We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine tasting experience!”
Review of Tanis Vineyards

Tanis Vineyards
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Ione
Type: Other
Attraction details
Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great wine tasting experience!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The owner is very informative about the whole wine process. We found his whole presentation very helpful. The wines were wonderful, but we were also in love with the avocado oils, mustard & chocolate!,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank UNR_alum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amador County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taste with the wine-maker himself”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the "must" stops when we have visitors in Amador County. A small winery, with wines produced in small quantities (they will sell out, so if you like something, buy it while you can.) Friendly, welcoming, and just a great place to visit overall!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank booklovingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun To Visit & Excellent Wine”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This small family run winery consistently produces excellent wine. The tasting room is cozy and the owners make a big effort for visitors to enjoy their visit. There is free food and a chance to get to know the winemaker well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Albert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“We love this winery.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stumbled upon this winery a few years ago after playing golf in the area. We loved the wine and the owners were so nice and passionate about their craft. We went home with a case of wine. We recently traveled back to the region after a couple years and were happy to return to Tanis. Again, the wines were delicious and the owners are still as enthusiastic as ever. We think this winery has a great future. We look forward to drinking our purchases and returning when traveling in the area in the future. It is so much fun to wine taste when the person pouring your wine is the person that actually made the wine!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelSneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you like a new small winery with good wines”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Made an initial visit to this somewhat out of the way winery in the Amador region. It is located in the country outside of Ione. It is only open on the weekends but it is worth finding and visiting if you can. Their focus is on reds and I found the 07 Primitivo, Temranillo, Zin, and Barbera to all be worth while. I particularly liked the Primitivo and the Tempranillo. They also had a respective late harvest type desert wine as well as a somewhat unusual Petite Syrah Port. They have only been open a year but the owner, who was pouring behind the small but cozy bar, is clearly doing things right. Overall a very enjoyable visit.

Helpful?
Thank jcjr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanis Vineyards also viewed

Been to Tanis Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing