We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise for snorkeling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soneva Fushi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soneva Fushi Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
“Paradise for snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been to other islands of Maldives before, however this island was the most impressive one not only because of the beautiful scenery, but also the perfect service and romantic villa design. The kids loved to go snorkeling everyday to see various colorful fish and coral by only standing on the stairs and 'head in the water'. The 10 days were completely different, extraordinary experience comparing with other islands. And I do appreciate the management team's efforts to fulfil my family's requests immediately when we asked to change the villa. Special thanks to Mr. Xain, the Senior Mr. Friday who provided wonderful, attentive service for my family.

Room Tip: A villa that is close to barabara bar ( the snorceling area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. It is great to know that you were impressed with our island, the beautiful scenery, the romantic villa design, and as you mentioned ‘the perfect service’.

We are delighted that you recognize and appreciate our efforts to ensure that each and every one of our guests leave with fond memories. Your compliments have been shared with my team - Xain, your Mr. Friday, has been commended for being a part of your great holiday experience by providing wonderful and attentive service to your family.

Should your future travels bring you back to the Maldives, it would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    22
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
248
316
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
968 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,096 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

And the fact it is large is what makes it so special ! Large is a relative term and it's not 1km long but there is variety on the island, whilst most other maldives islands are much smaller with far less variety. If you want to go to a restaurant on a beach, a treetop restaurant there are choices. Many different parts of the island to explore by bicycle, an open air cinema etc etc. Surprisingly, the island is not crowded, each villa has it's own stretch of glorious beach. Great diving opportunities & adventourous picnics on deserted islands are all on offer.
What we enjoyed most was the service which was so good, we even had our own butler. The "no shoes" policy was novel as all you walk on the whole time is sand. We also liked the fact that most vegetables served in the restaurants had been grown in a vegetable garden located in the centre of the island.
Attended wine tasting in a cellar...... yes a cellar in the Maldives! Very bizarre, first time I had a bottle of Krug as part of a wine tasting session.
Rooms could do with a bit of an update but it is very difficult to find fault with this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. Yes our island is quite large and we are glad you took the time to explore and enjoy all the activities we had on offer. It makes us so happy to know that our service was what you enjoyed most.

Thank you once again for being our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Soneva Fushi was quite simply the most beautiful place I have been to, my family and I had the most wonderful holiday. From the minute we were welcomed personally by the amazing staff, Tim, Lisa and Faithi, we wanted for nothing. The food was delicious and we particularly loved the chocolate room! We seriously loved our bicycles and loved cycling around the island. We had the most fabulous day on our very own deserted island, whisked there by a speed boat and left for the day with a sumptuous picnic, wine and loungers and parasols - it was incredible and the snorkelling was out of this world. Cocktails at sunset in bar bara bara were another highlight, so beautiful. All in all it was the trip of a lifetime although one I sincerely hope I will repeat, it was just amazing and Tim looked after us so well, we just loved him. I could not say enough about this paradise on earth, loved everything about it - soooo going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor. We take pride in providing our guests with unique and unforgettable experiences, and it makes us so happy to know that you had the most wonderful holiday here at Soneva Fushi. I have conveyed your appreciation to my Team and those you specifically mentioned – they send warm greetings to you.

We are glad to know that you have plans to return soon and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Soneva Fushi exceeded our expectations in all ways. We originally were hoping to stay in a water villa for our first visit to the Maldives, but our travel agent, Atoll Paradise, told us we would have an unforgettable experience at Soneva Fushi, and they were right! No regrets! And while we hope to stay in a water someday sometime, we are ever grateful for the experience at Soneva Fushi. We felt like we hit the jackpot discovering this place! Each villa is built with private beach access. Our villa was spacious, with beautiful outdoor bath and shower space, private pool, and very comfortable indoor and outdoor seating.

Service was impeccable: each villa has a Mr./Mrs. Friday who checks in every day and manages any concerns and needs we might have. It is a great touch and allows visitors to really enjoy every minute of the trip. Food was as good as the scenery, which means, it doesn't get much better. Variety, freshness, beautiful presentation! We were delighted and surprised many times a day during our visit by little details and offerings at the resort and in our villa. Everything is so well planned and designed. It is a perfect marriage of pampered luxury and rustic living. It feels like living on an island with every detail made easy and enjoyable, rather than a hotel built on an island(i.e., contrived atmosphere, every inch paved over). There is so much lush greenery, dirt roads connecting villas, restaurants, spa. They provide bicycles to get around. For the most part this is so fun and easy, but I had a couple of spills (so worth the experience though!) Everyone who works here is REALLY good at their job. It sounds trite to say that it's a well-oiled machine, but when you want to get away, relax, unplug or at least minimize being bombarded by urban life or work life, you will appreciate that they know what they are doing.

They really create an easy-going feeling. They seriously mean "No news, no shoes!" And the dress code is wear whatever you want, so casual is definitely the way to go. No need for dressy clothes at all, especially with no shoes. And since there are only dirt roads between the buildings, you are either biking or walking, or there are little golf cart shuttles if you really don't want or can't bike. After a week of being home, I think the luxurious setting/service combined with casual and comfortable is the best combination for vacation getaway.

I am really into Yoga, so I appreciated the Yoga classes taught by a "real" Yogi from India. The Yoga room is beautiful. There is also an emphasis on Ayuveda at Soneva Fushi, so at breakfast they offer Ayurvedic teas and infusions from Sri Lanka, fruits and juiced fruits and vegetables. As well, there is an Ayurvedic doctor at the Spa who does consultations and recommendations for Ayurvedic treatments. I wish I had more time to experience the treatments. The two times I was there were really great and I got a sense that these therapists were very talented healers, which isn't always the case at resort spas.

The snorkeling is easy and accessible. You can get snorkeling equipment (at no cost if you return the equipment) from the Dive Center, and then just go right out your beach access or explore different access points around the island. You don't have to go far to see a variety and abundance of fish and sea life. One of our highlights was to snorkel from our beach to the the bar, get out and dry off, take a break, have a drink and snack, and maybe a little rest looking out on one of the most beautifully built on-water bar looking westward, and then snorkeling back to our villa.

Our hardest decision every day was how to and where to relax and enjoy the beauty, sun, and island! It was a good problem to have and we decided that this would be our first of hopefully many vacations at Soneva Fushi. There is so much to do and experience on this island, we felt taken care of, and rested, well fed, and rejuvenated. We cannot wait for our next visit.

Many thanks to the attentive staff and the efforts of the resort founders and management to preserve the beauty of the island and put into place ecological practices that preserve the island and the environment.

Room Tip: We stayed on the west side and were told that snorkeling is often better on this side, quieter water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lourdesparedescampbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a pleasant and thorough review of your recent stay at Soneva Fushi. We are as thrilled as you are that you chose our resort to spend your recent holiday. It makes us very proud to know that we exceeded your expectations in all ways, and even more so that you took the time to share your experiences with others. It is also great that you loved our concept of luxury combined with rustic living.

We strive hard to turn moments into memories for our guests and your compliments are an inspiration to us, to continue our good work.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,


Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

From the moment you are met at the arrivals hall in Male to your time of departure you are in a different world. Your every wish, however fanciful, is attended by a great team in a relaxed manner giving you an opportunity to forget the troubles of real world and concentrate on the experiences - coral reefs snorkelling, spotlessly clean beaches, abundant sea life, fishing or sailing trips, fantastic food and top class spa.
The island is very big by the Maldivian standards with lush tropical jungle giving plenty of personal space to everyone. Apart from meeting people at breakfast and dinner you hardly see anyone during the day. Your villa is surrounded by dense vegetation offering a great sense of privacy.
The restaurants in the resort are comparable to the best European ones in variety, quality and presentation of food.
Overall this was the most relaxing and revitalising holiday we had to date.

There are a few useful tips to share.

Don’t bother bringing any extra shoes with you. You walk everywhere barefoot. On arrival your shoes are bagged and kept in your villa. You would only need them when you board the plane on return journey. Having said that, you do need a pair of swimming plimsolls since the seabed is full of dead corals.

Don’t bring any raincoats and umbrellas too as they are provided.

On arrival you are issued with a snorkelling gear. I found myself constantly battling with fogging of the snorkelling mask glass. Bring some anti-fogging spray to keep glass clear. For those who wear glasses there are optical snorkelling masks available.

Bring an underwater camera. Marine life is absolutely amazing around the island and even more so if you take a snorkelling trip to a reef 20 min away. It is also guided by a marine biologist explaining about different sea life forms.

There are mosquitoes on the island. They don’t bother you during the day but are quite active at night. Keep doors shut after dark otherwise the villa will have mosquitoes. Resort provides mosquito repellent and nets.

The resort is sustainable having got means to produce fresh vegetables on the island, utilise food waste and sewage, recycle paper, wood, metal and glass. Unfortunately they cannot recycle plastic bottles, wrapping and bags. This waste is collected and shipped to Male for landfill or burning. Given lack of landmass in the Maldives and ecological threat from this type of waste, the resort provides you with a bag and encourages to take your plastic rubbish with you. Please help them to preserve this paradise.

There is a gang of crows on the island watching your every step. Do not leave any food unattended outside your villa or at breakfast because crows will take care of it in no time.

Bring a pocket-size torch with you. There is a rechargeable torch in your villa but it’s quite bulky. The footpaths are lit at night but not very brightly. It is also good fun watching blue crabs racing away from you on the beach at night.

Tea and coffee making facilities as well as fresh milk and bottled water are available in your villa. There are also two jars with dry fruit (apricots, raisins and nuts) to snack up during the day.

If the sea is stormy ask for a catamaran ride. It is an absolute blast! The guys in the aquatic sports centre will do it for free for you.

Although it says you need to vacate your villa by noon at departure day, in reality it is not necessary now. Up until October last year seaplanes were the only means to getting to and from Male as they operate during daylight hours only. However with the opening of a domestic airport located on the island Dharavandhoo (20 min boat ride from Soneva Fushi) you can negotiate a late departure. We left Soneva at 9.15 pm with a departure from Dharavandhoo at 10.30 pm. Flight to Male is about 20 min.

Lastly I would like to praise the resort staff and especially our Mr Friday Muhaimin who made our stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: If you do not like sleeping with A/C on villas on NE shore have cooling breeze between Nov and Apr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lad_v_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We loved your comprehensive feedback – thank you for sharing your recent holiday experience with others. We are so happy that we were able to provide you with a friendly and personalized service and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.


Thank you also for your wonderful compliments which I have shared with my entire team, especially Muhaimin your Mr. Friday – he has done us proud!

We do hope you choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to the Maldives.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opfikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The first time, where it got really difficult to leave this absolutely wonderful place! To maintain the romance and privacy of this amazing place is an ultimate in luxury, discretion, professionality in all kind of services with gourmet kitchens and fabulous Spa!

Room Tip: all of these 65 villas are located that you feel like dreaming day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iggi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed the Soneva hospitality and we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I confess that this review contains one falsehood, the date of my trip. I was there in 2005 not 2012. I wasn't a trip advisor user then. But I so love this place and wanted to add my 2 cents. I hope my deception will be forgiven but I just had to write and tell anyone considering a trip to the Maldives that THIS is the ONLY Place you need go. It is EXCEPTIONAL bar none! (unless you have been on a private island with excellent service as I have, so I speak from deep experience). If the hotel has kept up it's standards since 2005 and have not overbuilt, then this is truly a rare experience. The food was stellar. Forget your diet. Eat. Be Merry. Move. eat more! Diving and beach was fabulous. Kayaking great. The personal butler was attentive. From the departure lounge in Male to the adorable airplane dock at Soneva Fushi, to the moment they "confiscate" your shoes and assign you bikes with cloth covered pedal pads--it was a seamless luxe experience. Soneva Fushi island is lush and canopied with pristine beaches. They have an organic garden. THey embody a holistic environmental approach to the management of the island. What's not to love!? It's pricey. Ok. But you get soooo much for the dough! I dream of returning one day....one day.

Room Tip: We had the basic Rehendi Room on the Sunrise Side. It was perfect for us. we were on a "budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilevare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled with your great review – sharing your experience means so much to us, even though it’s been quite a while since your last visit to Soneva Fushi.

We have made amazing progress over the years and rest assured that we always seek ways to improve our services and maintain the Soneva standards that we are so well known for. We are truly earnest in our passion to please guests, and it is great to hear that we are succeeding in our aims.

Thank you once again for your wonderful compliments about our Resort, and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kunfunadhoo
8.7 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#5 of 13 in Baa Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kihaad Maldives
Kihaad Maldives
#10 of 13 in Baa Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
12.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#3 of 13 in Baa Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
14.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soneva Fushi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soneva Fushi Resort

Property: Soneva Fushi Resort
Address: 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi by Six Senses)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Kunfunadhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Soneva Fushi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Eva and Sonu Shivdasani built Soneva Fushi as well as their home on the deserted island of Kunfunadhoo in the Maldives in 1995 they had no idea that their intensely personal vision of a locally crafted villa and environmentally responsible lifestyle would form the basis of a successful collection of world-class hotels, resorts and spas. But that's exactly what happened. Soneva Fushi was the first 'castaway' resort in the Maldives, pioneering a trend for back-to-nature luxury holidays. It established a blueprint for a highly acclaimed international business, followed by spectacular Soneva Kiri on the unspoilt Thai island of Koh Kood in 2009. The success of the Soneva brand also paved the way for Six Senses Resorts and Spas with award-winning properties in Asia, the Middle East and Europe. Under Eva's and Sonu's direction the Six Senses brand gained a global following before being sold in 2012. Today the Sonevas have many imitators, but no equals. Each Soneva - and a yachting experience, Soneva in Aqua - impresses on a wide range of levels. Breathtaking 'remote but accessible' natural locations, effortlessly chic accommodation, incredible food, truly memorable activities, an inspiring ethos of sustainability and service that is uncannily intuitive. The resort that set the tone and the standards for every subsequent resort. A jewel of an island - large by Maldives standards - with perfect beaches, a vibrant reef encircling the island, a colony of nesting turtles and its very own world class observatory. Located in the Baa Atoll, Maldives' only UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, Soneva Fushi is blessed with extensive coral reefs and significant biodiversity including large concentrations of whale sharks, manta rays and marine turtles. The resort is perfect for romantic couple getaways, or family holidays as it provides unique experiences and activities for all, from diving and snorkelling with the marine biologist, to sandbank dinners and a children's den (playground). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Soneva Fushi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soneva Fushi By Six Senses Hotel Kunfunadhoo
Soneva Fushi By 6 Senses
Soneva Fushi Hotel
Soneva Fushi Resort Maldives/Kunfunadhoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing