We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing honeymoon - Amie and Allan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soneva Fushi Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon - Amie and Allan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

From the minute of our arrival the service was tremendous. Lots of great activities such as tennis, sailing, snorkling, kayaking and many more all included in the price. We had champagne on arrival and we stayed in the rhendi villa which we loved. The beaches on the sunrise side are best with the best house reef for snorkling north east, we saw 2 turtles and a moray eel there. Their commitment to sustainability is second to none it is so great to see it put into action from the food provided to the design and materials of the villas.

Best restaurant for food on the island is 'by the beach' (Japanese) however 'fresh in the garden' is a must visit for the atmosphere. Ask. For the private full moon table, doesn't cost any more and is unforgettable.



We will definitely be back! Oh and the cocktail party on the sandbank is breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Amie and Allan,

What a great review and we thank you for sharing your holiday experience with others. We are glad you loved your villa and enjoyed the activities, the beach, snorkeling and the food.

Do come back as every year we add more and more guest experiences. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    22
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
254
323
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

staying at Soneva Fushi was very pleasant and the best thing about it was the great service. Probably one of the best services we ever experienced. One thing we didn't know in advance is that the island has its own "resort time" which is one hour difference to Male time.
We didn't like the bathrooms in the villa that much as they are totally in the open and we were always bitten by the many mosquitos. In fact, the only thing which was negative about the resort was the many mosquitos and lots of insect crawling in the villa especially during night hours. the hotel provides anti-mosquito sprays etc but still didn't help much.
The resort is "green" with its own recycling center and organic gardens, really special. There is no TV in the rooms but lots of films to chose from which you can watch in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DubaiIbnbattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that your stay at Soneva Fushi was a pleasant one and that you found the service to be one of the best you ever experienced. It is always a pleasure to provide our guests with the best hospitality and it is certainly very rewarding for our Team to receive such commendations for their hard work.

We are so sorry you didn't like the bathrooms in the villa and that you had some issues with mosquitoes. We have adopted some new practices since your last stay, which will help us eradicate mosquitoes and this seems to be working well.

We do hope you choose to stay with us again should you return to the Maldives in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Soneva Fushi is the first luxury resort in Maldives which open since 1995, it might somehow becomes lack of luxury elements according to nowadays Maldives standard. However, new hardware could become vanished easily after certain years of time, easy to be copied or replaced. But the great service standard built up over decades could be long lasting, something really important to contribute a fantastic stay.

Villa
We stayed in Soneva fushi villa with pool (facing the west) and Crusoe Villa with pool (facing East) during our stay.
The Soneva Fushi villa no. 44 we stayed is just right opposite to a local island which is located at the west side of Fushi, the communication tower really made the view very unpleasant. If you prefer the sunset side, villa 54 to 65 will be better as they are much far from the communication tower. I attached a resort map with villa number for more details.
The Crusoe Villa no. 27 we stayed was at the other side and facing east, I personally like this side better. Most of the villa are just renovated, it looks brand new and we love the double stories design of Crusoe villa very much.
The rustic furniture and concept for all types of villas made us feel very natural, adapted to the real Maldivian environment.
The most interesting things are watching chickens, birds and rabbits running across your garden, we saw the kids are crazy for chasing them.

Food
Food is delicious in By the Beach and In Villa dining. The Fresh in the Garden has a lot of praises on the reviews, we personally feel the food is ok, but the idea of having a tree house restaurant inside a jungle is definitely gorgeous. Don’t miss to visit the lovely washroom in the Fresh in the Garden.

Beaches
The island is quite big in terms of Maldives size. It took us approx. 1 hr. 15 mins to walk around the whole island.
Its hard to define where is the main beach of the resort, everywhere of the island are beaches, beaches are everywhere, they are all nice. The most wonderful thing is to ride our own bike to go to the turtle beach and Dolphin beach, we feel we are the only couple who own the island.

Spa
Best Spa we've experienced in Maldives, the 4 hands Soneva signature massage is a must try item, we went 5 times during our 9 nights stay, so it tell how fabulous the massages are.

Snorkeling
According to the dive center, the best snorkeling area is between the main jetty (Villa 26) and the Jungle Reserve (Villa 42), we reached the house reef just in a minute from the beach. It is definitely not the best one we've been, some of the corals are bleached, however, we saw many fishes, in terms of the amount of fishes, it is the top of the Maldives resort we've visited. I heard that the marine biologists did a hard work to rebuild / plant the corals and there are great improvement after our stay.
We booked 2 times of private snorkeling trip by speedboat, the sites they brought us are excellent, extremely beautiful with healthy and beautiful corals.

To conclude, Soneva Fushi has a team of very experienced management, service of every front line staff are impeccable and friendly, made us feel like home, from reservation, arrival to departure, everything is smooth and considerate from the guests' point of view. I tailor decor my villa by requesting an extra indoor dining table and chairs, "building" a hammock in my garden, placing additional 8 mosquito coils and keep lighting up all day, nothing is too trouble for them and they all fulfill my requests within a very reasonable time frame, even I went there during the most peak season of the year.

Room Tip: For East side - Villa 1 to 10, 30 to 42 For West side - Villa 58 to 65
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to share it with the world. It sounds like your stay with us was a great experience overall. We are so sorry about the communication tower from the neighboring local island opposite, which made the view from your villa very unpleasant. Since your last visit in January 2012, we have planted numerous palm trees on both Soneva Fushi and Eydhafushi , to make the view more appealing and Maldivian.

We hope that it won’t be long before you return to Soneva Fushi to see the results of our refurbishments and the building of our new Children’s Den.


Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you want tranquil beauty coupled with wonderful spa's and first class service, this is the place. Beautiful warm ocean, excellent food and a great place to unwind and empty your head for a week or two. Definitely a honeymoon destination or for those couples who want a romatic fun filled break. We had a villa on the beach and took our daughter who was 13 months at the time. She was the star attraction as there were no other babies on the island. She ate micro bananas that were picked and peeled especially for her.
The accomodation is by far the best I have ever seen and I am well travelled! Luxury at its peak and nothing is too much trouble for the staff - they are attentive to your every need but will also keep their distance when they need to. Diving is a must on this island and so are the cocktails at sunset on the sand dune's which you are taken to by boat to watch the sun setting over the ocean. Would I go back? YES in heartbeat, a luxury you must have on your "bucket list".

Room Tip: Anything, its all pure decandence and luxury all the way !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review even though it’s been a while since your last stay with us. I’ve shared your positive comments with my entire team and they are so happy that they were able to provide you the helpful, friendly and personalized service that we are best known for.

We do hope you will return with your little daughter to enjoy the Children's Den that we are currently working on, and the many other improvements since your last visit.

Thank you once again and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Je wiz, it really is paradise. Right from arriving we got whisked into the Soneva Lounge while we waited for our seaplane. It's was a taster of the pampering that we received for the duration of our stay. On arrival it hit me just how beautiful the island is. We loved the no news no shoes policy, it's so refreshing. The staff are unbelievable, it's almost like they know what you're thinking. It's very relaxed for the extremely high level of service. The house reef is as good as anywhere in the world, it's like swimming in an aquarium with turtles and reef sharks a highlight. Each guest gets a bicycle on arrival and it's great fun to cycle around. The choice of food is staggering and of a very high standard. The Robinson Crusoe island trip where you spend the day on your own private island blew us away... We'd love to return one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review and for choosing Soneva Fushi to spend your honeymoon. It is certainly rewarding for my team and I to know that your stay with us was a wonderful experience. We are always committed to delivering the best service and unique stay experiences for all our guests and we are so happy that you enjoyed every bit of it.

We hope to see you here again in paradise and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Top notch resort from A to Z.

We stayed in crusoe villa, with pool, on sunrise side of island. Great accomodation, bags of space, both in and outside. Serviced twice daily with care and attention.

Our Mr Friday (Mujay) was excellent. He had a sixth sense, after a couple of days, for the needs of all of the family. He had a lovely manner, both with the adults and children. He is the Maldives national champion paper aeroplane maker.....he'll keep you entertained for hours.

One other member of staff worth a mention - Jasper the sommelier and recently crowned head of F&B. Understanding, enthusiastic, knowledgable and mindful of your budget - he seemed to be everywhere, all day. We were convinced the general manager had cloned him.

Food quality is quite simply excellent. The island is a food lovers eutopia.......completely flies in the face of the usual hotel/resort catering offering. General Service is five star, attentive, timely and most importantly done with a smile.....puts much European service to shame.

The island is not cheap but I genuinely left the resort feeling we had recieved value for money. Our family's holiday benchmark was raised....I am recalibrating budgets!

Thanks to the Soneva Fushi team....Family Hughes.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Scousenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Family Hughes,

It was lovely to have you at Soneva Fushi and thank you so much for your wonderful comments.
If we could clone Jasper, we certainly would! He is simply one of the best assets in our team. We are also very pleased to see you mentioning Mujay, your Friday. We have thanked both of them for their excellence service.

Our new Kid’s Club is currently being built and will be completed shortly so we look forward to seeing you back at Soneva Fushi very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

A lot of nice things can be said about Soneva Fushi. The island is beautiful, the villas are very nice indeed, the food is excellent, and the employees are genuinly friendly and helpful to name but a few. I recently returned from my third visit.

I do not think I will come back.

I value open space and privacy and I like to be treated as a valued guest.

The newbuilding activity on the island is very high. Open space is being replaced by private properties. Privacy in many of the villas is lost due to huge new two story buildings erected very close.

Prices have always been very high and is to be expected. Still, charging 66 USD per person attending a chocolate tasting in my opinion is taking greed too far. The same can be said for apptempting to charge USD 180 for a complimentary half bottle of champagne. It is sad that if you want to avoid being over charged you need to check your final bill carefully.

Greedy owners? Incompetent management? I hope paradise can be regained, the staff and guests deserve it.

Room Tip: Sunrise side of the Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hotel451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the encouraging comments about Soneva Fushi’s facilities and employees.

We are however a little concerned that your impression of Soneva Fushi and the construction of private residences have been tarnished. I would like to take this opportuntiy to explain what we are doing.

Soneva Fushi has been globally recognized for its peaceful tranquility. The island is one of the biggest in the Maldives with the least amount of villas. Soneva Fushi has just 65 villas giving our guests the most amount of undeveloped island space per person in the entire country. In fact, we are planning to even decrease the number of villas in the years ahead. As demand is higher than ever at the resort to stay, Soneva enthusiasts have been given the opportunity to purchase their own private villas. These are existing buildings that have been modified to the owners and resort owners specifications. After construction, our in house permacultrlists and horticulturalists landscape the gardens so that every villa is invisible to the next. The owners and management are extremely careful to integrate intelligent luxury with nature, a concept favored by all of our repeating and first time visiting guests.

We hope you decide to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kunfunadhoo
8.7 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#4 of 13 in Baa Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kihaad Maldives
Kihaad Maldives
#10 of 13 in Baa Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
12.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#5 of 13 in Baa Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
14.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soneva Fushi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soneva Fushi Resort

Property: Soneva Fushi Resort
Address: 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Kunfunadhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Soneva Fushi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Eva and Sonu Shivdasani built Soneva Fushi as well as their home on the deserted island of Kunfunadhoo in the Maldives in 1995 they had no idea that their intensely personal vision of a locally crafted villa and environmentally responsible lifestyle would form the basis of a successful collection of world-class hotels, resorts and spas. But that's exactly what happened. Soneva Fushi was the first 'castaway' resort in the Maldives, pioneering a trend for back-to-nature luxury holidays. It established a blueprint for a highly acclaimed international business, followed by spectacular Soneva Kiri on the unspoilt Thai island of Koh Kood in 2009. The success of the Soneva brand also paved the way for Six Senses Resorts and Spas with award-winning properties in Asia, the Middle East and Europe. Under Eva's and Sonu's direction the Six Senses brand gained a global following before being sold in 2012. Today the Sonevas have many imitators, but no equals. Each Soneva - and a yachting experience, Soneva in Aqua - impresses on a wide range of levels. Breathtaking 'remote but accessible' natural locations, effortlessly chic accommodation, incredible food, truly memorable activities, an inspiring ethos of sustainability and service that is uncannily intuitive. The resort that set the tone and the standards for every subsequent resort. A jewel of an island - large by Maldives standards - with perfect beaches, a vibrant reef encircling the island, a colony of nesting turtles and its very own world class observatory. Located in the Baa Atoll, Maldives' only UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, Soneva Fushi is blessed with extensive coral reefs and significant biodiversity including large concentrations of whale sharks, manta rays and marine turtles. The resort is perfect for romantic couple getaways, or family holidays as it provides unique experiences and activities for all, from diving and snorkelling with the marine biologist, to sandbank dinners and a children's den (playground). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soneva Fushi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soneva Fushi By Six Senses Hotel Kunfunadhoo
Soneva Fushi By 6 Senses
Soneva Fushi Hotel
Soneva Fushi Resort Maldives/Kunfunadhoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing