We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still wonderful on my 3rd visit, but some issues have popped up.”
Review of Soneva Fushi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soneva Fushi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Still wonderful on my 3rd visit, but some issues have popped up.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I just completed my 3rd visit to Soneva Fushi. This has always been my favorite beach vacation spot since my first trip several years ago. Overall, it is still excellent, with great service, a wonderful laid back environment, and luxurious facilities. However, certain issues popped up this time which actually had us (my wife and I) considering looking at other resorts in the future.

1) There is a LOT of construction on the island (scheduled to be completed soon, I believe), which leads to a lot of noise and smell of gas, etc. This is tremendously disappointing - I'm sure most of us go to Soneva to get away from city life... hearing constant sawing and smelling diesel from time to time isn't a great getaway. Hopefully, this problem will go away soon, but it is an issue right now.

2) We got stuck in the worst villa we've experienced on the island. We had confirmed a crusoe villa, but were inexplicably placed in a fushi villa. I'm sure this is considered a slight upgrade, since it is a little larger, but is a one floor layout rather than a two floor layout. Our villa, number 43, had only a narrow opening to the beach, the rest being blocked off by plants. I'm sure this was done for privacy reasons, since one of the restaurants is right next door, but, as a result, there really isn't any beach view from the villa, and it gets stuffy due to lack of breeze.

Everything else was still fantastic - great staff, lots of privacy, wonderful facilities, and good food.

Don't get me wrong - I still love Soneva Fushi, but I couldn't imagine ever considering looking at other resorts before, and am considering this action for the future.

Oh well, hopefully this was an outlier and Soneva continues to be a gem. In any case, I would advise anyone expecting a good beach view to avoid villa 43.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VivekSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Although I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your third visit, I am nonetheless concerned with a few shortfalls that have obviously impacted your stay with us.

Soneva Fushi is currently constructing new private residences which shall be completed in the first week of December 2013. These villas are some of the most luxurious, largest villas in South East Asia, hidden from each other by the dense jungle palms which surround them. I’m sorry that the construction vehicles left odors not associated with tranquil, peaceful, luxury resort islands. I was surprised that you did not like your villa No. 43. We have received so many wonderful comments about these villas due to their privacy, soft sandy beaches and the large living and sleeping areas. We would have moved you in an instant if we knew that you were not satisfied, but after your Mr. Friday had checked with you, he mentioned that you had said that everything was perfect in your villa.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your fourth visit soon and can assure you that you will be comfortably accommodated in your choice of a Crusoe two storey villa.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    23
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
269
337
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I'm a really fussy bugger and this is truly one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed at. The way the villas are set around the island is very clever - you hardly ever encounter a soul apart from at mealtimes. Everything seamlessly comes together to create INCREDIBLE customer service and your every whim is catered for with a smile. Everything has been thought of - and I mean EVERYTHING. Stylishly understated, unpretentious, but quietly decadent with an eco slant that considers and cares for the environment and the locals. Yes - Slow life at Soneva Fushi is expensive (especially if you like a glass of wine), but worth it. I rarely say this - but I really really want to go back...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure to read through your review and to know how much you enjoyed your visit - thank you for your candid feedback.

We are glad you liked the privacy of the island, the customer service and everything Soneva Fushi is about.

We are delighted to hear that you want to come back; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to yet another amazing holiday at Soneva Fushi.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Six Senses Sonevafushi is the most stunning in barefoot Luxury with the most elegant and close to nature outstanding 3 Bedroom Private Pool Villas.

The moment you enter their speed boat,They give ask you to take off your Shoes/Sandals and pack them for you in a carry bag,so as to give u a feel of nature and getting as close as possible to it.

they have the most widespread Menu for any meal during the day and Jawdropping Desert Room and Chocolate Room ! the taste is very organic and very natural and is something not to be missed.

The Observatory for Star Gazing at Night,The Open Air Theater for Movie screening right next to the beach,The Sand Bank very close to the resort and the most amazing Sit out bar with Hammocks over water are simply simply stunning and out of this world.
The most amazingly equipped villas with Bose Music Systems all around are very well placed and a treat !

The open air Jungle Shower,The private Swimming Pool , The mini water fall on the walls of the open air Bathroom is simply stunning.

The villas are also equipped with Pvt Steam room and a pvt Gym.

The Six Senses spa has some of the most brilliant treatments and the most well trained staff to take care of you.!

Mr Friday was a very unique feature of the Resort who was always available on call and ready at your service.

It is a hideout place for world class celebs and it is simply outstanding.

If u have the money,this is one place which should be on your Must do list

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanavAggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

Soneva Fushi, built on 402 sq meters, provides our guests with the best luxury accommodation in the Maldives with over 15 categories to choose from. We are committed to delivering unique six star service and we are continuously looking at new ways to create Learning, Inspiring, Fun, Experiences for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed the barefoot experience and the other facilities we had on offer including our unique butler service of Mr./Ms. Fridays.

Should your future travel plans include The Maldives, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Choosing a honeymoon destination is very tricky. Add on the complexity of choosing to go to the Maldives and you're faced with the dreaded decision: which Island should we go to?!

It was a recommendation through a friend who once worked at Quintessential, a luxury service provider. We were definitely not disappointed. We arrived to the warmest welcome and to the highest level of personal service. What I loved most about the resort was that it was just so naturally beautiful with 70% of the island covered by rainforest, and of course the views from our villa was the sand and sea; which actually is on your doorstep. When you think of luxury it might be the surroundings, or the materials, or the service. With soneva fushi the luxury comes with how the island makes you feel; complete happiness and an overwhelming sense of privilege to have encountered such an experience. From the food to the snorkelling, to the ample choice in things to do, every moment was encapsulated with a smile.

This is an island for those who want variety and something different every day. From the spa to the gym, the multiple restaurants and places to have a cocktail, you will never feel bored. It's a large island but it never felt like you were holidaying with other people. That's the secret to Soneva Fushi. The staff were just incredibly attentive; really hardworking, always customer focused and it was a pleasure to talk with them.

The food and drink was just incredible- with cuisine that challenges the Michelin star it's quite astounding how delicious and fresh everything tastes. Not to mention the 80 different flavours of home made ice cream and sorbet. This is not a place to 'eat well' for the waist line, but it definitely is about eating well for the heart and soul. Although of course you can eat as healthily as you would like; but the sheer volume of delicious cuisines throughout the day made all mealtimes a celebration! Highly recommend a private dinner in the cheese and wine deli room as well as joining the full moon dinner party on the Sandbank (yes this is not on the island... You take a five minute speed boat ride! Stunning!). You can choose to do as much or as little as you would like.

I will always remember the beautiful island of Soneva Fushi, where my heart was full of happiness. Special mention to our Friday, Fatti, who dealt with all our special requests with a smile.

I couldn't recommend this island enough- it is the only island to consider! You will not regret it!

Love Mr and Mrs Hill

Room Tip: We had a basic Crusoe villa but there was nothing basic about it! Absolutely beautiful and very larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs. Hill,

Thank you for choosing Soneva Fushi to spend your honeymoon and for your very positive feedback. We could not be happier to learn that we will always be remembered as ‘ the beautiful island where your heart was full of happiness’.

We make it our goal to turn moments into memories and we are so delighted that we succeeded in doing so. Our recently appointed Swiss Chef was thrilled to hear your amazing comments about the food.

Thank you once again for your review and for recommending our resort to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Soneva Fushi, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 day trip to Soneva Fushi. This was our 8th visit to the Maldives but our 1st to Soneva & it did not disappoint. On arrival we were upgraded to the stunning villa number 1 - which was truly fantastic & very much appreciated . Words cannot describe how beautiful this property is & dolphin beach right outside the door is perhaps the best stretch of beach on the island.
The dining options are plentiful with different options every night: to name just a few & to pick a favorite would be difficult but do not miss the dinner on dolphin beach with 2 of the best singers that we have ever heard in the Maldives. The sandbank trip & truffle dinner in fresh in the garden were also amazing. We also had the pleasure of a wine cellar dinner with excellent wines & great food. The sommelier was first class, knowledgeable, friendly & recommended some great wines - it is hard to believe that he is still in training & is defiantly an asset to Soneva.
This brings me on to the staff in general who were all wonderful - Didi at breakfast & the lovely lady who brought the delicious shooters before every meal, friendly, smiling chefs who would make you whatever you liked, attentive bar staff & engerising staff in the kids club , to name a few.
We had a great Mr. Friday - Fathai - he was attentive without being intrusive & organized everything we needed.
My husband went to the spa quite a lot & the treatments we had were wonderful. While it may not be as plush as some of the other island's spas, the service & quality of the treatments were excellent. All the therapist's were great & we have returned home refreshed & with lovely glowing skin, thanks to them. The relaxation area is lovely, but put plenty of insect repellant on first , as this seems to be the place where the mosquitos particularly like to hang out !
The highlight of the trip was snorkeling with the Manta rays - wow - do not miss this experience & big thank you to Frederica who kindly sent some photos on to us as we had no underwater camera.
Finally, it was so hard putting our shoes back on after living a carefree, barefoot life for a little while.
Thank you Soneva .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a detailed and incredible review of your recent stay at Soneva Fushi.

We are thrilled that you have so many positive comments about our resort. You have highlighted all that made your stay memorable - the stunning Villa, the dolphin beach, the dining options, sandbank cocktails, great wines, Soneva service, the spa experience, kids club team and especially the Soneva Hosts who made your stay special. I have passed on your thanks to all of them. We love to create Learning, Inspiring, Fun Experiences for our guests and we are glad to know that we are on the right track to achieving what we call ‘Intelligent Luxury’.

It was our pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your little ‘Paradise on Earth’.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is my third stay and I can’t say anything else than this “the” place.
I have been here for holydays, and this time for work having a workshop with some colleagues.
The bungalows are of top class and the food and selection of wine makes you feel like you are in heaven.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per-Anders F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we did hosting you on your third visit.

We are pleased that you found the bungalows to be of top class; in fact we have no less than 17 categories for guests to choose from. We are also thrilled to read that the food and selection of wine made you feel like you were in heaven.

Do come back again, we look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

It was my third time to the Maldives. I stayed in a very good resorts but Soneva Fushi was great in every thing. From my arrival in Male Airport to the greeting at the state of art resort where you live in the earth paradise. Staff, food, service is just perfect. Worth every Dollar. If you can offer it do not miss it. Soneva Fushi is the best resort in the Maldives for romance, family and relax. Certainly will be back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank BufahadR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read such a complimentary review like yours – and we thank you for sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food and the service and we are thrilled with your comments that it was “just perfect and worth every dollar”. We agree with you that Soneva Fushi is one of the best resorts in the Maldives for romance, family and relaxation. We go into great detail when creating Learning, Inspiring Fun Experiences for our guests, be it for families, couples or children.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback and we look forward to your return, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kunfunadhoo
8.7 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#5 of 14 in Baa Atoll
307 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#11 of 14 in Baa Atoll
538 reviews
12.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#4 of 14 in Baa Atoll
790 reviews
12.8 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
998 reviews
14.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soneva Fushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soneva Fushi

Property: Soneva Fushi
Address: Baa Atoll, 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Kunfunadhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Soneva Fushi 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Eva and Sonu Shivdasani built Soneva Fushi as well as their home on the deserted island of Kunfunadhoo in the Maldives in 1995 they had no idea that their intensely personal vision of a locally crafted villa and environmentally responsible lifestyle would form the basis of a successful collection of world-class hotels, resorts and spas. But that's exactly what happened. Soneva Fushi was the first 'castaway' resort in the Maldives, pioneering a trend for back-to-nature luxury holidays. It established a blueprint for a highly acclaimed international business, followed by spectacular Soneva Kiri on the unspoilt Thai island of Koh Kood in 2009. The success of the Soneva brand also paved the way for Six Senses Resorts and Spas with award-winning properties in Asia, the Middle East and Europe. Under Eva's and Sonu's direction the Six Senses brand gained a global following before being sold in 2012. Today the Sonevas have many imitators, but no equals. Each Soneva - and a yachting experience, Soneva in Aqua - impresses on a wide range of levels. Breathtaking 'remote but accessible' natural locations, effortlessly chic accommodation, incredible food, truly memorable activities, an inspiring ethos of sustainability and service that is uncannily intuitive. The resort that set the tone and the standards for every subsequent resort. A jewel of an island - large by Maldives standards - with perfect beaches, a vibrant reef encircling the island, a colony of nesting turtles and its very own world class observatory. Located in the Baa Atoll, Maldives' only UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, Soneva Fushi is blessed with extensive coral reefs and significant biodiversity including large concentrations of whale sharks, manta rays and marine turtles. The resort is perfect for romantic couple getaways, or family holidays as it provides unique experiences and activities for all, from diving and snorkelling with the marine biologist, to sandbank dinners and a children's den (playground). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soneva Fushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soneva Fushi By 6 Senses
Soneva Fushi By Six Senses Hotel Kunfunadhoo
Soneva Fushi Resort
Soneva Fushi Hotel
Soneva Fushi Maldives/Kunfunadhoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing