We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELIGHTFUL”
Review of Saltwater

Saltwater
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Saltwater is a neighborhood oyster bar, restaurant and wine shop that is rooted in its respect for sustainably managed farmlands, shellfish producing water bottoms and folks that are engaged in the thoughtful gathering of food.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“DELIGHTFUL”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm a foodie and love it when I find a place where Chef is creative. The staff interacts with you as though you are a regular. Try the soup ... yummy

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank shinazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    53
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,651 reviews
773 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 971 helpful votes
“An absolutely delightful spot”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stumbled across Saltwater while en route to Point Reyes National Seashore. It is located in the small hamlet of Inverness just across the road from Tomales Bay (which happens to sit right on top of the San Andreas fault line).

It is a small place but is bright and airy thanks to the large windows, liberal use of white paint and a high, peaked ceiling. We stopped by for lunch on a Sunday so we ordered off the brunch menu. There were sufficient selections to satisfy any taste. Our group had the hash with poached egg, stuffed French toast and the grilled cheese. The portions were modest but sufficient for our appetites (I think too many people are getting used to the obscene portions served by many of the chains), wonderfully prepared and most satisfying. We all agreed it was one of the best lunches we had during our five day stay in the San Francisco area (and we ate very well!).

We loved the fresh bread that was served beforehand and the water which was served with sliced lemon and spearmint. The restaurant had a real local feel as many of the patrons knew each other and the staff. Altogether it was a delightful experience and comes highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good soup, not-so-good pizza”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This relatively new restaurant came highly recommended but proved a bit of a disappointment. One of us had soup, which was quite good but a rather modest portion, while the other had pizza, which arrived slightly burned, and, in contradictory fashion, almost cold. Obviously, it had been sitting awhile. (The restaurant was crowded even on a February week night, and the server was moving as fast as she could, but in our case not fast enough.) The restaurant's menu was limited but the wine list seemed complete. All of this said, it struck us as a great oyster bar sort of place. Unfortunately, we don't eat oysters.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarperE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Eight of us went to Saltwater President's Day weekend & despite our reservations, we had to wait for almost an hour and then service was slow. The food was very good, but the portions were extremely small for the amount of money that they charged. We have been to many high-end restaurants and these were the smallest portions for $27 entrees that we have ever seen. The apple cobbler (their only dessert) was cut up apples with topping on them for $7. Our waitress was very good, but it seemed like there was a problem in the kitchen because one person was served the first course & there was a long wait before anyone else received their first course. It was crowded--we had people right behind us waiting to get in and very noisy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc c, Owner at Saltwater, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are saddened to learn that your recent visit with us was disappointing. We strive to seat our guests with reservations within 15 minutes of their reservation time. When waits are longer, we typically offer a free round of drinks and appetizers to our guests. Our pricing and portion sizes are reflective of our use of organic and locally sourced ingredients. Our intention is to offer compelling dishes that are inventive, tasty and offer value to our customers. It seems that we missed the mark on several of these key elements. We wish to apologize and ask that you give us another try. We appreciate your feedback and we will use it constructively to improve our food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I shared our anniversary at Saltwater. It's a charming place with great food. This is the upscale place I wish were in my hometown because I'd go there at least once a month. The oysters are excellent, especially the Oysters Casino because I like mine cooked. We like the Cliff Family Sauvignon Blanc and really liked that it was on tap and so very fresh.

They don't take reservations for parties under 6, but went a little earlier, 6;30 pm, and mid-week, so we were fine. However, the restaurant is one room and has a beautiful bar, so if that's okay, you probably won't have too much trouble finding a seat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater also viewed

Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Inverness, Marin County
Inverness, Marin County
 
Olema, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 

Been to Saltwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing