We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, not so bad”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aptos, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not great, not so bad”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have stayed at this inn several times. It needs work. The innkeepers are wonderful, the animals delightful and the open space great. But the rooms are not well kept. Broken lampshades, rugs, etc. In the summer, we stayed there and the pool was really dirty, the hot tub needed cleaning too. If you can, get a room away from parking. Cars come in at night and the exhaust will affect you as well as the noise. One wonderful advantage is that you can buy some food and cook it. Although I had to wash the dishes, silverware, pots and pans before I used them. Heat is an issue.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the parking area if possible. Ask for a quiet room but since the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    56
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
68
91
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Wonderfully relaxing property! We stayed in a two bedroom suite that had a little kichenette. Everything was well appointed, clean, and warm. This was our first time in the area with our two boys (young teens) and both Alden and Leslie were very helpful and had both suggestions and ideas for every question we asked. The property is quite large and pleasant to walk. There is plenty of privacy available. We will definately return as we only got to do a quarter of the things we wanted and we will definately stay at the Inverness Valley Inn again. See y'all in about a year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We've stayed at the Valley Inn many times. The rooms are in good condition and are clean. They have a reasonably priced 2-room suite that is perfect for my wife and and and our two sons. The rooms have a gas fireplace that provides heat for the room - very atmospheric! Owners have been nice and accommodating to us on numerous occasions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our room was dank to start. The carpet had two tears. We had to help the very delightful front office worker find a throw rug to cover them, a replacement light for the bathroom and we also tried to find a room where the wooden blinds worked. Not available. Blinds are a mess. The only heat is the gas stove with no fan so the bathroom does not have heat and the rest of the room takes about an hour to heat. We used the hair dryer to heat the bathroom. The sink in the bathroom has black grout around the back. The dishes provided were washed by the people in the room before you, so can you count on that they heated the water to disinfect them? Walls are thin so the folks next to us woke us up in the morning and put us to sleep at night. The walkway to the room was full of pot holes so buyer be ware. Otherwise the room is large and has a kitchenette. The bed is firm. And blah, blah, blah about the location per other reviews.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RetiredBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My wife and I have been coming to the Inverness Valley Inn for over ten years. We have been here for one or two nights on many occasions, and one year we spent a whole weeks vacation here (1 hour and 15 minutes from our house!! Still one of our favorite vacations ever) It's so close to the whole Bay Area, but you feel like you're off in a far away land. The rooms are large, very comfortable, with kitchen facilities, bbq's, and very accomodating hosts. They provide everything you need or want, and then leave you alone. The grounds are spacious, with large trees and open areas. To say that a stay at the Inverness Valley Inn is peaceful, would be an understatement.
The Inn is marvelous, but the location is the magic. This Inn is at the very entrance to the incredible Point Reyes National Seashore. It's situated right by the gorgeous Tomales Bay as well, which is a photographers paradise. Actually, the whole area is a photo paradise.
I'm amazed by how many people do not know that we have a national treasure right here at our doorstep. Spectacular scenery abounds, incredible hikes ranging from very easy to quite strenuous, whale watching from the great lighthouse, history galore at the sight first viewed by Europeans as Drake hauled out on the beach at what is now know as Drakes Bay, and on and on, and on.
And the food...Point Reyes is home to such local treasures as the Cowgirl Creamery (foodies heaven), Bovine Bakery (sticky buns and the best sesame crusted bread anywhere!!!!!), Tomales Bay oysters, Fresh Dungeness crab in season, and a bounty of fresh, local organic produce. And there are several very good restaurants as well. This alone is worth the trip.
So, do yourself a favor, and book a night or two at the Inverness Valley Inn...you'll be back, I promise you.

Room Tip: There are several configurations for the rooms...most are located in 4-plexes. Some get morning sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djoseph51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotchkiss, CO
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 44 years ago and had wonderful memories of our stay. We had forgotten a few details but found that the Inn is better than ever. The cabins had been refurbished and the pool and spa had been added. The owners were very hospitable and helpful and we would highly recommend this beautiful place.

Room Tip: Get something away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

A lovely place to stay. We were only able to stay one night on our round trip in the U.S. but would like to stay again. The only thing that was lacking was a place near by or on-sight were you could buy fresh sandwiches etc.

Quaint, relaxing and with a beautiful country charm. Fireplace inside, animals outside, just a perfect romantic place. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarmersDoughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
17.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,373 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
496 reviews
24.6 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ten Inverness Way
Ten Inverness Way
#3 of 10 in Inverness
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore

Property: Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore
Address: 13275 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, PO Box 429, Inverness, CA 94937-9706 (Formerly Inverness Valley Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Inverness Valley Hotel Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing