We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisit - Still a wonderful bargin .. and right on Tomales Bay.”
Review of Tomales Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tomales Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
California
Level Contributor
297 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Revisit - Still a wonderful bargin .. and right on Tomales Bay.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here about 6 months ago and reviewed it then. My opinion hasn't changed much, just reinforced. This in an older establishment that has been maintained very well. The rooms aren't in "newly remodeled condition." But I found them very comfortable. I chose the lowest priced type of unit with a queen bed. Last time I stayed in 16 and this time in 21. The living area has two desks with three chairs total. I appreciated having the two desks for computers etc. The wifi is password secure. A minor complaint is that the bathroom is a little small, and there is no place around the sink to put your toilet articles. The heating system works very well, and is very quiet.

One of the big draws for me was that the property is right on Tomales Bay. You will pay extra to get a view of the bay from your room. My room did not have that.

Their "breakfast" is nothing fancy. You can pick it up the night before, or after 8 am in the office. It consists of an apple, cold cereal, milk for the cereal and a carton of juice. Personally I go to Blackbird a short distance up the street.

The price is the lowest I could find in the area. If that is what you want, this is your place. It is a very good value. Check the other options out for yourself online. If you are looking for luxury, go somewhere else.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Skytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    69
    32
    11
    9
See reviews for
39
85
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having stayed at the "Golden Hinde" some years ago and looking for a near-by getaway, we chose to return to the Inverness area, and to what is now The Tomales Bay Resort. It was exactly what we needed! Remodeling continues, but our room has been tastefully renovated, has a refrigerator, sink and great bathroom facilities. It included, too, a fireplace and flat screen TV ( that went unused). The view out the double door glass windows is beyond great - we got to watch a sailing lesson, kayakers and swimmers. The pool is small, but shielded from the wind. Unfortunately, the restaurent is presently closed, but that just lead to us going out a little ways and trying other things in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room with water view...it's so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katyscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are expecting a 'resort' then you will be greatly disappointed. It was, however, clean and they really make an effort to make you comfortable. We were in room 16. It was nothing fancy, really tiny but had a fridge, microwave, desk, table and a great bed. The price was steep, $129, but you are minutes from Point Reyes National Seashore and that is very normal in a touristy area. We were a little disappointed that the restaurant was closed, but just down the street was Perry's deli and grocery store. We got sandwiches made to order then went back to the motel and ate them at a little table outside overlooking the bay. One of the best meals I had on our entire trip! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're only staying one night, don't bother upgrading to one of the more expensive rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My mother and I stayed here during the long Memorial Day weekend and we were pleasantly surprised. Our room had recently gone through a renovation and it was wonderful. New sheets, a working fireplace, a balcony right on the water, amazing shower, and extremely friendly staff. The restaurant is currently closed but they provide you with a nice bagged breakfast in the morning which was perfect to take on our way out to the hikes. It's about a 20-30 minute drive to the Point Reyes Lighthouse and 15 minutes to town. It's very quiet, relaxing, clean, and comfortable. I will definitely be staying there again and doing the kayaking which was literally right outside of our door!

Room Tip: The building with room 32 (all have just gone through a renovation and have the best view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maryjack821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

my husband, I and our 20 year old daughter had a wonderful stay here last night. Our room which costs 175/night is actually a small apartment. one bedroom with two queen beds, and a great room with a comfortable sitting area, a fireplace, nice tv, table, kitchenette. we have a small deck overlooking Tomales Bay and a small garden with a patio table. This is room 1.
the person at the front desk was lovely and had lots of info about restaurants, delis, hiking trails, etc. All in all a wonderful experience.
This place doesn't look like much from the road but it is warm and lovely inside.

Room Tip: no restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Ok so quik and to the point. Dont plan on being overwhelmed by the quality. Paid for the upgraded newly renovated rooms....DO NOT DO IT. These rooms are average and not as nice as the ones for $195. Read the fine print on everything. You have to hang a sign if you want your room made up and fresh towels. At $225 a night i think it should be automatic. The breakfast thing they give you is a joke! Towels are cheap! Bed is nice. Decks suck on these rooms and the chairs are DIRTY DIRTY on the front and back decks. Coffee cups were dirty. Coffee creamer was like yogurt when you opened it. Windows DIRTY. Spider webs everywhere on the deck. LAST= staff very unhelpful at the front desk! Could not even tell you where to get a quick good breakfast.....it was five minutes away at Perrys Deli. Go there for everything,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 670Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREMONT
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in the upgraded bayview room.....wanted to be sure we could sleep comfortably and motel advertised new mattresses. Not disappointed....slept VERY well.....special top on mattress made it like sleeping at home. Nice pillows and blankets, too. Room is clean and spacious with very comfy couch. We felt it was too expensive but spent the extra to get a good night's sleep. View of bay is OK.....plain but not worth paying more. Office staff very friendly.

One con was the breakfast supplied. It was a brown bag breakfast with milk, Honey Nut Cheerios, apple juice, apple....OK for the items, but not OK for the timing. It was only available from 9-11 AM and we wanted to get started earlier than 9 so it was not convenient. Since our room had a fridge we felt we should have been given the bag at check in so we could have it earlier. In defense of the hotel, we did not ask for that because we didn't know it might be an option. Suggestion to hotel is to find out guests' needs re: breakfast and give them the option of the breakfast bag at check in.

Probably wouldn't stay again due to the total bill with tax being $250..will have to take chances on a good night's sleep with a cheaper room. But room was nice enough to give it a 4 star rating.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of the bayview room unit and noticed how much the floor creaked when w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNMARIESFREMONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
6.1 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
17.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,284 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
15.0 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ten Inverness Way
Ten Inverness Way
#3 of 10 in Inverness
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomales Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomales Bay Resort

Property: Tomales Bay Resort
Address: 12938 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, P.O. Box 38, Inverness, CA 94937-9706
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Tomales Bay Hotel Inverness
Golden Hinde Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing