We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money but a bit far from business area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Date Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Upon check-in, we found the service at front desk very welcoming and friendly. It's definitely a great value for money especially during Thanksgiving weekend when hotel prices are a bit higher with limited vacancies.

Amenities: Free breakfast, free wi-fi, outdoor pool with 24 hr Jacuzzi, DVD rental (pretty good selection) and free dates at the check-in counter. Breakfast is standard continental breakfast with waffle and pancake machines, bread, fruits, yogurt, sausage, eggs, cereals, coffee and juices.

Some rooms come with shared patio which is a bit dirty with cigarette butt. The A/C is quite old and noisy. If you're a light sleeper, this may wake you up.

Location: The hotel provides easy and quick access to I-10. It's about 30 mins from south entrance of the Joshua Tree National Park and about 30 mins to Palm Springs. The downside is there's not much to do in Indio. You may be better off finding restaurants, shopping or movie theaters in Rancho Mirage, La Quinta or Palm Springs (15-30 minutes drive).

Overall, we had a pleasant stay here and enjoyed the pool facilities after a day hike at the Joshua Tree National Park.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing inside the property. Rooms facing the railroad can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaranR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

SaranR,

Let me first of all apologize for the balcony not being fully cleaned--and the issue with the AC. I can state this: we pride ourselves on our cleanliness--and have special UV wands to sanitize every inch of the room. All part of the Ultra Clean program that Best Western properties all are implementing.

That said: we dropped the ball on getting that balcony 100% cleaned. And is something that we have discussed in our meeting with Housekeeping Manager and her staff. As for the AC: all of our air conditioner units are less then 3 years old--and highly efficient with thermostat controls on the walls. We usually have no issue with these...however, it sounds like a board may have been loose and was causing the noise. It can hapen--and we have a diligent maintenance staff that can fix the issue ASAP.

We do appreciate your remarks about our staff and the breakfast options. I also want to add that there are a conrucopia of great dining places in Indio and within 7 minutes of the property. And we have a dedicated map of all of our top picks...with specific directions to get there. Our valley has much to offer--and we really do provide a great price and location to see everything in the valley.

We hope to see you back here next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 966 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We'd never visited this area before, but we knew most of what we wanted to see in the four days we were going to be there.
We selected the Best Western because it showed well on the web. But we never expected it to be as nice as it really is for the price.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Everything worked well except for a small issue in figuring out the shower valve.
The staff took very good care of us. The grounds and parking areas were beautifully kept. The complimentary breakfast had a great variety of choices that were fresh and very well presented.
It was obvious to us that everyone from the owners to the employees to the guests really love this property and intend to keep it at a high standard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westwardster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Weswardster,

What a joy to read your comments--and an even bigger joy to pass these along to our entire staff. It really does help to invigorate us and motivate us to keep on striving to offer superlative customer service.

We have been recognized as one of the top Best Western's in terms of customer service excellence...and we really do take great pride in trying to exceed the expectations of each and every guest. And while it may never ALWAYS be at 100%--it is certainly the standard we hold ourselves up to.

And yes: we do feel that the Best Western Date Tree offers great value for the money--and that we offer a hotel that truly does believe in the ethos of heroic hospitality. Our bottom line is truly a simple one: take care of each and every guest--AND THEY WILL ALWAYS WANT TO COME BACK.

Again...thanks for sharing your thoughts. And we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Indio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The gentleman who checked is in was very friendly and even called after we got to our room to make sure everything was okay.
The property is older, but very clean. Our king room had a mini fridge and microwave. The TV had a good selection of channels. The water pressure in the shower was good. The bed was very comfortable.
We did hear some trains going by, but I like train noise. It's comforting somehow...
We didn't get a chance to use the pool.
The only negative was the lack of elevator up to our second floor room. Dragging our bags up the stairs was awkward. But hey, we probably needed the exercise anyway.

So if we were ever in the area again we'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

AkStafford,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us on our hotel and our staff. Much appreciated--and used by everyone here at the Best Western to always be striving to reach perfection.

Hey--we like to set the bar high.

We are an older hotel--but we do remodeling every year in some aspect. This year saw new 37 inch flat screen TV's, new pool deck, and new beds. And we got new furniture in about 60% of the hotel. And we have a plethora of projects planned for 2013.

But yes: we are always beautifying and improving our hotel. And is for one simple reason:'to keep winning our guest over just like we were able to wi you. As for the elevator: we dot have one yet. But we have our maintenance staff--and they will gladly assist anyone needing help with bags or other items.

We look forward to having you back on your visit to Indio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Halfway between Hanford, CA and Tucson Az. Good hotel, some renovation going on so the hall was a little coarse but the staff were friendly and the room clean, spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was very well done. Easy to get to and from I-10

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were recommended to this hotel by the head maintenance man Jeff. We got a awesome room at an amazing rate! We had no reservations but they worked with us and got us a room with no problem and they had an amazing continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Jeffery,

What can we say: we cross train our entire staff in being able to assist our guest. And your example of our maintenance manager, Jeff, getting you an "amazing" rate and setting you up is a perfect example of how the training pays off.

That said...it is a little unusual for our maintenance man to be setting up reservations(and one can only wonder how low he went on rates)but if the Front Desk is busy...then everyone knows to jump in and take care of our customers.

We will certainly pass your comments on to Jeff in our next meeting. Sometimes our maintenance department only hears when things don't work(hey, it happens)--and your thoughts on our hotel--and him--will really make him feel good.

We hope to see you next time you are out in Indio. And yes: we will have Jeff put down his hammer and set you up again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was a nice hotel. Staff very friendly, tv and wifi bery goode, breakfast a little above the average Best Western fare. Stayed here for two nights, and if I came back this way, I would stay here again. I really only had two compliants. The first, is the hotel is a bit "remote" as to town and restaurants. Except for a couple of Tex-Mex Places, it is a 2-3 mile drive at least for most food. The second and more important is that the shower control in our room really needed some kind of repair or replacement. It was hard to figure out, then hard to determine temp position. But, we worked around that, and I reported it to the front desk to let them see if it was right.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dochasnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at Best Western Date Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

sbc228,

First and foremost: thank you for taking the time share your thoughs with us. From the positive notes--and yes: we love to hear those--to the areas in which we may have failed the test.

We use all of the feedback on our surveys and from Trip Advisor to one simple and cogent goal. That being: to make the Best Western Date Tree the best it can be.

Making each and every guest satisfied: that is the goal, that is the mantra, that is the mission statement. And trust us: we will take whatever feedback we can get in order to get us closer to that realization.

You did mention that lack of dining places near our hotel. And let me say this: if it is walking, then that is correct. We have one award winning fine dining Mexican place less then a 3 minute walk from the hotel. As for driving, however...we have over 14 terrfic places ranging from Thai Food to Seafoood to Chinese to Barbeque to Steakhouses all less then 7 minutes by car. In fact, we even hand out a Dining Recommendation form with EXACT directions from the hotel.

We want to make it easy.

As for your shower issue...let me offer a sincere apology for the inconveniance. We do have Maintenance on our property throughout the day--and they usually can correct any situation that may--and yes, it can happen--arise on any given stay. We have empowered all of staff to make sure each guest is 100% satisfied with their stay. If not...we will make it right.

We certainly hope we will see you on your next trip to Indio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Everything was in excellent condition. Facilities were all clean and very presentable. Staff was amazing epeciall Jeff who reffered us. If that was not enough, the breakfast was awesome with waffles, pancakes, and biscuits and gravy.

Room Tip: Tell em Jeff sent ya!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indio
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Indio
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Indio
Days Inn Indio
#5 of 16 in Indio
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Royal Plaza Inn
Royal Plaza Inn
#10 of 16 in Indio
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Date Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Date Tree Hotel

Address: 81909 Indio Boulevard, Indio, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92201-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Indio
Price Range: $101 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Date Tree Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Date Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indio
Indio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing