We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
44
17
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
17
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birch cottage english muffin private beach farm fresh eggs the cottages tomales bay local produce yogurt coffee beans well appointed kitchen point reyes walls are thin spent two nights muir woods coffee maker short drive living room
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 64 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2016

Found the cottages on line, it was in the perfect location for ourselves, close to all the sights of the National Park. We had Skye Cottage, the smallest, and full of character. Facilities were excellent with fresh coffee and breakfast goods in the fridge, local supermarket too for when the 2 local restaurants were closed (the whole of our stay).
The bed is interesting, up a vertical ladder into a loft space, lovely views and surrounded by nature, however as a couple in our 50's, perhaps a more conventional bed would have been better!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faa234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016

We have (allmost) never stayed in a more beautiful and special place than this. One night was not enough in this cosy little cabin/house! We stayed in the smallest of the four cabins ("Sky") - and enjoyed both a nice view, an outdodor shower, a well equiped kitchen and a warm fireplace.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2016

A longstanding friend and I shared a delightful 2 night rendezvous at the Beach Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed the gorgeous location, the beautiful views from our waterside cottage, the cozy fireplace, the comfortable bed and well-appointed kitchen, the attractive landscaping and outdoor decks, and proximity to local amenities like hiking trails and nearby eateries. We would recommend these cottages for friends and couples looking for a relaxing getaway in beautiful surroundings - and we'll definitely be back for a return visit.

Room tip: The Beach Cottage offers great views right on the water.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2016

This is a wonderful spot in a gorgeous natural habitat, within striking distance of a great city. It is the perfect place for old friends to spend a few days renewing their bonds while enjoying the manifold charms of the environment. The lodgings handsome, thoughtful, warm. The prices very reasonable in what is an increasingly dear market. The management talented and low key. I could not recommend it more highly.

Date of stay: July 2015
Thank elmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2015

If you love being surrounded by water, hills and interesting birdlife, and if you like abundant natural light in your room, a private outdoor shower with gorgeous views and minimal contact with the proprietors - this place is for you. Don't get me wrong, the proprietors are available - just out of sight, which is just fine for me.

The cleaning staff comes around Noon but we didn't need/want service during our 2 nights. They just replenished the breakfast supplies for us. All good.

If you have a dog, you and your pal will be very happy. If you don't have a dog, do not fear - the rooms are clean and do NOT smell doggy at all.

Not sure how to refer to the logdings: a room? a cottage? a cabin? The "rooms" are attached to one another but you'd never know it since everyone is either very quiet or there's good soundproofing or both. But it felt cozy like a cabin or cottage.

If you like easy hiking, it's a 10' drive to the Bear Valley Trail and Visitor's Center. But it's tempting to just stay at DCB and hang out on the deck in the Adirondack chairs, drinking morning coffee and staring at the water and birds. (heron, pelicans, lot's of ducks, terns). Easy 10' drive to Pt Reyes Station for charming shops, a small number of (good) restaurants, grocery store and hardware store.

We ate out one night and cooked-in the other night; kitchen is adequately supplied with cookware. We didn't mind that there was no microwave.

I rated the room as "very good" and not "excellent" for 3 reasons: 1) There was a clanking sound a couple times at night - like old pipes rattling - not sure. 2) The heater is on a thermostat but we still got overheated on it's minimal setting. Had to keep getting up in the night to monkey with it and finally turned it off. Maybe it's just me - maybe the thermostat could be upgraded - not sure. 3) The double bed is a bit small for 2 and the ladder to the loft was a bit inconvenient. Probably no problem for younger folks who might enjoy the adventure of climing up and down!

The fridge was well-stocked with breakfast items.

We stayed in the "Skye" room. The ladder leading up to the loft bed is for the able-bodied only. Make sure you look at the DCB website and get a good idea of what you'll be climbing before you reserve Skye. You will, however, be rewarded with gorgeous views upon awakening - just pull the white curtain back as you lie in bed and enjoy ample the water view.

Room tip: If you can afford the "Beach" room go for it: Larger kitchen, normal stairs up to the bedroom and it has a waterfront deck.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews