We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Date Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Hideaway”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We took a weekend road trip to Palm Springs and found an affordable room at the Best Western Olive Tree. The customer service, from Katie who took our last minute reservation to three different front desk agents was fabulous!! We felt so VIP and welcomed. They offer a great military family discount and have spacious rooms. We got the family suite which gave us an opportunity to get the kids to sleep in the back bedroom and then have a little quiet time to relax. They have free movie rentals, a good breakfast with variety and DVD players in the room. They also have a cold fridge in the room for kid treats. The property is neat and the beds are truly comfortable. We will be returning!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Socalbuff,

First and foremost: thanks for taking time out of your busy day to post your comments about the Best Western Date Tree Hotel. You can be sure of this: everyone from our Owners to Management to the each employee are brought up to speed on each and every Trip Advisor review.

Put simply: we care. And even more: we want to be fully engaged on what the hotel is doing right--and take the appropriate actions when we fall short. (And yes--it can happen)

Your kind comments on Katie are greatly appreciated...and she is a true All-Star at our property. We have had her with us now for over 3 years--and we just hope to have her with us for another 30 years. And your comments about our service and the hotel itself are something that make us feel very proud--and will inspire us to keep on going after the most superlative customer service in the valley.

We will look forward to seeing you on your next trip out to Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    241
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
287
300
70
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The facility is very dated, definitely could use some TLC. Clean enough and the staff were very good, just the facility itself. Nicely located for off and on the freeway, but thought with the upgrades needed it was a little pricey.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Charles K,

We are very sorry that your stay was just "Ok". We really do strive, and each and every day, to provide the highest level of customer service and a hotel experience that EXCEEDS your expectations.

And from your review...we obvious failed in that endeavor. And that does bother us. I would like to point out that we are constantly upgrading the property each and every year. This year saw us putting in Granite vanities in every guest room, new corridor carpet in every building, new pool furniture, new pillow top mattresses in all rooms, new guest room furniture in half the rooms, new 37 inch flat screen Televisions, and some new landscaping to our grounds.

So yes: we were hard at work improving the experience a guest will have at the Best Western Date Tree Hotel. And we have heard numerous compliments on what we have done. That said...we still much more work on our Capital Expenditures for the hotel. And we anticipate doing even more in 2014.

I do hope you will give the Best Western Date Tree another chance on your next trip out to Indio. In fact, please call and ask to speak to the General Manager and I will make sure to set up your next room and would love to meet with you and show you our plans for the future improvements at the property.

Again, thanks for taking the time to post your comments onto Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My partner and I came to Indio from Phoenix to get married. When we were checking in, the desk agent, Jacob, asked why we were in town and we told him that we were getting married. He was excited for us, and decided that we should have an upgrade of or room. He booked us in a suite that had a great view of the property, was very spacious, and had a Jacuzzi in the bedroom! We were taken by surprise as we did not expect this, but it was a wonderful treat! Jacob did an awesome job of taking care of us and we are very grateful of his excellent guest service! Thank you Jacob and Best Western for a great experience! We would definitely stay here in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixjoe63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
phoenixjoe63,

What a real pleasure to hear about your recent wedding and the fact that Jacob and the Best Western Date Tree helped to promulgate some salubrious memories. We really do strive to offer the best in customer service--and to take the special moments that we hear from our guests and make them truly special.

As for Jacob: he has been with our hotel for 10 years--and has won numerous hospitality awards from Best Western based on his cornucopia of glowing reviews. And we will be passing this review along to him first thing this morning.

Thanks again for taking your time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor on your experience at the Best Western Date Tree. It means everything to us. And so very happy that you chose our hotel while out here to get married.

We certainly hope to see you the next time you are out in Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

hotel somewhat dated in appearance and decor. but breakfast was surprisingly good, selection and quality well beyond what one could expect for a "free meal". our room was spacious, clean, & the bed comfortable. amenities adequate. staff gracious and accommodating. overall, very good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Jim D,

I just want to take a minute and thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and comments on the Best Western Date Tree Hotel. Our number one goal, and the one that we strive to attain on a daily basis, is the satisfaction of each and every guest. We take a great deal of pride in having won the Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for the past 6 years running--and in having been ranked #1 in Indio over the same time period.

Let me also state that we are constantly renovating and updating our hotel...and we have some major improvements planned for 2014. As for our breakfast: we feel very confident that we can compete with anybody else out there in this area...and our two breakfast attendants treat run that like it was their own kitchen and they were cooking for family.

We are glad your stay went well--and we certainly will look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip out to Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Manuel, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our first impression of the room was the odor. The room had poor odor as if it was not well deodorized. Also, the next morning, the lobby had a spoiled trash smell. by the time we returned after breakfast, the smell seemed to diminish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Convenient location and reasonable price for us in Indio for both business and pleasure. Pleasant room, good TV, tile shower, and comfortable bed. Generous breakfast included and very friendly staff. Special bonus was the swimming pool - huge, super clean, and we had it all to ourselves on a Friday morning!

Room Tip: Our Room 110 was a bit too close to the breakfast room which opened at 5:30 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Barb S,

We may want to put your succinct and cogent saying on a postcard: "Date Tree delightful."
What can we say: we agree on this. Even more: we try very, very hard to achieve this experience for each and every guest stay.

And while it may be impossible to achieve 100% of the time(and no hotel can)be assured of this: we approach every day with the goal of providing exceptional guest service with a comfortable and satisfying room experience.

Also glad to hear you enjoyed our large olympic pool(by far the largest one in Indio--if not the entire desert)and that our breakfast options were plentiful and satisfying.

We do hope to see at the Best Western Date Tree the next time you are in Indio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Check in was excellent, as usuall at BW. The hotel isn't very close to anything so you have to drive for restaurants and groceries. Room was large, internet good, had a fridge and m/w, decent cable. The a/c was loud and cycled but it did drown out any possible noise from anywhere else in the hotel or outside. Breakfast was good, some hot food.

Room Tip: stay on the top floor, it's an old hotel and the bottom floor is probably loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenArmstrong_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
KarenArmstrong_BC,

Let me take the time and apologize for the noisy AC. We normally do not have any issues with our units...that said, the occasional maintenance on them can need to occur.

And we have a staff on throughout the day and evening who can remedy the situation--or get a new AC unit in the room.

I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay--and please call the hotel and ask for the General Manager and I will happily make amends for the noise issue.

We hope to see you in Indio for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indio
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Indio
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Indio
Days Inn Indio
#5 of 16 in Indio
113 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
2.7 mi away
Fantasy Springs Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Date Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Date Tree Hotel

Property: Best Western Date Tree Hotel
Address: 81909 Indio Boulevard, Indio, CA 92201-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Indio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Date Tree Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Date Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indio
Indio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing