We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel Inverness

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Inverness
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

This motel is clean and hospitable. The lodge area being open to guests at night is wonderful. They have coffee beans and a grinder for you to make fresh ground coffee either in the lodge or in your room. There is also a pool table, microwave, wine glasses, etc., for you to make yourself comfortable.

The views out the back of the property are a sunrise photographer's delight with mist covering the water and plenty of shore birds to add interest. It's worth the walk out to the blind along the planks.

The only preparatory advice I would offer guests is to be aware that the shower and bath sink are poorly designed. It was impossible to get the shower spray to hit your feet, or to easily wash your face in the bath sink.

Enjoy the clean, restful atmosphere and especially speak with the receptionist for local recommendations.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank m44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    46
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
94
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

I just spent 2 nights here with 3 friends. We had the Heart's Desire Suite, which has 2 bedrooms, a small sitting area, a kitchenette, and a private balcony. It also has a huge bathroom.

This is a tiny place with only 7 units. There's a large comfy lodge with fireplace, pool table, internet, etc. The staff members go home at night, but your room key lets you into the lodge 24/7.

The motel is located right on Tomales Bay, adjacent to a bird sanctuary. You can sit out on the back deck and watch and listen to all the birds. A few tiny towns with good restaurants are a short drive away, as is Pt. Reyes National Seashore and any number of outdoor recreational opportunities.

The staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful. They gave us restaurant recommendations and let us stay a little past check-out time. And, when we complained that the heater in one of the bedrooms made periodic loud clanking noises at night, they apologized profusely. They couldn't get anyone to fix it because it was a weekend, but they let 2 of us stay in a different room the next night (for free) and gave us upgrade coupons for our next stay. The free room was tiny but attractive and comortable.

All the rooms are attractively decorated and have flat screen tvs. They don't have phones, though, and most cell phones don't get a signal here (AT &T does seem to work). There is a payphone outside the lodge, and a landline inside the lodge, but nobody is there to answer it at night.

The only complaint I have about the Motel Inverness is the noise. The walls are really thin--we could clearly hear the man next door snoring all night. The road isn't busy but is closeby, so there's some occasional road noise as well.

In general, though, I found this place to be a peaceful, beautiful, friendly motel in a great location. It has a lot of the ambience of a B&B, but with more privacy. I will definitely return for another visit.

  • Liked — Location and friedly staff
  • Disliked — Thin room walls
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dephal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierra foothills, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2007

We spent two nights at the Motel Inverness and would recommend it to friends. We were upgraded to the "Room with a View" by lucky happenstance and felt super stoked--the rooms themselves, while pleasant, are small and not particularly fabulous; you can tell it's a carefully upgraded motor lodge. However, the Room with a View has a small deck and looks onto a sweet flower garden and the nearby Tomales Bay/Estuary--very relaxing and nice. Don't know if the stay would have been as nice in a Lodge room.

Motel is very clean, comfortable beds. Motel is trying to be "eco-conscious"

Main room is comfy, stocked with coffee, books, maps, pool table, games etc. Small fridge in main room.

Front desk girl (never got her name) was super cute and friendly--she even called her boyfriend to help us find a good tide pooling spot! She was great--very helpful and genuine.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank sierrafoothills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

We absolutely loved this place!! Point Reyes National Seashore is phenomenal!!!! Motel Inverness is very cozy and welcoming. The marsh that spans the back yard is breathtaking. We were only here for one night but we plan on coming back and staying!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 4jamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
264 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

Small independent motel in a beautiful setting that is at the entrance to Point Reyes. This is a simple motel but it is clean with nice rooms at a reasonable price. WiFi available in the rooms (a surprising gem). Great staff and they provide a key to the common area at night if you need ice or want to play pool.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting
  • Disliked — No continental breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

We were looking for a place to stay in Point Reyes..very last minute and we stumbled upon this awesome place! Very comfortable and clean, and the rooms smelled like cedar. I felt so relaxed here, even though the room we stayed in was a little small, but we didn't really need much space. Plus, there is a little lodge to sit and relax in with a pool table, computer, comfortable sofas and chairs, and a fireplace. As for the room we stayed in, I cannot emphasize CLEAN enough. Everything felt new, from the hardwood flooring to the bed to the pillows. I highly recommend it, if I were going back to Point Reyes, I'd definitely stay there again!! LOVED IT!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort, great amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mimibel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2007

The Motel Inverness, despite its ordinary name, is not your typical motel. My son and I stayed in the Heart's Desire suite, which has two good sized bedrooms, each of which has a real door, so we had complete privacy. The rooms were pleasant and immaculately clean. My room looked out upon theTomales Bay bird sanctuary, where I saw an egret, a great blue heron, and many other birds. We had our own private deck.

The lodge has a fireplace, pool table, hot drinks, and free computer with Internet access. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. There is also a pretty little garden with a couple of fountains.

Our suite had a kitchenette, but it was too tiny to do any real cooking other than breakfast, or heating up pre-prepared food in the microwave.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank music33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
4.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
11.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
19.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
22.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
16.5 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Inverness

Property: Motel Inverness
Address: 12718 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Inverness, CA 94937-9716
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on Tomales Bay in Point Reyes National Seashore. The natural setting is peaceful and relaxing. Each of our rooms is unique and has it's own personality. The main Lodge is available for our guests 24 hours a day. The lodge is anchored by a Yosemite stone fireplace, pool table, 48" TV, and Kitchenette which make this the perfect place to gather and enjoy the view. The adjoining deck is directly on the bay overlooking the rolling hills and a great place for bird watching. Nature awaits at this Boutique Motel in Inverness, CA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Inverness Hotel Inverness
Hotel Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing