We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place - all the basics - friendly and clean - retro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Date Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I picked this hotel based on its web site and previous positive reviews.
Staff was very friendly.
Free DVDs in the lobby.
I'm a train buff and asked for a room facing the road (hotel is set back far from the road and tracks) — I wanted to see the Union Pacific freights! — and the soundproofing is so good my partner could barely hear the trains go by. Don't worry, they won't wake you, but if you're super-sensitive to sound, there are 4 or more other buildings belonging to this hotel even farther from the road.

One clerk came to our room to help us start the DVD machine because the two clickers were confusing. He tried and tried, couldn't do it and left feeling bad, then I figured it out. But he did his best.
The room is standard, big enough and clean.
Pool is large, clean and quiet on this balmy evening..
A small group of 3 or 4 guests was quietly using a gas grill supplied by the hotel.

My friend and I drove from Grand Canyon through Mojave Desert to Indio, then Orange, CA for a graduation ceremony.. We had hoped to spend 2 nights in Indio, but the Grand Canyon train's return to Williams, AZ, was later than I thought, and I also underestimated travel time to Indio.
Mojave is better to see in the daytime anyway..

I guess I liked this place so much for its simplicity. No bells and whistles.

Just quiet, clean and friendly. very retro in some respects.. Looks like a 1960s Hollywood postcard.
AC worked fine.. it was 100 degrees outside (but dry, very windy and I thought comfortable).
By contrast, it was 95, humid and disgusting when I got back to Boston!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterhifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 966 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2010

We were lured by the 24hr pool. Free DVDs was a nice touch. The 'Save4 for Less' food store we were directed to by Jacob at front desk was great. With our food stuffs we also got a bottle of Tequila for 98 cents!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Let me first state that if you are going to stay at a hotel for one of the music festivals, this IS the place to stay ..period.

Now for my story :) This stay got off to a very very bad start. I was there with my gf and a friend for the Stagecoach Festival, and I had reserved a suite which was listed as suitable for three. The bed for the third person was a horrible sofa bed. I was pissed to say the least, and proceeded to yell at Jacob, the night clerk, something fierce. Of course reality was ..stupid me, for not checking the configuration of the room. He comped us a second room for the night, but let us know that the hotel was sold out for Saturday night. I met Aaron the manager the next day, and he gave us the second room for the following night, and said he'd try to have his maintenance guy figure something out. He also gave us a huge refund. Maintenance guy puts gets some foam from Wal-Mart, sofa bed now tolerable, though still not great. Later on the same night they come up with a roll away bed. Combine the foam with the roll away and voila, comfy night of sleep. Aaron and Jacob and the two maintenance guys (name sadly not remembered) really went out of their way to turn this into a positive experience. I was just blown away, especially given how rude I was in the beginning.

As for the hotel, as I said above it is definitely the place for the music festivals. They have a shuttle to the Polo Club and as much information as you need. The suite was actually large and super nice, much more what you'd expect in a 4 star hotel than a Best Western. Just remember it is really a room for 2.

See ya next year guys.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKSteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This is our third stay at Best Western Date Tree for the annual Coachella Music Festival.

The location can't be beat.. The front desk & room service staff are very friendly and well
prepared for the festival. There's a hotel shuttle to get back and forth,even after midnight.

Our recent visit was 4/15/10 to 4/19/10. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious, and quiet . The King bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. Double curtains for those, like me, who like to sleep with total black out. The fridge can be stocked up with beverages from a nearby grocery store.

The hotel provides a continental breakfast and newspapers in the morning. Then it's off to hang out at the swimming pool relaxing under the palm trees. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianeguthmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Room clean, beds excellent. Cont breakfast is typical. No complaints. Pool and hot tub are also good. DVD player with free movies a plus. Stayed twice in a month. Price fluctuates depending on local events. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikerBiker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We were in town for a sporting event and several of us stayed at the Best Western Date Tree Hotel. The hotel is beautiful I love the palm trees. The staff at the front desk is great. The rooms were perfect you will not find another hotel that offers you what they offer for such a reasonable rate. Every year we come to town for this event and this is the first time we stayed at the Best Western. Now that I have stayed there I will not stay at another hotel when I come to town. I will always stay at the Best Western. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel that is reasonable, great looking, good accommodations and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when we were in the area with a photography group. I wanted a reasonably priced, clean motel. We were both pleasantly surprised when we found ourselves wanting to stay at the Best Western and relax instead of wanting to get out and take photos. However, we did keep to our schedule. There are 3 buildings nicely landscaped with desert foliage. The look of the hotel is a bit 60's retro but modern at the same time. The pool was not too cold and quite large. There are grills in the pool area and there is plenty of room to find a relaxing spot to enjoy the sun.
The room was extra large, quiet and clean. It was a very relaxing room. We often stay at Marriotts, but we found this room to be a great value and as nice as some higher priced hotel rooms. I had no trouble sleeping and the beds were comfortable.
The breakfast was good with waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels and the usual pastries. There is an outdoor eating area with a fountain too.
I would definitely stay here again and hopefully spend more time enjoying the relaxing quality of the motel

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indio
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Indio
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Indio
Days Inn Indio
#5 of 16 in Indio
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Royal Plaza Inn
Royal Plaza Inn
#10 of 16 in Indio
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Date Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Date Tree Hotel

Address: 81909 Indio Boulevard, Indio, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92201-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Indio
Price Range: $101 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Date Tree Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Date Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indio
Indio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing