We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euro-style family-friendly rooms in a magnificent area.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We spent 4 nights at the Inverness Valley Inn and wished we had time to stay longer. The rooms are extremely well-designed and clean, with comfortable beds, nice kitchen, a table inside and one outside on the deck. Especially appreciated the fresh linens and comforters, skylight, gas fireplace, and the best- no dusty fake flowers or potpourri anywhere! Also found the free wireless internet useful, as was the clock radio/ipod player.

We are outdoor people so were delighted to see and observe an osprey raising young in a high nest on the property, numerous other birds, a beautiful creek bordered with wild blackberries (we were encouraged by the generous owners to pick them for our breakfast), deer in the evenings, shooting stars from the hot tub...

Great hiking and sightseeing at Pt. Reyes National Seashore, kayaking on Tomales Bay and good biking as well. Also enjoyed food in the area- produce from farm stands, local wine and cheese, some good restaurants. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ephemera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 216 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2006

First, let me say this Inn is under new ownership and it definitely shows. No more bad reviews for this place. They were extremely hospital, cottages were immaculate, and they were a wealth of information as to what to do and where to go. I travel a lot and I can tell you we will be going back here quite often. In addition to being one of the few places that is pet friendly it is located in a secluded quiet area and offers so many extras you don't need to leave the Inn for something to do.

As for pet friendly; they have special beds for your pets, treats, and areas for your pet to excercise.

The cottages themselves have a great layout. You have a little outdoor patio with barbeque. Inside, there was a full kitchen with all your necesseties including spices for cooking. There is a bedroom downstairs and there was an upstairs loft with two beds and a tv/vcr combo Which considering we were traveling with children gave my husband and I some alone time at night.

In addition to being in a secluded area with well manicured large lawn area, they have picnic tables set up and hammocks in the trees. If you want something physical to do, they have hiking trails, tennis courts, horseshoe pits, and a basketball hoop. In addition, they have a swimming pool and hot tub. And if you want to do something in your room they have a lending library in the office of books, videos, and lots of board games.

We truly felt this place was a dream come true for us. Give them a try and I know you will love it too.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KimDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

For my birthday in June, I was treated to a weekend away and a wonderful stay at the Inverness Valley Inn. First and foremost, we were impressed with the friendly staff that went out of their way to help us locate great places to eat, hikes to take, and stores open late into the evening. If we had a need or a question, they were there to help. We throroughly enjoyed the peaceful surroundings of the property and it all appeared to be well-maintained and in keeping with the rustic setting of the Inverness region. The room and bathroom were clean and it was nice to sit out on our own patio area watching and listening to all the birds in the trees. We would highly recommend the Inverness Valley Inn for anyone looking for a peaceful escape.

1  Thank travelover2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2006

My husband and I had put in 6 months of 24/7 work without a single holiday, and had really been looking forward to our one chance to get away for an overnight to the beautiful Pt. Reyes area which is one of our favorite places and near enough for us to drive to in an afternoon. We were really looking forward to staying at the Inverness Valley Inn, because of the kitchens offered with the dwellings. Being vegans, we need to be able to cook pretty much anywhere we go, so this was a very important factor for us.

I'll begin by saying that the grounds and laid-back atmosphere of the Inverness Valley Inn were truly to our taste. No silly B&B making you feel foolish for not wanting their complimentary glass of wine and cheese on crackers. Rather, this inn looks like a place families might have gone in the 60's to relax and enjoy being in a woodsy place. Unfortunately, my positive comments end there.

We checked into our dwelling and then went off to drive out to the coast. What we failed to notice until we came back to the Inn was that there were about 40 flies up in the skylight. As the evening progressed, the flies all came down out of the skylight and began dying all over the surfaces of the dwelling ----on the bed, the tables, in the sinks, toilet, on the carpet, everywhere. I was pretty disgusted, but we were so hungry at this point, we decided to make dinner. Unfortunately, we failed to realize that if we didn't cover each item as we cooked it, the flies would also land in the dishes. Flies in the spaghetti, the salad...you get the picture. So, we ended up throwing out our whole dinner and having to start all over again from scratch, frantically covering each cooked item with a sheet of tin foil to prevent the flies from falling into it. We also had to cover our tea with paper towels for the same reason. The sad, buzzing drone of the dead flies continued as they bounced off the lamps, and off of us, scooting around on their backsides in their death throes.

In addition to the flies, once we shut the door of the dwelling, I noticed a really horrible smell...a sickly, chemical smell. Was it fly poison? Or maybe the gas fireplace? It was awful. I couldn't get to sleep because of the smell and that was with the windows open. The smell seemed to lodge itself in my sinuses and it took at least 2 days for it to go away.

The next morning, we staggered out of bed, unrested and left a note for the innkeeper under their 'gratuities welcome' sign, regarding the flies. The note was surrounded by flies which had died on the night stand. I hoped they would get the point.

I don't know if the flies had been poisoned, or if the dwelling had been shut up for a long period of time with the flies trapped inside until they starved to death. What I do know is that the innkeeper cannot have properly inspected the lodging before giving it to us.

When we got home, we took very hot showers and washed every item of clothing that we had taken with us, twice! I was desperate to get rid of the feeling of that place. The sad thing is, my husband and I are lucky if we get to stay someplace once every couple of years, due to our income. This was our one chance to enjoy ourselves, and it seems a shame to me that we wasted the only money we had on staying at a place that wasn't just a little weird....it was revolting. It's also a real shame that the place isn't in better hands, because the facility is very nice. Oddly enough, we're not looking for 5 star accomodations, and we live pretty close to nature in our daily life. But having flies in your food is closer to nature than I care to be.

Friends have told me that we should have asked for our money back, but frankly, I was so keen to just get out of that place to try to get the stench out of my nose that we hightailed it out of their as soon as we could. I see from the other reviews that people are having all kinds of bad experiences at the Inverness Valley Inn. All in all, we would definitely never stay there again and would not recommend it to anybody, unless it is taken under new management with more experience in providing a good retreat destination for visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Rocio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank slartibartfass2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
17.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,508 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
514 reviews
24.6 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
14.8 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore

Address: 13275 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, PO Box 429, Inverness, CA 94937-9706 (Formerly Inverness Valley Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Inverness Valley Hotel Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing