We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, relaxing place to stay”
Review of Motel Inverness

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Inverness
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We were very sad to leave after our two nights at the Motel Inverness. It was so relaxing to sit out on the deck and watch the birds - we are not twitchers but you don't need to be to enjoy the wildlife and the views. Our room had it's own deck with a funky hammock and a table and chairs, but even if you are in the more basic lodge rooms, you can use the deck outside the lodge, or sit in the lodge in a rocking chair enjoying the complementary coffee and biscotti and soaking up the view. Our room was very nicely decorated and had an excellent bathroom. It had its own iPod docking station and there was free internet in the lodge and wifi in the rooms (not checked out - we don't take a computer on holiday!). The only minor downside was a little bit of road noise but not enough to keep you awake or ruin the atmosphere. We loved the place and would most certainly recommend it and the Point Reyes Peninsula. We ate twice at the Station House Cafe in Point Reyes Station just up the road which we would also recommend - very friendly staff and good simple food.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penders65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Motel Inverness
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

Beautiful location backing onto the Tomales Bay with an elevated walkway to a bird observation area. Friendly reception and very hospitable common area, with pool table, coffee facilities, fireplace, computer w internet access and free calls anywhere! We had two rooms - the two bedroom suite where our four children stayed was beautiful, with a large bath, kitchen facilities, and a lovely deck, while our one bedroom suite had a large kitchen, a small bathroom and a relatively small bedroom. Prices are fair for the beautiful and remote area, and they gave us one night free for our three night winter stay without our even asking. A great find: we've stayed at Manka's and Druid's before, and, even without the incentive of the lower rates, prefer the Motel's location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

If you are taking a trip to San Francisco, rent a car for a few days and visit the Point Reyes National Seashore. It is such a beautiful location with lots of great beaches, the elk preserve, a lighthouse, and walking trails. And while you're there, book a few nights at the Motel Inverness. I regret we only stayed one night, and we realized as soon as we got there we should have reserved more. The room was beautiful and clean, and the lodge that we had access to was so peaceful, and we had access to free Internet and phone as well. My husband and I loved getting up early in the morning to take photos of the wildlife just out the back door. If we ever find ourselves in the San Francisco area again, we'll make sure to stay at the Motel Inverness for a few nights.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ecco815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Like many people on here, I booked my room based largely on the TripAdvisor review. I was not disappointed. The property is affordable, comfortable and a cut beyond any other motel I've ever stayed at. The rooms are recently renovated, so they don't have that "cheap motel" feel. There is a main lodge with a fireplace and pool table, so you can leave your room and have a place to go. Plus they're on a wildlife saltwater marsh. It's quite pleasant to wake up in the morning and see the birds flying around the marsh. And it's completely undeveloped on 3 sides, so your marsh view is not encumbered by a parking lot or strip mall (as I had initially feared). Best of all, this motel is one of the few places in Point Reyes that doesn't have a 2-night minimum stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfmwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

What a terrific value for the money...my husband and I stayed for two nights in early October while exploring Point Reyes. The room was small, but everything was perfect. The main lodge has a lovely fireplace for guests to enjoy, a pool table, books, and a very welcoming feeling. We met a number of guests during our short stay and enjoyed our conversations. The woman at the motel provided us with superb information on where to go and what to do. The view from the deck was magical, the surrounding gardens were lovely, and I recommend it as a great place to stay while in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LJSMedfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Wonderful, super-clean and friendly place. My husband and I stayed here for 3 days while exploring the point reyes seashore. Staff is wonderful, and always gave us great "insider" advice on places to go in the area. No frills-don't expect luxury, but the place is nice, inexpensive and has everything you would need. The view off the back deck is enough reason to stay!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank kcurtisnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We booked our weekend here based solely on the reviews from previous Tripadvisor.com reviewers and the motel's webpage, and we were not disappointed.

The best part about this place is two-fold--the hostess and the lodge. She made us feel right at home, and even printed our boarding passes for the flight back for us, and gave us directions to the "local's" beach. The lodge is great--a fridge, fireplace, leather couches, amazing music--it's the perfect place to retire to for a glass (or three!) of wine, discussion with other guests, and pure relaxation viewing the sunset on the porch overlooking Tomales Bay.

I plan on making this Motel my regular abode whenever I return to the area!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LRWRower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
4.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
19.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,496 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
512 reviews
16.6 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
22.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Inverness

Address: 12718 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Inverness, CA 94937-9716
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience in Point Reyes National Seashore. Located on Tomales Bay and surrounded by wildlife preserves on all sides, our guests can experience the tranquility and peacefulness of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Inverness Hotel Inverness
Hotel Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing