We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soneva Fushi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soneva Fushi Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from our 12 day stay in Soneva Fushi and I really can't compliment it highly enough.

From our reception in Male airport, seaplane transfer and welcome to the island by our Miss Friday and Tim and the management staff, we had an utterly incredible experience.

It is easily the most relaxing and rejuvenating place we have had the pleasure of enjoying and there are no shortage of things to do to keep busy.

Highlights: sandbank cocktail party, outdoor cinema nights, complimentary snorkelling equipment and bicycle use for the duration of our stay, our ever attentive and friendly Miss Friday (Ainth - thank you again!) and the personal attention given by the large numbers of friendly staff in the spa, restaurants, bars and dive school. I'd also recommend the "Eco tour" for an interesting morning finding out what the resort is doing to offset its impact on the environment and grow its own organic sustainable produce. The food is of near Michelin star quality and the diversity and quality of beverages have to be tasted to be believed. Couples (especially on Honeymoon) are left to their own peace and quiet as much as they like, the villa suites are very clean and private and the beaches peaceful.

Lowlights: few and far between - mosquitos can be troublesome at times, the activities can be expensive for what you get, the meals and drinks are pricey (though this can be offset by going half or full board). Really nitpicking here, nothing spoilt our stay at all!

We can't wait to save up to visit again, thank you all for our incredible holiday!

Shukuriyya, Micheala & JP (villa 58)

Room Tip: Sunset side is quieter in terms of boats etc, though it's all very peaceful. Sunset side perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPLoughrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Soneva Fushi is a great resort to visit and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and all that we had to offer, from the Sandbank cocktail party, outdoor cinema, snorkeling to bicycle rides around the island. We are glad that you went on an “Eco Tour’ and we appreciate your positive comments on our efforts at being eco friendly and our approach to sustainability.

We are sorry that you encountered mosquitoes during your stay. Rest assured, this has now been resolved by changing pest control companies whom have had noticeable results in reducing our unwanted flying friends.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    22
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
247
315
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013


Sorry it's taken so long to write this review but with only a week till we return to this paradise and mounting excitement, here it is.
Soneva Fushi really was perfect in every way. From the moment we landed we knew we really had found our paradise. The accommodation was beautiful, the location was breathtaking and the food at all the eateries were simply way too good! The service was second to none. Everyone was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, to the extent where the wonderful Laurie Burr, General Manager, even helped our daughter with her geography project on her return to the uk!
Thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone who makes Soneva Fushi truly perfect, we can't wait to see you all on Saturday xxxxx

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled to have you back and can’t wait to see you all again. We are happy that we could make a difference to your daughter’s geography programme - we look forward to your return and to the pleasure of welcoming you.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Getting to the resort was so easy thanks to the attentive staff, the sea plane flight was great way to get to the island takes about 20 minutes. Then a short boat ride with a refreshing drink. We were greeted by our Mr Friday "Mohammed" with a beautiful welcoming smile.
Our room was lovely with everything we needed. We had a one bedroom with pool on the beach! It was so comfortable with plenty of room. Lots of areas with day beds to just relax. The beds are so comfortable there were days that I just did not want to get out of bed.
The restaurants were great each night there is a different theme great variety and fabulous service. You really can't fault anything. Riding the bikes was so fun I was surprised that I still knew how to ride a bike as I can't remember the last time I rode one.
The Senior Management are very visible and interactive with the guests it was lovely to meet them all, congratulations to them all they are doing a great job to ensure the resort is kept so beautiful and the staff are happy and so good looking after the guests. Thank you for a lovely time I will definitely be returning one day soon. I highly recommend Soneva Fushi!

Room Tip: Our one bedroom was great with pool and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPrincessJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such wonderful feedback on Soneva Fushi. I cannot tell you how thrilled I am to hear that you enjoyed your Soneva Fushi Villa.

Soneva Fushi, built on 402 thousand Sq meters, provides the best luxury accommodation in the Maldives with over 15 categories to choose from. Please log on to our website www.soneva.com to view these exceptional villas for your next visit.

My team and I are always at our guests’ disposal and I thank you for recognizing those who are determined to make a difference to a guest’s stay.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been fortunate enough to holiday at Soneva Fushi many several times and it has always been excellent. After a gap of three years we returned this year with our children to find that the Bears Den in the woods has recently been created for younger children. They had a lovely time doing some really creative things. In true Soneva style, this recent addition is different and better than the rest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidchaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you returned for another holiday at Soneva Fushi, it was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. Our younger Soneva guests are one of our top priorities, and with that said, we are currently constructing one of the most innovative and creative children’s Den that will be the biggest in the Indian Ocean. This will be ready late this year. The Den shall host all of Soneva’s Philosophies providing Intelligent luxury, Learning – Inspiring – Fun – Experiences, for not only just children and teenagers but Mums and Dads as well. Soneva Fushi never sits still, and every year we look at adding new experiences in our Food and Beverage outlets and Guest experiences, for all our guests to enjoy.

We hope to see you again hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

What do I need to say more?

Staff, food, accommodation, location, every thing is excellent! Totally in love with the slow live theory.
Great restaurants with top chefs from all arround the world.
Go and see it for yourself!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SachaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you embraced our SLOWLIFE concept which provides Learning – Inspiring – Fun – Experiences in our Food and Beverage programme for our guests to enjoy.

We hope to see you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely.

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've been coming here for years....

Some would say that this demonstrates a complete lack of imagination on our part, but after a few attempts at weaning ourselves off the Soneva Fushi magic, at some point we had to surrender to it and stop feeling that the 'grass is greener'. We've been lucky enough to have stayed at quite a few hotels that are very comparable, albeit not necessarily in the Maldives (same planet at least, if not necessarily the same ball park...) and yes they were great, but for a tropical beach resort holiday, something always draws us back to Soneva Fushi.

In the interest of balance, I think it's important to say that Fushi isn't for everyone. If you want uber-bling architecture, an underwater restaurant serving only the raw petals of a particular Chinese lotus-flower and dozens of people in the bar every night, blowing the GDP of a small country on champagne and dancing 'till dawn, it's probably not for you, but if you want some amazing experiences, many of which you wouldn't have even thought of, delivered in an intelligent, elegant and understated way, then you'll love it.

It's hard to put into words what makes Soneva Fushi special, because much of it is so intangible. Other reviewers have described the superb facilities, the quality of the food, the level of service and the stunning island in a far better way than I ever could. For me the real difference comes down to one thing.

The promise is to deliver 'Intelligent Luxury'. Luxury you can get anywhere, but the level of thought that is put into Soneva Fushi, both on a day to day and a longer term basis, is astonishing. The service is unobtrusive and yet very friendly; efficient but not 'in your face', but most importantly they are incredibly thoughtful and forward thinking about what might make your stay better. From management, to the F+B staff, to the superb dive team, the ethos is the same.

We recently stayed with our (nearly) one year old on what, to relatively new parents, felt like it could have been the Antarctic expedition of holidays, but we went anyway probably because we had the confidence that we knew the hotel and the people. However, just how good they were blew us away completely, entertaining him without being asked when they saw we could do with some time to eat, providing absolutely anything we needed (and things we didn't know we needed) and even building a play-pen from scratch. It made what was always going to be a good holiday, into a perfect one.

On a longer term basis, each year there's always something new and innovative, from the tree-house restaurant to the outdoor cinema, free diving and kite surfing, a marine biologist on staff, a proper observatory with a huge telescope and new dining experiences - it's all interesting and different and clearly a lot of thought has been put into it.

And I guess that's why, like a lot of other guests, we keep coming back; when you think it can't get any better, somehow...it just does.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DHEHFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you once again for returning to the iconic Soneva Fushi, your ‘home away from home’. It is our sincere pleasure to have you as our valued repeating guests year on year, and we thank you for your loyal patronage.

It is wonderful to receive such high praise from guests who stay at Soneva Fushi and we appreciate your positive comments when referring to our ‘Intelligent Luxury’ and sustainability programs. Soneva Fushi does not look at bling bling hotels but rather concentrates its time delivering intuitive service and meaningful experiences to our guests which make this resort an extraordinary place to visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile


What can I say about our trip? I would not be lying when I say it was our best holiday that we have ever been on. We truly think that it has changed us forever.
Soneva Fushi takes you to a place that you have forgotten existed where you are totally relaxed and where you realise all the truly important things in life whilst being in a totally luxurious place. To create these two aspects of a holiday in one destination is an unbelievable achievement and impossible to replicate.
I've never seen Marcelle and the kids so relaxed. I turned off my phone for 11 days and did not want to turn it back on which is a first for me!
We loved everything from the cinema to lipstick sorbet in the Garden restaurant. No detail was too small. bob

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us on your recent holiday and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with TripAdvisor. My Team and I are thrilled to know that your holiday was the best holiday that you've ever been on, and that it changed you forever. What an endorsement that is for us.

Soneva Fushi is truly proud of our philosophy “Intelligent Luxury” which we work hand in hand with the environment, local communities and reducing our carbon footprint in all that we do – we are glad that you recognize and appreciate our efforts.

We are also happy that you enjoyed the lipstick sorbet in the Garden restaurant “Fresh in the Garden’. Our Chef Jesus and Team are continuously striving to make new innovative dishes to wow our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope that you will visit us again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kunfunadhoo
8.7 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#5 of 13 in Baa Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kihaad Maldives
Kihaad Maldives
#10 of 13 in Baa Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
12.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#3 of 13 in Baa Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
14.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soneva Fushi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soneva Fushi Resort

Property: Soneva Fushi Resort
Address: 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi by Six Senses)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Kunfunadhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Soneva Fushi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Eva and Sonu Shivdasani built Soneva Fushi as well as their home on the deserted island of Kunfunadhoo in the Maldives in 1995 they had no idea that their intensely personal vision of a locally crafted villa and environmentally responsible lifestyle would form the basis of a successful collection of world-class hotels, resorts and spas. But that's exactly what happened. Soneva Fushi was the first 'castaway' resort in the Maldives, pioneering a trend for back-to-nature luxury holidays. It established a blueprint for a highly acclaimed international business, followed by spectacular Soneva Kiri on the unspoilt Thai island of Koh Kood in 2009. The success of the Soneva brand also paved the way for Six Senses Resorts and Spas with award-winning properties in Asia, the Middle East and Europe. Under Eva's and Sonu's direction the Six Senses brand gained a global following before being sold in 2012. Today the Sonevas have many imitators, but no equals. Each Soneva - and a yachting experience, Soneva in Aqua - impresses on a wide range of levels. Breathtaking 'remote but accessible' natural locations, effortlessly chic accommodation, incredible food, truly memorable activities, an inspiring ethos of sustainability and service that is uncannily intuitive. The resort that set the tone and the standards for every subsequent resort. A jewel of an island - large by Maldives standards - with perfect beaches, a vibrant reef encircling the island, a colony of nesting turtles and its very own world class observatory. Located in the Baa Atoll, Maldives' only UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, Soneva Fushi is blessed with extensive coral reefs and significant biodiversity including large concentrations of whale sharks, manta rays and marine turtles. The resort is perfect for romantic couple getaways, or family holidays as it provides unique experiences and activities for all, from diving and snorkelling with the marine biologist, to sandbank dinners and a children's den (playground). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Soneva Fushi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soneva Fushi By Six Senses Hotel Kunfunadhoo
Soneva Fushi By 6 Senses
Soneva Fushi Hotel
Soneva Fushi Resort Maldives/Kunfunadhoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing