We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious spot for birders!”
Review of Motel Inverness

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Inverness
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Hays, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glorious spot for birders!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A lovely spot; great manager - knowledgeable and helpful; great porch and common room; delightful to spend time outside and watch quail and hummers. Give it a try !
The proximity to Point Reyes Station allows access to a couple of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregAndree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    47
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
99
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I agreed after our recent vacation driving up the coast of California that Point Reyes was the place we would most like to return to; however, we also agreed that we would not be returning to the Motel Inverness. There are real positives to this motel, as other reviewers have mentioned: the lodge is great and the setting is beautiful. We enjoyed watching the birds and raccoons from the lodge, playing a few games of pool, having dinner in front of the fire, and getting coffee and tea each morning to have with pastries we picked up at nearby bakeries. The setting is magical, right on the edge of Tomales Bay, and we loved walking out to the end of the dock/boardwalk and drinking in the scenery. But the negatives outweighed the positives for us: the walls of our room seemed paper-thin; we could hear everything said by our neighbors on either side of us and they were not especially noisy. And although both innkeepers we met were pleasant, there was no one on duty during the morning or evening to answer questions before we set out for the day or after we returned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelgirl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful experience here. Shannon was so helpful. Rooms were awesomely clean! I will definitely come back when I get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waianae, HI
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

It was very peaceful and relaxing to be either in the common area with the big fireplace, eating our al fresco dinner, or on the deck, watching birds and enjoying the sun and the view. This is a lovely little place, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Not much to do w/out a car, but this is in a lovely area of California. Bedroom was clean and bed comfortable. Little small.

Room Tip: We got the Lodge room (my mistake) - I didn't like that the only view of water was through bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our choice to stay at Motel Inverness was the best of our trip. We were greeted by Shannon, who could not have been more friendly or accommodating. Since the hotel was not fully booked, she offered to upgrade us to the Great Egret Suite if we wished. Having booked the California Quail room, she allowed us to go see both rooms before choosing. We felt very lucky. We ended up choosing the Great Egret Suite because it was larger and had a full kitchen.

Both rooms were in great condition with newer flooring and bedding. Very bright and clean. Our queen sized bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom, although smallish, had everything we needed. The kitchen was fully equipped with lots of details. Wine glasses, wine opener, toaster, microwave, full size stove, and fridge, dish soap, sponges, paper towels, I was really impressed. The best part was the private deck of course. Great to sit out in the morning, and if you get up early enough you might have the treat of seeing the egrets and blue heron that we saw right in a small pond on the edge of the property.

The views were so peaceful and there were song birds, hummingbirds, and quail all around.

The common area was really nice. With really good coffee, biscotti, pool table, tv, fireplace, computer with internet, binoculars, and all the reference books for the local area and wildlife. There was a small fridge. There were also an array of utensils and dish ware, wine glasses, and a charcoal grill outdoors on the deck for guests to use. There were big comfy leather couches. Various easy chairs and rocking chairs looked out over the marsh.

Shannon was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We did some great hikes in Point Reyes National Seashore. And this was a great jumping off point for that.

I feel as though they have tried to think of everything here that a guest would want. We would stay here again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinshoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Ask for a room with a view à 120$. Great place with very limited service, but excellent clean rooms with all comfort. 1 remark: it takesloooonnng for warm water to show up in the shower. What a pitty (in a nature park) to have to waste so much cold water. Nice living room with binoculars, books, a blackboard with recent bird observations, etc. The view is splendid, loking straight east, beautifl sunrises over the San Andreas Fault.

Room Tip: If available you get the view at a price for non view rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at Motel Inverness for one night in early April, and it was an excellent experience. Though it's on the main road, Sir Francis Drake Blvd., it seemed quiet in the sleeping and back areas. Shannon, the General Manager, was terrifically helpful. It's not a B&B, but the "suites" have kitchens of one size or another. Our Heart's Desire suite had two bedrooms, wonderful views out the back door, great deck, lots of birds, galley kitchen. The Great Egret suite also seemed attractive for the price. The commons area is something like a small Ahwanee Hotel, with big fireplace and pool table and deck. They also have standard "lodge" rooms at lower prices, some have views.

Room Tip: Website does a decent job of displaying and describing the rooms. At least the suites have TV's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArnieDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
4.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
19.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,440 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
505 reviews
22.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
16.5 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Inverness

Property: Motel Inverness
Address: 12718 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Inverness, CA 94937-9716
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience in Point Reyes National Seashore. Located on Tomales Bay and surrounded by wildlife preserves on all sides, our guests can experience the tranquility and peacefulness of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Inverness Hotel Inverness
Hotel Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing