We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in class”
Review of Soneva Fushi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soneva Fushi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Top-notch service and close attention to every detail. The Robinson Crusoe decor is adhered to down to minor items like notepad paper. The pleasure of walking around barefoot was a discovery for us, and is completely safe (but watch out for the stinging caterpillars hanging from some trees). The fauna, by the way, is diverse and very amusing: we could watch the fruit bats alone for hours. Snorkeling is ok, but then we have been spoiled by the excellent reef at Villingili. We did not try diving.

The staff is helpful but non-intrusive: for instance, they make every attempt to clean your villa when you're out at breakfast - a practice which is strangely not followed in most other resorts. Food choices are outstanding - just imagine separate cooled room-size pantries for cheeses, chocolate and ice cream. And the observatory is the cherry on the cake.

The two weeks we spent here were superb.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sunrise side avoid the view of the populated island across (but the beach is somewhat r...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
It is always wonderful to hear that we continue to surprise and delight clients with the efforts made to ensure the top notch service and attention to detail, you have mentioned.
The cuisine is always a significant part of any vacation and delighted that you thought our selection was outstanding. As you might have guessed the most frequented area of the island must be 'The Chocolate Room', with it's vast selection of chocolate inspired creations, followed as you mentioned with our home-made ice cream selection of up to sixty flavours rotating every few days.
We like to think of Soneva Fushi as a home away from home, somewhere that feels familiar and relaxed, yet different enough to offer Learning - Inspiring - Fun - Experiences.
It was a genuine pleasure for our team to look after you and we do hope that you take the oppertunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.

with warm regards

Karen Merrick
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for Soneva Fushi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 815 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

Soneva Fushi is truly a rare gem. A perfect combination of the best service and luxury, with the atmosphere of a tropical unspoiled island. All the staff are amazingly helpful and friendly, with special mentions to Zahir who was so nice every breakfast, Lynn who went above and beyond to organize everything and was such a fabulous host ( despite us constantly managing to be late for just about everything arranged ) , the manager Laurie who greeted everyone so warmly, our Mrs Friday and the lady at 'The Den' who kept the children entertained so well all week. While we were there it was the birthday of my nieces and the staff arranged a fabulous and unexpected party at the outdoor cinema, and decorated their bed beautifully that evening. The children were utterly thrilled, and so were we.
The island itself is a true gem, everything you'd expect from a tropical island in the maldives, pure white sand, palm trees and crystal blue waters full of beautiful fish if you fancy some snorkeling, or scuba. Cycling barefoot slowly back through the lamp-lit palms after dinner is such a nice way to end the evening, although they will happily buggy you back should you over-indulge at the ice-cream and chocolate rooms, or anywhere else, but it seems a shame to miss the experience no matter how lazy you're feeling.
Food from all of the restaurants was impeccable, as good as I've found anywhere. The Japanese chef at 'By The Beach' very kindly prepared us his special menu the first evening at no extra cost and the ice-cream and chocolate rooms were always full of delicious treats.
I must admit to being a little skeptical of the eco concept before we arrived and from a selfish point of view how it would affect the experience, but it works superbly and everyone at SF is genuinely passionate about practicing it, not just talking it.
No resort is without some niggles, although it's very difficult indeed to think of any during our stay. The only issue we had are the mosquitos, which like anywhere in the tropics are pretty hungry. If you go in the water, don't make our mistake and forget to re-apply the repellent.

If you're looking for a marble clad hotel, decorated with carved sculptures and staff wearing bow-ties, this isn't it, and it's all the better for it. If you want a top of the line, tropical experience without compromising luxury or service, it's hard to imagine how Soneva Fushi can be beaten.

Room Tip: Villa 14 is superb. Fabulous pool and beautifully designed, on the sunrise side of the island. If yo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your kind words about the hosts whom looked after you during your stay and agreeing that we deserve our position on the best resort of the world list... a high accolade indeed! More importantly we are truly delighted that you and your family found the spirit of Soneva Fushi and it enabled you to enjoy the concept for a truly relaxing and memorable vacation, We really understand the value of the simple things in life, of which having time to enjoy is most important.
Cinema Paradiso is such a fun experience and ideal for children and adults alike and we are all delighted that the birthday party for the girls was such a success, hopefully the impromptu visits from the island Bunny Rabbits helped also in this regard.
Eco Centro, our waste to wealth centre, responsible for the inovational recycling of the waste products on the island is such an inspirational area, which we continue to add to and brainstorm ideas to not only benefit our island, but the local community as well as the other resorts in Baa Atoll to help move us forward in our long term goal of completely 'decarbonising'.
We wish you continued memories of riding your bicycle along palm filled roads in the evening and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to your island home in the very near future.

warm regards

Karen Merrick
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had an amazing experience traveling to Soneva Fushi in May. Unforgettable memories. Unique concept of the hotel makes you feel very good, healthy and harmonizes your body and soul, because you reconnect with nature, and in the same time you are having a high end villa and five star service. The staff of the hotel is brilliant and I was treated like a queen. Restaurants and food is absolutely amazing, the choose of food in the buffet is HUGE, and the menu in the restaurants is ver wide. I really enjoyed the creme paradiso, because it is absolutely beautiful to lie on a sun bed under the night sky and to watch the cinema, in the same time being served with the drinks and popcorn. If you want to enjoy privacy, it is the place, because each villa has a beautiful access to the sea with white send. In the same time if you want to communicate, you can always find nice people in the bar, seems like the people who choose Soneva are very special, nice, opened and intelligent. Next time I will be back I would love to come with a boyfriend, because it would be great to enjoy the romantic experience there. Wild island, night on the sandbank. What can be more beautiful?

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fler_Olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, Resort Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

What a great review! We are absolutely delighted to know that Soneva Fushi created unforgettable memories for you. We are glad that you rated our service as being five star, and that the variety and quality of our food in the restaurants exceeded your expectations.

Cinema Paradiso is there to either enjoy quiet private moments or if you so wish, to enjoy a movie with friends and family and is a unique experience not to be missed.

We really hope you are able to come back in the near future and as mentioned be able to bring your partner for an overnight stay on our private sandbank with actual bed and washroom facilities.

Wishing you a relaxing time ahead and we look forward to helping you harmonize again with nature in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen Merrick
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our 12th visit to a Soneva resort but the first to Soneva Fushi. Since the company had sold their "Water Villa resort" we decided to try their flagship island and we were not disappointed.

How many other resort's General Manager and Resort Manager welcome all their arriving guests personally (Thank you Laurie and Karen) as they step off the sea plane?. and there is a dedicated button on the phone with the GM's Christian name and direct extension. No PA's here ...They know you and you know who they are and they mean to ensure you have access if required!

There are many different types of Villas and the description is quite confusing, but having chosen a villa type that didn't match our expectations, one press of the dedicated telephone button got us through to GM Laurie who moved us ...Job done !

There are many different types of Island resorts in the Maldives and we have visited quite a few. If you are looking for sophisticated urban living then this is not for you. Soneva Fushi belongs in the unsophisticated category as far as culture is concerned but definitely not the service accommodation and food. You will only need to pack shorts and tops and for the ladies the occasional dress, and definitely no shoes.

You get around the island by bicycle, although they do run a buggy service for those for whom bicycling is not an option. It's fun and liberating, however the signage could do with a little tweaking and the occasional "off into the jungle" after a wonderful relaxing dinner and associated alcohol is to be expected!

The restaurants are either the beach or in a beautifully constructed decked structure above the vegetable gardens. For us the highlights on the food front are the two barbecue nights where the choice of home-grown/locally caught/spectacularly cooked food was eagerly anticipated.

The management ethos of "can do" is reflected by their team, nothing is too much trouble and it is all done with smiles...it shows.

The Six Senses spa is a haven of peace and serenity and we had a massage/treatment most days, as well as an hour in the gym daily! Not having been to the gym for some 20 years we were supervised by the very forgiving Vipin who enabled us to feel very righteous afterwards. The Spa building is due to be moved and rebuilt later this year and that's appropriate as it is a little tired now.

My only criticism that I would have liked to have had addressed is the cost of the wines. Whilst I acknowledge the wines comes from a long way away, and I am told there is a heavy tax levied in this Muslim country, I would expect to be able to buy a reasonable bottle of French or Italian "plonk" for less than $80 a bottle. The starting point needs to be in the fifties.

In a nut shell however, World Class management,service, food and ambiance and this is another resort that we will return to .

Room Tip: The Sunrise side of the island has a better beach in the morning whereas the sunset side has the sam...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrlworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, Area General Manager, Maldives at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to make dreams come true and whenever we know that for whatever reason we may have not met our guest expectations, we certainly do our utmost to exceed. Benchmarks are there to be raised, hence the reason Soneva Fushi is ranked so highly by both our new guests experiencing Soneva Fushi for the first time, or by the 52% of guests who return to us every year.

Getting lost is part of the “Fun” aspect of Soneva, the rigorous schedules we adhere to in our day to day city lives do not apply at Soneva and we try to gently remove these boundaries, however having said that we are in the process of reviewing and adding a few more landmarks around the property to aid those guests enjoying a sweet sherry or two!

Cuisine and produce is constantly under review and we try wherever possible to ensure as much of our market list comes from our organic garden or from sustainable sources which is one of the reasons we also have a meat free day at Soneva Fushi as well as purchase from suppliers whose ethics match our own in terms of decarbonizing and sustainability.

We are always looking into the wine pricing we receive from the suppliers and reviewing the selections available. However I take your point, and the sommeliers and I will review to add some additional “quaffable” wines to the listing.

Our sincerest and warmest regards to “J” and your goodself and we hope to have you back in paradise in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
Area General Manager, Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I spent 7 splendid days in Soneva Fushi in May 2014. It was real paradise. This luxury resort combines spacious cozy villas, perfect service of open and friendly staff, delicious meal ( especially fish and seafood ) and private atmosphere. I have been to some Maldivian resorts before, but this is fantastic. We are grateful to our personal Mr.Friday ( Maurooff ) and all staff who attended us.

Room Tip: Good view from sunrise villas
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, Area General Manager, Maldives at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you referred to Soneva Fushi as paradise and your entire interaction with the team resulted in perfect service and friendly staff. Our only wish is that you continue to love the Soneva brand both in Maldives and our amazing sister property in Thailand.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
Area General Manager, Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I am writing this review pretty late (from another holiday destination), our Maldives trip was back last September. I haven't gotten round to writing it sooner but after talking about it so much on this holiday it has made me realise how amazing Soneva Fushi is and how I should have written up a review long ago. We go away a lot and find Trip Advisor very useful to choose our hotels.

We narrowed it down to two Maldives hotels after looking at many but something was telling us Soneva Fushi. We were not mistaken.

It is luxurious in an understated way, and is not flashy or in your face, but you feel truly pampered and well looked after.

My favourite memories were the bikes to get around the resort and not seeing my shoes for 10 whole days, the chocolate room and a unforgettable BBQ on the beach just for us.

We also had a wedding blessing on the sandbank prior to our wedding back in the UK. We are so happy we did this, everyone was so helpful and cooperative with the arrangements and happy to work around the weather (you would not get this with a wedding in the UK). Our Friday was great, sorry can't remember her name, but super professional. The photographers were excellent, I was a little worried about this beforehand but am very happy with the result. They knew what they were doing and the light and as a result we have loads of great photos with the beautiful colours that make going to the Maldives so unique and special.

Happy to be contacted by anyone considering a wedding here.

We definitely plan you return here one day! Thank you Soneva Fushi.

Room Tip: Any room is good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, Area General Manager, Maldives at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Soneva Fushi way back in September 2013. Being away at another holiday destination, but thinking of Soneva Fushi is truly an honor and inspiration and made us all proud. You made the right choice by choosing to have your wedding blessing on the sandbank and we are happy that you felt pampered and well looked after on your special day.

We look forward to having you back, perhaps for your anniversary?

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
Area General Manager, Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This top-level resort gives you a totally problem-free holiday, your butler will take care of everything you need, always with a smile. At the arrival in Male you can choose which soap&shampoo you'd prefer throughout your stay and most important, how you'd like to be treated: involved in different activities or simply left alone with your beloved in your villa and beach.
The villas are superb, the spa is with high level personnel, the restaurants could earn some Michelin stars and the rest is up to you: love, live and enjoy..
It's 20 years we come to the Maldives but from now on this is going to be ours!

Room Tip: It seemed ridiculous to me before but I must admit that the private pool in your beachy garden is wo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannePouline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, Area General Manager, Maldives at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are absolutely delighted that your Soneva experience lived up to and surpassed your expectations. In the 19 years we have been operating in the Maldives, it is still inspiring to read that our principles of Slow Life are not only welcomed but create such life changing memorable experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your island home in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
Area General Manager, Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kunfunadhoo
8.7 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#5 of 15 in Baa Atoll
312 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#12 of 15 in Baa Atoll
564 reviews
12.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#6 of 15 in Baa Atoll
846 reviews
12.8 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
1,043 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soneva Fushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soneva Fushi

Address: Baa Atoll, 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Kunfunadhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Price Range: $1,077 - $3,838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Soneva Fushi 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Eva and Sonu Shivdasani built Soneva Fushi as well as their home on the deserted island of Kunfunadhoo in the Maldives in 1995 they had no idea that their intensely personal vision of a locally crafted villa and environmentally responsible lifestyle would form the basis of a successful collection of world-class hotels, resorts and spas. But that's exactly what happened. Soneva Fushi was the first 'castaway' resort in the Maldives, pioneering a trend for back-to-nature luxury holidays. It established a blueprint for a highly acclaimed international business, followed by spectacular Soneva Kiri on the unspoilt Thai island of Koh Kood in 2009. The success of the Soneva brand also paved the way for Six Senses Resorts and Spas with award-winning properties in Asia, the Middle East and Europe. Under Eva's and Sonu's direction the Six Senses brand gained a global following before being sold in 2012. Today the Sonevas have many imitators, but no equals. Each Soneva - and a yachting experience, Soneva in Aqua - impresses on a wide range of levels. Breathtaking 'remote but accessible' natural locations, effortlessly chic accommodation, incredible food, truly memorable activities, an inspiring ethos of sustainability and service that is uncannily intuitive. The resort that set the tone and the standards for every subsequent resort. A jewel of an island - large by Maldives standards - with perfect beaches, a vibrant reef encircling the island, a colony of nesting turtles and its very own world class observatory. Located in the Baa Atoll, Maldives' only UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, Soneva Fushi is blessed with extensive coral reefs and significant biodiversity including large concentrations of whale sharks, manta rays and marine turtles. The resort is perfect for romantic couple getaways, or family holidays as it provides unique experiences and activities for all, from diving and snorkelling with the marine biologist, to sandbank dinners and a children's den (playground). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soneva Fushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soneva Fushi By Six Senses Hotel Kunfunadhoo
Soneva Fushi By 6 Senses
Soneva Fushi Resort
Soneva Fushi Hotel
Soneva Fushi Maldives/Kunfunadhoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing