We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My low expectations were met”
Review of Adventurer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adventurer Hotel
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My low expectations were met”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Used it for a stay over in LAX late night to early morning. Already felt welcomed when I called for pick up and got hung up on at first. Shuttle comes packed to the roof and squeezed us in with a few other people. Apparently a bunch of people go to this place to rent a car and go sleep somewhere else, better? In any case from the 20+ people in the bus only us plus one other guy were in for a room. I finally had the chance to meet the nice girl I had on the phone, I have to say it was almost a love at first sight situation, everything I was expecting after our chat on the phone: she obviously didn't try too hard to be best employee of the month. Best part was when she was half jokingly insulting her coworker.
Some drama going on, girl coming in to complain her room was flooded, asking for towels and being given a tiny hand towel while trying to ask if she could do an early checkout and being told sorry-girl-no-refunds. Of course hotel is overbooked, no room left, so we are sent to the 'sister hotel' the American Inn & Suites which we figured we could only be better off anyway. Wasn't bad there. Free porn apparently as that was the channel the TV turned on to when we dropped the remote. For the return back to the airport in the morning, we wisely padded some time for pick up as it took over 45 min for the shuttle to come by while I was told 'a few min away' or 'around the corner' every time I called (only one shuttle was operational apparently) I have to say the shuttle drivers were at least above average while having to deal with all the drama.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sf_franck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    61
    79
    67
    336
See reviews for
95
119
109
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. We wanted to leave as soon as we got there and looked around. The girls at the front desk are very rude. The wifi didn't work. The restataunt had dirty glasses and silverware. My food had a hair in it. The free breakfast consists of a stale muffin. The free cake is dried out. The room stank like roaches and the tv didn't work. On the morning we were leaving another guest told us she moved to 2 different rooms because of bed bugs. The guy shuttle driver is rude. The woman shuttle driver was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemyRoo487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked the room from airport to hotel on hotels.com just due to the fact it was the closest&only room under $100 I could find. On arrival the front desk girls had my reservation ready and had no problems with last minute booking. They do there best to make it up with the free drink ticks/popcorn/cake/muffins-shuttle rides. They even let us borrow an iron. The pool really is heated surprisingly and wow in the morning there must of been about 15 workers cleaning and watering the hotel. They are doing there best to keep this very dated hotel atleast clean.The EcoRental inside hotel staff was very accomadating! Would I bring my kids here NO but the hotel definetly lives up to its name! Nothing less than an Adventure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlyonespotint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

First things first, it is not a hotel, it's a hostel! Adventurer Hostel isn't that bad in terms of the state of the hostel, its fairly clean and has reasonable facilities but in terms of the whole package it's a big NONO. I suggest looking elsewhere and staying well outside of Inglewood. We stayed as a group of 9 girls so we had a big number, I would not recommend it for anyone who is riding solo or in a small number, especially girls. The staff were not helpful and considering we prebooked the beds, none of the beds were made and had dirty sheets, and I mean 'dirty'. The only pro was their shuttle bus service because coming in and out of Inglewood is pretty dodgy, but still they would say they were on there way and left us stranded for ages. So my recommendation is definitely not to stay here. LAX suites were for a similar price and only down the road, so if you want to stay in this area, stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It's exactly what it says on the tin.
Free breakfast, tea and coffee, food in the evening.. the bars cheap. The room was average but it was a dorm so I'm not complaining. The pool area is always busy and you meet a lot of backpackers which is cool. The internet connection isn't perfect but you can get your next trip booked if you persevere!
The area around the hotel is a but dodgy... don't walk around by yourself at night especially if your a woman. But in the daytime it is useful... close enough to the airport and Hollywood/downtown L.A. There's a free shuttle everyday to Manhattan beach which will pick you up too. Very handy... but I would recommend Venice beach as a better day out if you want a gorgeous beach AND things to do.
The staff are friendly and the front desk is open all the time and obviously knew what backpackers need and want to find out.
Don't come here if you want a luxurious resort, but it's perfect for experiencing L.A and you defiantly get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTB9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

After reading reviews for this hostel me and my friend were worried about staying here. But to our surprise it really wasn't that bad. Okay it was in the middle of a crappy area of los Angeles Downtown but the shuttle bus was very good and would take you to a bus stop and train station whenever you wanted so you could go explore the city. The hotel itself is definitely more of a hostel. The atmosphere was great, lots of backpackers and travelers a like. Lots of free stuff, from shuttles, to breakfast, lunch and dinner (not the best food, but its free so cant complain) free popcorn, tea and coffee, and a free alcoholic drink everyday (you have to ask for a voucher at reception, they don't tend to be to forward about this at the start, but if you ask you get it). also free shuttles to the beach which was awesome! They offer some good trips at good prices but we werent there long enough to go on any of them, we just did our own thing for the few days we were there. As for the room, we chose the 20 bed dorm.... which was actually 24 beds, a crappy bathroom (but functional) you really get what you pay for, so cant really complain, if we wanted better we could have forked out more money but we didnt want to... so make the best of a bad situation. Also the bed situation was a mess, they allocate you a bed, but someone was in my bed the first time, and the second time they gave me someone else bed so basically just take a free bed and dont worry about the number... more effort then its worth. The guys who worked there were cool, but the ladies behind the desk were unhelpful and no too friendly. Overall though, good stay, met some cool people and it was cheap!

Room Tip: dont go for the 20 bed dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you're looking for something cheap - that's fine but dont bother staying here, cheap it maybe but its horrid. Firstly its not a hotel! more like a hostel. Its old, the rooms stink and unless you fancy sleeping with cockroaches in you room then I suggest pay a bit more and look elsewhere! We didnt last 10 minutes.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inglewood
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Value Inn Worldwide
#9 of 33 in Inglewood
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#88 of 350 in Los Angeles
4,753 reviews
Hollywood Inn Express LAX
#18 of 33 in Inglewood
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventurer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventurer Hotel

Property: Adventurer Hotel
Address: 4200 W Century Blvd, Inglewood, CA 90304
Location: United States > California > Inglewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Inglewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Adventurer Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Adventurer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing