We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ten Inverness Way

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ten Inverness Way
Ranked #4 of 10 Inverness B&B and Inns
South Fork, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

There is a reason I have stayed at Ten Inverness Way six times. Every time I stay there, Teri has taken time to insure we have all the attention and information we need without being intrusive. She is very knowledgeable about the area. The property is well positioned to all the hikes in the area.

Cookies and wine in the evening. The breakfast frittata should not be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george60814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    16
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
87
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Ten Inverness Way and easily could have stayed several more. The B&B was in a perfectly beautiful location, quiet, but still close to food and attractions. Teri (the proprietor) was awesome and was the perfect hostess, helping us plan our visit to the area (suggesting great hikes, restaurants, book stores, etc.). The room was neat, clean, and VERY comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent each morning, not overly fancy like at some B&Bs, but with nice fresh touches each day such as freshly-picked blackberries (from the backyard!) for the pancakes one day, and local cheeses (which Point Reyes is famous for) on others. We had fresh home-baked cookies each afternoon, and wine and cheese in the evenings. The B&B is about an hour out of San Francisco, so it is perfect for a quick get-a-way where you actually feel like you’re getting away. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Walking distance to restaurants, market and a few shops. Very quite. Walking distance to the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Number Ten Inverness Way is a comfortable, country inn, and for me, the only place to stay at Point Reyes. Teri Mattson, the proprietor, treats guests as welcome members of the family and cooks up a hearty breakfast each morning. The congenial atmosphere in the great room encourages everyone's participation in the discussions of the day's adventures over wine, cheese, and cookies—on the house—in the late afternoon. She's also the best source for restaurant recommendations, hikes, walks on the beach, kayaking, and cycling.

Room Tip: All the rooms are handsomely decorated, but after several visits, we prefer number one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

After having spent a few nights at Ten Inverness Way, I can say with surety that this is the place for a Bay Area decompression. As a solo traveler I found Teri, the proprietor, very helpful and welcoming, and my room was cozy and comfortable, with verdant window views. The breakfasts were delicious and prepared with fresh ingredients, and with an entire library to peruse, the evening wine and cheese was a thoughtful companion to sunset reading. Close to Point Reyes, Tomales Point, and far away enough from it all to feel like a private island.

Room Tip: The Reader's Retreat, though the smallest of the rooms, is quite cozy, and is furnished with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We love Inverness and Pt Reyes but this was our first time at Ten Inverness Way. We will return. Not only were the rooms and grounds lovely, but Terri was welcoming and gracious. The breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed the company of fellow travelers. The coffee and cookies in the afternoon and, later, wine and cheese just added to the ambience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlene2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a midweek stay for three nights at Teri's Bed and Breakfast. We chose this B&B because it was one of the few that offered a hot breakfast in the morning. But, there was also tea and cookies in the afternoon and wine and cheese in the evening. Well we were not disappointed. Everything was great. The room was nice with a very comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious and different each morning. And the afternoon and evening fare was just as tasty. Teri is a very gracious host. We will be back.

As for the area, there are so many great hiking trails. This time, we hiked Bear Valley to Arch Rock, very pretty and not too hard (nine-miles round trip). Other times we hiked to Chimney Rock and the Lighthouse. Very windy, bring ear plugs or muffs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigKuehne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed only one night during a extended road trip. We had the room off the library. Huge b athroom, comfortable bed, quiet evening for a restful night after a long day. Wine and cheese awaited us. Teri provided alternatives to my dairy allergies. Great breakfast. Teri was very helpful with our baggage and helped us find a more expedient route for our next leg on the trip. Wished we could have stayed longer. A great find in a beautiful area. And Pt Reyes Station is a great place to get a meal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwrohwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
5.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
10.7 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
18.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
19.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
3.7 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Inverness Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Inverness Way

Property: Ten Inverness Way
Address: 10 Inverness Way, Inverness, CA 94937
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman B&B, abundant garden, great room with stone fireplace, sunny library, gourmet breakfasts, picnic lunches and access to a diverse recreational area in the Point Reyes National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ten Inverness Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing