We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home!”
Review of Motel Inverness

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Inverness
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have been visiting the Point Reyes area for over 40 years. This time, we were looking for a little place to splurge on--to celebrate our anniversary. We found what we were looking for at the Motel Inverness.

As soon as you walk into the lobby, you know you've arrived someplace special. Best of all, you can use your room key to enter the lobby area after hours. Feels like a large, comfortable living room space with a gorgeous fire place, TV, pool table, Internet accesss. The view from the lobby over-looks Tomales Bay and all of the wildlife therein. There kitchenette includes a sink, microwave, small fridge, toaster oven in the lobby, too. All the fixings for the perfect cup of coffee, tea or hot chocolate. Don't pass up those Biscotti's!

Our room, Heart's Desire, exceeded our best expectations. It was spacious, clean and elegant. On the day we arrived, we originally had plans to drive out to the lighthouse, but once we sat outside on our private patio, our plans quickly changed. The view was simply stunning! We marveled over the every day wonders of nature from the sanctity of our chairs. The statue-like poses of egrits. A shy family of California Quail darting back and forth across the property. An osprey circling over-head. We watched the tide come in and out. The wooden walk out to the edge of the water beckoned us to explore there. It was magical!

Though the kitchenette in this room is not ideally outfitted for a large meal, we did manage to boil pasta and heat up sauce for dinner one night. We were also able to prepare scrambled eggs and sausage on the small stove top. We toasted bagels in the toaster oven another morning. It was enough for our needs.

For our last night we used the BBQ for an oyster feast on the deck just outside the lobby. Glass of wine, salad, sour dough bread...then s'mores for dessert. Heaven!

If you plan to come here, bring your friendly hat because the resident manager, Shannon, will be ready to make you feel right at home. She let us into our room even though we arrived early. She made us a pot of coffee in the lobby. She even started a fire on our behalf before she closed up for the night. She entertained us with her friendly conversation. Oh...and did I mention she's well educated on the local flora and fauna?!

Our only complaint is that we must wait another year before we return!

Room Tip: Bring your favorite person, beverage and a camera/binoculars out to the viewing hideout at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hikers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

Motel Inverness is perfect for birders or anyone who loves nature. It is a small place (8 rooms) that you can tell has had a lot of TLC over the years. The rooms are being updated with charming touches (see photos) and even the gardens are well-tended.
Staff are very welcoming and full of good information about the area. The website also has helpful links and photos of the different types of rooms. Some might find the rooms to be on the small size; many have decks and skylights that extend the space. There is some minor road noise.
One of the things that makes Motel Inverness unique is the large living room open to all guests. There are huge picture windows looking out to feeders, hummingbird stations, and the marsh. California Quail are in abundance some times of the year. There are binoculars and bird books to borrow, including for hikes. Comfortable chairs, a pool table, and hot drinks are a few of the things available in this "great room."
Peaceful is the word that I would use to describe the setting on Tomales Bay. The property has a board walk that goes out to a sheltered sitting area. Driving up from the city after a transcontinental flight, this was the first place that we "landed" and I will never forget it.
We stayed 2 nights so that we could explore the area, including the Tule Elk preserve, highly recommended. The Olema Farmhouse Restaurant, which is just down the road, had fresh, imaginative food and drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This little motel more than lives up to its website promises! It was an unexpected delight and didn't really feel like a motel, more like a guest house, with guest access to the main lodge room (where you check in, but didn't feel like a motel lobby at all), with comfortable couches facing a big, working fireplace, a pool table, all the fixings for a good cup of tea or coffee, computer access, and huge windows overlooking a really nice deck leading to a boardwalk into the beautiful marsh and wetlands area in back. Even better, positioned in front of those big windows were nice chairs and binoculars for comfortable wildlife viewing! (plenty of that, too, with Anna's hummingbirds, California quail, chestnut-backed chickadees, and much more coming to the feeders around the deck.)
If you didn't want to spend time on their main deck or in the public spaces, our rooms had their own personal little decks where we could relax by ourselves with the same great view. They are renovating all the rooms, and ours had skylights, and really beautiful bathrooms with slate showers, heated towel holders, and lovely vessel sinks--not at all what you would picture in the usual motel bathroom! There aren't many rooms, either (I think only 8), which made it feel more personal and not institutional.
Perhaps best of all, the manager with whom we interacted was a delight! Shannon was very friendly, knowledgeable about the area, had good recommendations, and was a lot of fun to talk to.
Also had a great location--near Pt. Reyes Station with lots of shops and restaurants, and on the road to Pt. Reyes lighthouse and nearby beaches (great spot to spend a day).

Room Tip: One of our rooms had a kitchenette with all the necessary utensils. Nice if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pseudonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place is too good to ever pass up. The rooms are small, but lovely and very adequate.
We had sliding doors and a deck and you could watch the wildlife and birds from there or
even take a game warden trail out to a duck blind. They also have a huge multi-purpose room that you have a key too, that you can use anytime with use of anything in the room.
The receptionist at the desk was such a nice and knowledgable person. Our room had a waterfall type of faucet in the sink, which intrigued us. All drawback to this place is that most of the parking lot is gravel. Nice grounds though!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandmaGoldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Being a nature lover, I was keen to explore Point Reyes on my recent trip to California. I looked at a number of different hotels in the area, but settled on the Motel Inverness based on the excellent reviews and the fact that it seemed to be set up to cater to bird lovers.

Upon arrival, my friend and I were pleasantly surprised to find that the Motel Inverness was exactly what it was billed as and more. The setting is spectacular-I loved being able to walk out the door with a pair of binoculars and watch egrets stalking their food in the shallows. The main lodge was lovely and bright and filled with comfortable sofas and armchairs, perfect for nestling up with a good book. There is also an area where you can make complimentary tea, coffee or hot chocolate and munch on some delicious anise biscotti. Should the mood strike you as it did us, there is also a pool table just begging to be played on.

We stayed in one of the Lodge rooms, which was very reasonably priced. The room was quite small but clean and well appointed, with two twin beds. Our luggage was a bit of a tight fit-definitely not much room to spare, but overall not a big deal. A small skylight let in loads of light and was perfect for watching the stars at night. The bathroom offers the best view of any hotel I have stayed in...looking onto Tomales Bay. Our only complaint was that the walls are very thin and we could hear the gentleman in the room next to us coughing in the middle of the night. But if you are not a light sleeper, this should not be a problem.

The motel staff are very friendly and helpful and offered suggestions about where to hike and get some great views of Point Reyes. Lynne and Sharon also suggested some good local restaurants for dinner and called to make reservations for us. One we particularly liked was the Station House Cafe, which makes a fabulous breakfast!

We both felt like our time at the Motel Inverness was too short and would definitely return again. This motel was a lovely place to stay and makes an excellent base to explore Point Reyes National Seashore.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

On a recent trip to Tomales Bay, our friends got to stay at the Inverness Motel at our suggestion. We had to settle for another place up the road since we brought our dog along, and....we were JEALOUS!!!!

We have stayed at the Inverness Motel before (without our dog), and the place is fabulous...especially the Lodge Room and the patio out in back of the property overlooking Tomales Bay. If this is a "motel", I wish all motels were like the Inverness Motel.

Wish List: Make a few rooms "dog friendly", and we'll be back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very relaxing! Very nice staff. Hot tub would have been nice...

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelsnob_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
4.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
11.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
91 reviews
15.0 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 9 in Petaluma
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,650 reviews
15.9 mi away
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma
17.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Inverness

Address: 12718 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Inverness, CA 94937-9716
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience in Point Reyes National Seashore. Located on Tomales Bay and surrounded by wildlife preserves on all sides, our guests can experience the tranquility and peacefulness of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Inverness Hotel Inverness
Hotel Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing