk realized the 3rd floor where I had been slated to go was also populated with kids running around.

Now, I have to say I'm not a cranky fellow, I just don't feel that kids should be hanging around hotel lobbies and running the hallways at 11:00 PM.

Anyway, my room was very clean, well appointed, and everything worked as it should. I had to depart at 5:00 AM in order to catch my flight so my visit was brief but satisfactory once I got to my room.

Also, I found adequate and convenient parking as well as Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBVPHASE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was traveling with a co-worker that is a loyal Marriot rewards point member, while I usually prefer Starwood hotels. I figured it wasn't a big deal and thought I'd give this hotel a shot so we could share a rental car and not have to worry about driving to separate hotels every day. Unfortunately, this hotel is horrible. He picked it based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and I'm not sure why it gets such high reviews. Maybe the lower rate clouds people's judgment? Not really sure.

Here is my impression -- this hotel (and I'm guessing chain) is really a dressed up motel that is trying to hard to be trendy, yet falls way short. The hotel itself is in a horrible location -- you hear a ton of road noise and planes from the nearby airport. Noise is usually not an issue when at stayed at other hotels near John Wayne Airport -- so there is something about the location / construction that amplifies the sounds at this particular hotel. I can sleep standing up, but the noise definitely challenged me during this stay. On top of that, the hotel is extremely humid and musty smelling. They do their best to mask the mold/mildew smell with some sort of noxious scent in the A/C unit. The person who decided to put this in needs to get their sense of smell checked out. The beds aren't comfortable and there was some sort of round log pillow thing that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in ages. The rooms are also just odd in their layout and the walls are paper thin. I could hear the person in the room next door pulling TP off the roller while I was still in bed.
The free breakfast is mediocre at best. I'd rather pay for better quality food than eat what they put out in the morning.

Anyhow, I hope some travelers that expect a decent night sleep in an above average hotel read this review and take notice before booking a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seven21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seemsters, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I would first like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share such candid feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate and value your concerns. I am very sorry that you were disappointed in the comfort of your guest room and I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Here at SpringHill Suites Irvine we do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay and leave our doors with a smile on their face, with the intent to stay with us again. We will use your comments as we continuously work to improve our guest experience. We have addressed your concerns with our hotel associates. I hope that next time you’re in the area; you’ll visit us again and experience the level of quality accommodations you expect and deserve from Marriott.

Thank you,
Seema B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Indoor pools are atypical for Southern California, but a welcoming amenity on cooler days here (50-70F days). Typical Springhill Suites, modern, free breakfast, newer /modernized rooms that have both a toilet room separate from a shower room. I especially liked the putting green in the back which is a fun thing to do with kids. Check with front to borrow equipment (as it is more play equipment).

Customer service was okay... would I stay here again... YES if the Residence Inn down the street is booked. ** Note : dining options have to be driven to. There is nothing within walking distance.

Room Tip: In an industrial area, so I can't see any room having a view. Your views will either be freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myinbox125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

SpringHill Suites is inviting and the place to stay due to it's many freebies. It's a bright and welcoming hotel that gives you the feeling that it's trying to be "boutique". The hotel is close to John Wayne Airport, nice size gym and pool, free parking, free breakfast and LIGHTNING SPEED WIFI!! It's close to The District (not walking distance though) if you need entertainment, food, shopping (brand new Target for all your hotel essentials) and more. Definitely a good stay. If you request things for your room though, you'll have to go down to the front desk in the lobby to get them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I Stayed there for only one night, but for sure it was enough to make a great rating on this hotel.
Hotel is very clean, from the lobby up to the rooms. very Modern in its' design and welcoming staff. As I walked up to the room, It was very refreshing to have a great sent thru the hallways , and the rooms were super clean and furniture was very new. It really felt like I was the first guest in this room. The decor is very warm and comfortable, the Beds are very comfortable and big, and there is also a small fridge in the room in case you want to keep anything in there to chill . Bathrooms were also very clean and a touch of modern architecture.
It has has a great indoors pool that you can enjoy during the winter time, and a nice little gym for an early work out.
The Lobby is also well design , and the Morning Full Warm breakfast was a great way to start the day, it wasn't just a cold on the go breakfast - I would greatly recommend this hotel, seriously a nice and clean place to stay at with a Good price too.
(the only small remark i have which is really not a big deal is the towels in the bathroom, they're very thin and a bit rough on the skin, so if you're particular about your thick towel, bring your own, but again that's nothing major.
and one extra tip :
Don't forget to put a "Do not disturb " sign on the door at night, or else house keeping will be knocking at 8 am

Room Tip: I was in room 444 and it was really great and quiet up there, not much noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enduranceRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during business trip due to high ranking and reviews in Trip Advisor.
Pros:
1. Relatively cheaper compare to other Marriott brands
2. Hotel is new and well-maintained

Cons:
1. During my stay, all the 4 pillows in my room were stink and smelled like "bad body odor". It seems like the housekeeping forgot to replace the pillow's cover, and I ended up not using these smelly pillows.
2. I was able to hear the snoring noise from another room beside me because the dry wall is very thin
3. I was able to clearly hear the noise from outside (from the street) like passing car, etc.
I ended up did not sleep to well during my stay due to all these noises and smelly pillows. I should requested to switch the room, but it was very late at night (around 12 midnight) and I was very tired.

The next day, I shared this to the front desk during the checkout, and she noted it down.
I am very surprise that this hotel received 4 stars and 2nd rank in the area.

Thank you,
Ricky H.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RH1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irvine John Wayne Airport
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 22 in Irvine
550 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
1.3 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#9 of 22 in Irvine
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Property: SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Address: 17601 Fitch, Irvine, CA 92614-6021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Irvine
#6 Family Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Irvine hotel is located less than 2-miles from John Wayne Airport (SNA) off the Costa Mesa Freeway in the heart of Orange County. Travelers will appreciate our Irvine hotel's free: airport shuttle, WiFi, and daily breakfast buffet. The SpringHill Suites Irvine hotel offers spacious suites with plush Marriott bedding, a comfortable separated living area with a sleeper sofa and work desk, a wet-bar with mini-fridge and microwave, and a 37" HDTV featuring 12 HD channels such as CNN and ESPN. We feature onsite amenities like a 24-hour fitness center, indoor heated pool, putting green, 24-hour business center, and onsite event space. Our central location between Santa Ana and Irvine offers easy access to popular attractions like Newport Beach, the OC Event Center, and UC-Irvine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County Hotel Irvine
SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing