We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff made the experience feel like you were at home, we loved it.”
Review of Motel Inverness

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Inverness
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here while we explored Point Reyes. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The back deck has a beautiful view. My wife and I enjoyed the large common room where we played pool and cards at night. One of the other guests built a fire that we all enjoyed. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dladrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Motel Inverness
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 163 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a motel, not a b&b, or a boutique hotel or whatever. This is small motel right on the Inverness Marsh (Tomales Bay). Most rooms are standard motel rooms opening onto the parking lot. The view from these rooms is through the bathroom window.Some rooms have been converted to "view rooms" by adding a window, door, deck on the bay side. My small room was just great for my one week stay - everything clean and modern, just right. If you have the bucks, the view rooms are even better. There is also a large deck looking out over the bay for guests to use. It even has a grill. It has a boardwalk to a bird blind out on the water. The large main room has a fireplace and a decent pool table and a fridge. The ladies that are at the desk are very kind and helpful. I saw many many birds ranging from hummingbirds to swans to ospreys. Dining options abound in Point Reyes Station about three miles away. I ate a lot of great oysters at the Station House Cafe. Motel Inverness is a highly recommended affordable place to stay in this area. I plan to return next summer when my kids return to Point Reyes National Seashore summer camp. (highly recommended). All this was a big change for us from Maui (There are animals!). I loved the area around the motel as well as the hikes into the seashore. The PRNS entrance is about a mile away.

Room Tip: view rooms are great but he regular rooms are just fine.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wemWailuku_Maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A 1950's remodeled 7 room motel. A great bargain at the coast of California. It's on Tamales Bay and has a great view from the motel. Small rooms at the lodge building but if you get one with a deck you'll love sitting out at all times of the day and watching the birds and the bay. They don't serve breakfast but they have a small kitchen in the lobby area where you can put food in frig and they have biscotti's for your free coffee. The lobby area is like a lodge. Big room with pool table and huge fireplace with wood in it so it's ready to be lit for a cozy feeling when it's cold outside. Outside the lodge feeling lobby is big deck to sit and have wine or BBQ on their grill. We watched others cook local salmon. Reserve early as there are only 7 rooms and they fill up most every day. We would definetly go there again and will soon.
Marilyn

Room Tip: I think the best room with deck that's a bargain is room 105. It has a deck. Check the rooms o...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marjack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We came to California for 3 weeks in July, and stayed in 8 different places, and Motel Inverness was our favorite. This is a gorgeous getaway to reconnect with nature, and have your breath taken away, day after day. Shannon and Lynn helped us with everything from which trails to hike, to which restaurant to go to, and then made the reservations for us. All the tips were perfect, we couldn't have asked for more. We will be back, only next time it will be for longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This motel is in a fantastic location overlooking the lagoon, with a boardwalk across the marsh, a pleasant outside seating area and lots of bird feeders. Wildlife abounds - California Quail, Anna's Hummingbirds, Grey Fox, woodpeckers etc. The rooms are well turned out including the shared lounge area and there's lots of information about local wildlife. The manager is friendly and ethusiastic about the local area and its wildlife. You can do modest self-catering using the micro wave, fridge and sink in the lounge area (useful as eating out opportunities locally are limited and expensive).

I would throughly recommend this location especially for those interested in wildlife (even if like us, you have to splash out for a separate room for the children). My only query is why it doesn't call itself something more inspiring which captures its charm!?

Room Tip: I think some rooms have a view of the lagoon but you pay more for these.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A lovely spot; great manager - knowledgeable and helpful; great porch and common room; delightful to spend time outside and watch quail and hummers. Give it a try !
The proximity to Point Reyes Station allows access to a couple of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregAndree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I agreed after our recent vacation driving up the coast of California that Point Reyes was the place we would most like to return to; however, we also agreed that we would not be returning to the Motel Inverness. There are real positives to this motel, as other reviewers have mentioned: the lodge is great and the setting is beautiful. We enjoyed watching the birds and raccoons from the lodge, playing a few games of pool, having dinner in front of the fire, and getting coffee and tea each morning to have with pastries we picked up at nearby bakeries. The setting is magical, right on the edge of Tomales Bay, and we loved walking out to the end of the dock/boardwalk and drinking in the scenery. But the negatives outweighed the positives for us: the walls of our room seemed paper-thin; we could hear everything said by our neighbors on either side of us and they were not especially noisy. And although both innkeepers we met were pleasant, there was no one on duty during the morning or evening to answer questions before we set out for the day or after we returned.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelgirl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
4.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
19.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,496 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
511 reviews
16.6 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
22.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Inverness

Address: 12718 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Inverness, CA 94937-9716
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience in Point Reyes National Seashore. Located on Tomales Bay and surrounded by wildlife preserves on all sides, our guests can experience the tranquility and peacefulness of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Inverness Hotel Inverness
Hotel Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing