We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Soneva Fushi
Nearby Hotels
Royal Island Resort & Spa(Horubadhoo Island)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$510
$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kihaa Maldives(Baa Atoll)
$682
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amilla Fushi(Baa Atoll)
$660
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Finolhu(Baa Atoll)
$585
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$890
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$143
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$756
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas(Kihavah Huravalhi)
$1,045
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveler rating
849
28
22
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
28
22
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno shoessix sensesbarefoot luxuryoutdoor cinemarobinson crusoevegetable gardenkids clubman fridaybedroom villarustic luxurygarden restaurantout of this worldsushisunset dolphin cruiseindian oceanprivate pooldining experiences
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 904 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What do I need to say more?

Staff, food, accommodation, location, every thing is excellent! Totally in love with the slow live theory.
Great restaurants with top chefs from all arround the world.
Go and see it for yourself!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SachaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you embraced our SLOWLIFE concept which provides Learning – Inspiring – Fun – Experiences in our Food and Beverage programme for our guests to enjoy.

We hope to see you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely.

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've been coming here for years....

Some would say that this demonstrates a complete lack of imagination on our part, but after a few attempts at weaning ourselves off the Soneva Fushi magic, at some point we had to surrender to it and stop feeling that the 'grass is greener'. We've been lucky enough to have stayed at quite a few hotels that are very comparable, albeit not necessarily in the Maldives (same planet at least, if not necessarily the same ball park...) and yes they were great, but for a tropical beach resort holiday, something always draws us back to Soneva Fushi.

In the interest of balance, I think it's important to say that Fushi isn't for everyone. If you want uber-bling architecture, an underwater restaurant serving only the raw petals of a particular Chinese lotus-flower and dozens of people in the bar every night, blowing the GDP of a small country on champagne and dancing 'till dawn, it's probably not for you, but if you want some amazing experiences, many of which you wouldn't have even thought of, delivered in an intelligent, elegant and understated way, then you'll love it.

It's hard to put into words what makes Soneva Fushi special, because much of it is so intangible. Other reviewers have described the superb facilities, the quality of the food, the level of service and the stunning island in a far better way than I ever could. For me the real difference comes down to one thing.

The promise is to deliver 'Intelligent Luxury'. Luxury you can get anywhere, but the level of thought that is put into Soneva Fushi, both on a day to day and a longer term basis, is astonishing. The service is unobtrusive and yet very friendly; efficient but not 'in your face', but most importantly they are incredibly thoughtful and forward thinking about what might make your stay better. From management, to the F+B staff, to the superb dive team, the ethos is the same.

We recently stayed with our (nearly) one year old on what, to relatively new parents, felt like it could have been the Antarctic expedition of holidays, but we went anyway probably because we had the confidence that we knew the hotel and the people. However, just how good they were blew us away completely, entertaining him without being asked when they saw we could do with some time to eat, providing absolutely anything we needed (and things we didn't know we needed) and even building a play-pen from scratch. It made what was always going to be a good holiday, into a perfect one.

On a longer term basis, each year there's always something new and innovative, from the tree-house restaurant to the outdoor cinema, free diving and kite surfing, a marine biologist on staff, a proper observatory with a huge telescope and new dining experiences - it's all interesting and different and clearly a lot of thought has been put into it.

And I guess that's why, like a lot of other guests, we keep coming back; when you think it can't get any better, somehow...it just does.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DHEHFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you once again for returning to the iconic Soneva Fushi, your ‘home away from home’. It is our sincere pleasure to have you as our valued repeating guests year on year, and we thank you for your loyal patronage.

It is wonderful to receive such high praise from guests who stay at Soneva Fushi and we appreciate your positive comments when referring to our ‘Intelligent Luxury’ and sustainability programs. Soneva Fushi does not look at bling bling hotels but rather concentrates its time delivering intuitive service and meaningful experiences to our guests which make this resort an extraordinary place to visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013


What can I say about our trip? I would not be lying when I say it was our best holiday that we have ever been on. We truly think that it has changed us forever.
Soneva Fushi takes you to a place that you have forgotten existed where you are totally relaxed and where you realise all the truly important things in life whilst being in a totally luxurious place. To create these two aspects of a holiday in one destination is an unbelievable achievement and impossible to replicate.
I've never seen Marcelle and the kids so relaxed. I turned off my phone for 11 days and did not want to turn it back on which is a first for me!
We loved everything from the cinema to lipstick sorbet in the Garden restaurant. No detail was too small. bob

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us on your recent holiday and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with TripAdvisor. My Team and I are thrilled to know that your holiday was the best holiday that you've ever been on, and that it changed you forever. What an endorsement that is for us.

Soneva Fushi is truly proud of our philosophy “Intelligent Luxury” which we work hand in hand with the environment, local communities and reducing our carbon footprint in all that we do – we are glad that you recognize and appreciate our efforts.

We are also happy that you enjoyed the lipstick sorbet in the Garden restaurant “Fresh in the Garden’. Our Chef Jesus and Team are continuously striving to make new innovative dishes to wow our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope that you will visit us again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went there for our wedding anniversary. The place is a beautiful island, bigger than usual Maldiviam we were told.
We liked the room, got an upgrade to Soneva Fushi villa (is that the right name?). Food wise, buffets were great (ham & cheese room and chocolate room, yummy!). Restaurant nine not as good otherwise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to spend your wedding anniversary at Soneva Fushi. It was our pleasure to upgrade you to a Soneva Fushi villa and we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed all that we had to offer in our food & beverage outlets, especially the ham and cheese room and the chocolate room, which we recently added, and has become a favourite dining area amongst all our guests. We are sorry that you did not favour Restaurant ‘Nine’, I would be very grateful to hear your further comments on this so that our shortcomings can be addressed. Please email : mail@soneva.com

We hope you will stay with us again should your plans bring you back to The Maldives.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our sincere thanks to Laurie and his team at this fantastic tropical island for making our three weeks stay so incredible.

If you are looking for the perfect Maldivian holiday then look no further because this resort has it all, including unfortunately a mosquito problem which was one of only two bad things we could say regarding the whole holiday.

If you love being fussed without being annoyed, if you like privacy and sophistication whilst still retaining real and simple then this is the holiday for you. We had a three week stay in October 2012 ( sorry the review is late Laurie meant to write it months ago)

Ticks all the boxes. Food, accommodation and facilities were unbelievable and we have stayed at most of the better Maldivian islands. Crusoe Villa was perfect, right on the beach with water sports 100 yards away. I would say though if you are a keen slalom water ski-er bring your own ski as the ones supplied were not up to much. Chris the water sports manager (great guy) ordered a new ski whilst we were there, so hopefully you will be luckier than us. Canoes and windsurfing are free.

Food and beverage manager Jospur was exceptional with his intimate knowledge of their extensive wine list, they even have their own wine cellar. We tried dining in the dark (very unusual don't miss it) plus a special food and wine tasting menu "brilliant" So many things to keep you occupied that I won't even try to list them all, but here are some! "Champagne cocktails on a deserted sandbank" "Outdoor cinema with old black and white movies plus hot popcorn to snack on" "Their own planetarium although you sometimes need to book" "Best gymnasium we've ever had at any resort" To list just a few and if you think that you have been to a Maldivian resort with really great food before, you still won't be prepared for this one. First snorkelling trip I was lucky enough to meet one of the the reef turtles and later in the holiday swam with the giant rays. Fabulous

We did have one other problem which was the lack of evening entertainment/music in the main bar area, but we enjoyed everything else so much that it really wasn't a big issue.

one of the Best holiday's we've ever had. We will definitely be returning to this resort.

Keith & Lisa

Room Tip: Sunrise side of the island for great snorkelling
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your visit to our Resort in October last year. I am sorry that you encountered mosquitoes during your stay. Rest assured, this has now been resolved by changing pest control companies whom have had noticeable results in reducing our unwanted flying friends.

It is always inspiring to know that the quality of the facilities and standard of service is enjoyed and appreciated by our guests – we are delighted that you enjoyed it all, particularly those you mentioned, such as the Champagne cocktails on a deserted sandbank, the outdoor cinema and the snorkeling trip where you got to see a reef turtle and manta rays. Thank you for your comments regarding water sports equipment. I will address this with Chris and his team and make sure we have a full selection of water sports equipment available for our guests.

We hope you will return for another holiday with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews