We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity!”
Review of Soneva Fushi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Soneva Fushi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Certificate of Excellence
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pity!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

It's the 5th time my family and I are staying at this hotel. Every time we were fascinated by the excellent service and accommodations except for this years trip.
It seems like Sonu and Eva are putting all their effort into the private residences they are building on the island. Our showers were either very hot or very cold. There were things falling apart in the villa. The mango (which was always an highlight) was no good anymore. There were holes in the tennis court fence. We asked our Friday if they could fix the issue. After promising us it will be fixed soon, nothing happened. Prices gone up tremendous. There was a lot of plastic and waste in the bushes. The spa facilities are very old and the windows look dirty (the treatment was very nice by the way).
Bottom line, it's a very nice philosophy and concept they have. The last years it was always excellent but for the rise in prices service and accommodations have been disappointing and need a lot of investment!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
15 Thank Guggenmaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Although I am grateful for your constructive comments, I am nonetheless disappointed that we did not meet with your expectations at Soneva Fushi, known for its very high standards.

Soneva Fushi prides itself with repeaters coming back year after year just like your good selves to indulge in SlowLife with high service standards. With such a high rate of repeating guests, many have expressed interest in possessing their own part of Paradise by investing in a private resort residence (www.sonevaprivateresidences.com). However, this is limited to selected parts of the Island, which are chosen by the owners to make sure that they do not infringe on Soneva’s peaceful, barefoot luxury island life.

I have addressed the mango issue with our Executive Chef. This is peculiar to hear as the local supplier remains the same, and I can only assume that the taste in the mango was only due to a change in season.

Unfortunately the hole in the netting of the tennis court could not be replaced during your stay as the mesh was not available when ordered.

In 2015 we shall be building a brand new Spa which will be the forefront of wellness and relaxation, carefully designed by the Owners and will be the benchmark of global Spas.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon where I can assure you that all these issues that you raised have been addressed.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    22
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
262
328
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My daughter and I did not know what to expect but Soneva Fushi is truly Out of this world too good to be true but it is.
Totally perfect in every way.
The food is outstanding the ice-cream room and chocolate room is like being a kid again!
The staff are all so charming and genuinely seem to be happy and enjoy their job which is so refreshing to find these days.
I am normally ready to go home but I was not this time.
Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience and feedback on Soneva Fushi Maldives. It makes all the difference to our future guests when choosing the right resort.

It was great to read your comments about our hosts being charming, happy and enjoying their job – I have shared your feedback with the Team.

It was such a pleasure to have you and your daughter stay with us. Do come back and visit us again, should your travels bring you back to the Maldives.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is undoubtedly an island paradise; everything from removing your shoes on arrival (never to put them on again until you leave), the totally secluded and luxuriously appointed villas with private pools and a largely private stretch of beach, the only means of transport being your very own bicycle, the stunning variety of leisure pursuits and the impeccable, friendly service, to the quantity and quality of the cuisine.

However, this luxury does come at a price. I paid $285 for a single course at one of their restaurants one night without realising it (menu prices are largely distinguishable by their absence). An average bottle of French wine was $150 - the cheapest around $80.

So if you are rich enough not to need to check the amount of your final bill, then this place is definitely for you (although you probably won't be reading TripAdviser). For everyone else, be warned. This resort has a captive market and once you're there it can charge what it wants. And boy, does it!

Room Tip: The villas on the west side benefit from the setting sun and are on the leeward side of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Soneva Fushi and found that our quality of service was good.

We are sorry to hear that you felt our prices to be high. You will find that in comparison to other similar resorts, we are pretty well in line and we regularly review our prices to ensure we remain competitive.

Unfortunately, wines are taxed at 50% by the Maldivian Government. This along with the high cost of transporting to our island does result in our pricing structure.

The dinner that you paid $285 (this price included your drinks, service charge and taxes) was for one of our special Japanese barbeque events offering over 40 different dishes of suchi, sashimi, teppanyaki, tempura, grills, salads and much, much more.
I spoke to your Mr. Friday who confirmed that he had booked this event at your request.
We do of course have a number of other restaurants around the Island and I hope you found these to be suitably priced for you.

Thank you again for your review and we hope we will have the opportunity to see you again.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Soneva Fushi is Heaven on Earth for us. We have visited 7 times and each time we are overwhelmed by the natural beauty of the island and by the exceptional welcome, the genuine care of all the hosts and the peace and the calm which surround you. In addition to this the choice of food whether it be On The Beach (Japanese) under the stars with the sea gently lapping near your table or The Asian or Mediterranean Buffets or Fresh In The Garden, a restaurant built above the herb garden .... it could not be better or more varied with exceptional produce. Should you seek only privacy it is there; should you wish to take part in scuba diving, snorkelling, special events, and to meet others - it is there; the choice is yours. All of it done with discretion and with only your enjoyment in mind. Nothing is too much trouble. The total experience is one that soothes and restores the soul and the spirit. The service is to an unbelievably exceptional level in every area. When we leave we feel we are leaving our family ... until the next time. And the memory and the experience live with us.
All the above may seem 'over the top' - it is not - it is reality.
Harriet & John Anderson

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Harriet and John,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at Soneva Fushi. It was an absolute pleasure to share your positive feedback with the Team and even more so since this was your 7th visit to the resort.

Thank you for highlighting all that made your stay a memorable experience - your mention of the exceptional service that you received in every area made us all very proud.

We thank you for your loyal patronage and eagerly look forward to welcoming you back for another holiday with us, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed in the jungle reserve + villa 42 (4 bedrooms in total) with our extended family (7 adults and 2 children aged 3 and a half and 7). Words are simply not enough to describe the beauty of this place, the quality of the food and service, the friendliness of the staff.

Breakfast doesn't get any better than this (cheese & cold cuts room with the best selection of French, Spanish, Italian food, chocolate room, egg - every possible way you might want them - station, fresh fruit and juices, Maldivian/Asian station, bakery room with tons of amazing breads, pastries, yoghurts, jams, honeys, cereals etc.), a salad room with the freshest vegetables, salts, oils from all over the world... This is simply the best breakfast you'll ever have!

All are meals were amazing, both in terms of food and setting (Nine - incredible Asian buffet with lots of live cooking stations prepared by the wonderful Indian chef, Fresh in the Garden - a la carte dinner with very fresh ingredients in a very beautiful trea-house setting), By the Beach (Japanese restaurant on the beach where we had both a la carte and buffet dinners - all wonderful). One night we had an in-villa thai bbq to celebrate one of our family members turning 70… also fantastic and organised impeccably.

One of the highlights of our stay was a Robinson Crusoe picnic on the desert sandbank called Nibiliga. I would have never thought it would be possible to have such a great meal on a desert island. They took us to this paradise, set everything up and came back to get us at sunset… I definitely recommend doing something like this during your stay.

Our Mr. Friday Mauroof took great care of us and our kids. He was always there when we needed him but was very discreet at the same time.

The overall level of service is unbelievable but feels so natural and relaxed. You really feel taken care of and pampered at Soneva Fushi but have a lot of privacy at the same time. Luckily this is not the "American style" kind of service that I really hate (with someone asking you if everything's all right or if there's anything else they can do for you every 2 seconds like a broken record)! You get the impression that everyone is genuinely doing their best to make you happy and accommodate your every need, not just because they were trained to do certain things mechanically.

Soneva Fushi is very child friendly. Everyday they organise some activity in the den and on the beach/in the water. Plus they can ride their bikes, meet new friends, go snorkelling and swimming, build sand castles, walk on the beach, look at the fish, watch movies at Cinema Paradiso etc. So if you have kids rest assured that they'll have a blast here. Soneva proves that you don't have to punish yourself by going to monstrous resorts with kids' clubs and giant slides just to keep your children entertained and happy!

To make a long story short, this was my 7th times in the Maldives (it's my favourite beach vacation destination in the world so far) and have stayed in many top-end resorts and Soneva Fushi goes straight to the top (my other favourite was Island Hideaway, where I went once in August 2006 and once in April 2007 - excellent experience back then, don't know what it's like now and apparently under renovation).

The other Soneva property in Koh Kood (Thailand) called Soneva Kiri is another amazing place, possibly even nicer than Soneva Fushi in terms of villas/common areas/design but unfortunately it doesn't have the Maldivian sea, which - like I said - is just one of a kind. The colours there are just amazing (all shades of blue and green in the sea, the white powdery sand) and will be impressed in your memories forever.

Make sure you walk around the island and go to Turtle Beach and Dolphin beach (Protected Nature Reserves)… good photo opps!

One last thing: it's all worth it in my opinion, but be prepared to spend some money.

Thank you so much to all the staff at Soneva Fushi for making our family vacation/celebration unforgettable.

Room Tip: My suggestion would be stay on the sunrise side. I'm definitely not a morning person, so my pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babi852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your wonderful review on your recent stay at our Resort. Looks like you and your family thoroughly enjoyed the entire Soneva experience. Soneva Fushi was the right choice to spend a family vacation and a 70th birthday celebration.

Our Executive Chef and his Team were absolutely thrilled to read your comments about the food. They agree with you that Soneva Fushi has one the best breakfast buffet spreads, boasting an array of healthy, fresh and mouthwatering foods that will take you on a culinary tour of the world. We are glad that you visited and enjoyed all the food experiences at our food outlets ‘By the Beach’, Restaurant ‘Nine’, In Vila Dining and of course ‘Fresh in the Garden’ where herb and vegetable are grown on permaculture and organic principles from which our Chefs pick the freshest and best herbs and vegetables. The real treat comes from our desert section and our ice cream and our chocolate room.

Robinson Crusoe picnic on Nibiliga desert island is definitely something not to be missed – a sweet escape with your loved one, left all on your own, or just to celebrate a special occasion with family. Whatever it is, nothing is too much for our F&B Director and his team. They will go to great lengths to ensure you have the time of your life.

Once again thank you for your great feedback - We are proud to be on the top of your favourite beach vacation destinations in the world, especially since you have stayed in many top-end resorts on your travels.

We hope you will come back for another holiday with us, and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Soneva Fushi, the best place to be - Me and my family really enjoyed our stay at Soneva Fushi.
Breathtaking place to be, were we enjoyed the privacy of the villa and yet the luxury of the high level of service and kindness from all staff.
The food experience is Gourmet at a very high level together with a fantastic vine list.
We can definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 64, which is a 2 bedroom villa with an Annex with 1 extra bedroom, perfect for ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Per E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we read your review and it made us proud to know that Soneva Fushi is “The best place to be in the World”. I cannot agree with you more! We deliver intuitive service and meaningful experiences for our guests combining luxury with the natural environment. We are glad you enjoyed it all.

The praise deservedly goes to my Team who dedicates a lot of time and effort to consistently deliver the best level of service and care to all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A perfect anniversary getaway. This was our first trip to the Maldives so we had nothing to compare with Soneva Fushi. Having said that there cannot be anywhere, conceivably in the world, that could better our experience. The setting, the staff, the activities, the climate all perfect. However if you do want to tuck yourself away for total seclusion, simply do it.
Our perfect holiday….we will be back.
Thank you all. Helen & Russell Grant

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Helen and Russel Grant,

Such great feedback – we thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to share your holiday experience with the others.

Soneva Fushi is a place where one can enjoy all the Learning, Inspiring, Fun, Experiences we have on offer or if you so wish, just sit back and enjoy the Sea, Sun and Sand. Whichever you choose, we guarantee that you will leave with memories to last a lifetime, and keep coming back for more.

We are glad we made your Anniversary holiday perfect, especially since it was your first trip to the Maldives.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kunfunadhoo
8.7 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#5 of 13 in Baa Atoll
302 reviews
12.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
905 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#4 of 13 in Baa Atoll
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
962 reviews
14.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,332 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soneva Fushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soneva Fushi

Property: Soneva Fushi
Address: Baa Atoll, 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Kunfunadhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Soneva Fushi 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Eva and Sonu Shivdasani built Soneva Fushi as well as their home on the deserted island of Kunfunadhoo in the Maldives in 1995 they had no idea that their intensely personal vision of a locally crafted villa and environmentally responsible lifestyle would form the basis of a successful collection of world-class hotels, resorts and spas. But that's exactly what happened. Soneva Fushi was the first 'castaway' resort in the Maldives, pioneering a trend for back-to-nature luxury holidays. It established a blueprint for a highly acclaimed international business, followed by spectacular Soneva Kiri on the unspoilt Thai island of Koh Kood in 2009. The success of the Soneva brand also paved the way for Six Senses Resorts and Spas with award-winning properties in Asia, the Middle East and Europe. Under Eva's and Sonu's direction the Six Senses brand gained a global following before being sold in 2012. Today the Sonevas have many imitators, but no equals. Each Soneva - and a yachting experience, Soneva in Aqua - impresses on a wide range of levels. Breathtaking 'remote but accessible' natural locations, effortlessly chic accommodation, incredible food, truly memorable activities, an inspiring ethos of sustainability and service that is uncannily intuitive. The resort that set the tone and the standards for every subsequent resort. A jewel of an island - large by Maldives standards - with perfect beaches, a vibrant reef encircling the island, a colony of nesting turtles and its very own world class observatory. Located in the Baa Atoll, Maldives' only UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, Soneva Fushi is blessed with extensive coral reefs and significant biodiversity including large concentrations of whale sharks, manta rays and marine turtles. The resort is perfect for romantic couple getaways, or family holidays as it provides unique experiences and activities for all, from diving and snorkelling with the marine biologist, to sandbank dinners and a children's den (playground). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Soneva Fushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soneva Fushi By 6 Senses
Soneva Fushi By Six Senses Hotel Kunfunadhoo
Soneva Fushi Resort
Soneva Fushi Hotel
Soneva Fushi Maldives/Kunfunadhoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing