We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ten Inverness Way

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ten Inverness Way
Ranked #4 of 10 Inverness B&B and Inns
new hampshire
1 review
“a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

If you are looking for a cozy and comfortable place to stay and a chance to converse with others over breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese, then this is the place for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in Inverness while hiking, exploring the beauty of the north coast and seeing its wildlife. Ten Inverness Way is a peaceful B&B, the perfect compliment to the serenity of the area's natural beauty. Our hosts, Teri and Brett were delightful hosts, making us feel welcome and serving up a great breakfast. Their knowledge of the area was helpful, allowing us to make the most of our time there. Truly a wonderful place for nature lovers.

  • Liked — the comfort of the B&B
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank walker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
85
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2008

I did a lot of searching for a nice place in the Point Reyes area for a weekend getaway for our 1st anniversary. I wasn't sure what to expect, but our recent stay here was great.

Teri and Brett are serious hikers, and definitely gave some nice pointers on good trails. They have information on the tides if you want to see starfish, clams, etc. on the beach.

We stayed in the Sky Room. It's a little on the smaller side, but it didn't feel that way because of the skylights and large window on one wall that help make it feel larger. The room was very nice. They got some very heavy rain in the days before we came, and a couple of areas had leaks. This wasn't a problem, though, and they were getting them fixed as they came up.

The breakfast was really nice and filling. Teri did an excellent job with the cooking. They had some very delicious oatmeal raisin cookies for the taking, and they had tea available all day. Brett is a really funny guy and is always helpful and available for questions. We really felt at home and will definitely come back.

  • Liked — Teri and Brett - excellent hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank QADude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

The hosts Teri and Brett are warm and welcoming. They cook up a great
breakfast. They are very friendly, helpful, and cheerfully answer any
questions you may have. By the end of the weekend, we felt we were
leaving old friends.

The house is small so the number of guests is few so you have a chance
to meet them all during the wine and cheese happy hour or at
breakfast. All of the guests we met were pleasant and interesting.

The hot tub is a perfect 104 degrees and is tucked away in a private
shed romantically lit with candelabras.

Inverness is centrally located in Point Reyes and a great spot to
stage hikes and sample excellent restaurants.

If you're not quite what to expect when hiking in Point Reyes, please
see my travelogue at [--]
which contains pictures of the flora and fauna on the Estero Trail and
the Tomales Point Trail.

  • Liked — Location, friendly owners, interesting guests, hot hot tub, great breakfasts
  • Disliked — I'm still thinking about that...
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARoadLessTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

We wanted to visit the Point Reyes National Seashore to do a little hiking/sightseeing. We wanted to stay close....so decided to stay at a B&B. We had never stayed at a B&B before, so were a little nervous about it. We had nothing to fear--Teri & Brett were so nice, the room
was just perfect--there was wine and cheese in the late afternoon, an
exceptional breakfast, private hot tub and great free advice about where to hike! Brett steered us to just the perfect hike for the time that we had alloted. We saw deer, quail, lizards, and ended up on a deserted beach (Monday morning)....a beautiful time.

  • Liked — Friendly, Quiet & Homey
  • Disliked — We had to leave too soon.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimSKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2007

This B & B is charming, tho' rather modest, and hosted by a couple who made sure our experience was comfortable and without want. Our room was small, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was supplied with individual robes. Sharing the breakfast table with other guests was fun. We were served a veggie fritata with herbs and accessorized flowers from their garden. Inverness is a tiny town on Point of Reyes. The ocean is about 15 minutes drive away and unfortunately shrouded with fog while we were there.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — small room and not terribly private
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smallpebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCoastHiker, Owner/Innkeeper at Ten Inverness Way, responded to this review, July 30, 2007
What a terrific visit we had with these guests. We would like future guests to note that the entire California coast experiences fog in the summer; layered clothing is suggested. Our inn is a 15 minute drive from Pacific Coast beaches and a 2 minute walk from the shores of Tomales Bay. Because we are located in the Point Reyes National Seashore, there is no development on the coastline. Guests needing oceanview accommodations may want to stay in larger communities such as Bodega Bay (45 minutes north of the PRNS) or Stinson Beach (30 minutes south of the PRNS) where coastal development is permitted. Lastly, our Meadow Suite can be reserved for those guests needing spacious accommodations and a greater degree of privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

Our family of three stayed at Ten Inverness Way for two nights in April. It was our first trip to the area and we could not have had more knowledgeable or welcoming hosts than Teri and Brett. All their advice-- from paths for early morning runs, to hikes of varying lengths and difficulty to suit all energy levels, to which route to drive to our next destination -- was perfect. Breakfast was delicious and our room comfortable and spotless. We left feeling we'd liked to have stayed longer in this lovely spot. Best of all, Teri and Brett also donate part of each bill to a very worthy charity called "Room to Read" -- this makes the concept of "an inn for hikers and readers" an even more rewarding experience.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laflaneuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2007

My wife and I rang in the new year at this absolutely charming inn. The hosts, Teri and Bret, were very good to us. We never would have survived our 10 mile hikes without HER wonderful breakfasts and HIS expert trail advice. Thanks, guys! We'll be back.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank SAS718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
5.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
10.7 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
18.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.7 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.0 mi away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#5 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Inverness Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Inverness Way

Property: Ten Inverness Way
Address: 10 Inverness Way, Inverness, CA 94937
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman B&B, abundant garden, great room with stone fireplace, sunny library, gourmet breakfasts, picnic lunches and access to a diverse recreational area in the Point Reyes National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ten Inverness Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing