We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Date Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Certificate of Excellence
Big Bear Ca
1 review
“The Worst!”
Reviewed February 16, 2008

This is the worst place you can stay if you are looking for a place near Fantasy Springs Casino.Way off the beaten Path! Hard to find your way there.The room was noisy all night long. Paid 160.00 for the night.No Bathtub.Remotes for TV did not work.They charged my card 100.00 deposit PLUS the 160.00 for the room! 260.00 was charged to my card.The worst free breakfast! Lumpy Gravey and bisciuts! No Eggs! TINY Pasteries.What a Rip Off! Stay away, for another 40.00 I could of stayed at The Fantasy Springs Resort.My last Time!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideHARLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    241
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
287
300
70
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

This is my first time staying in a Best Western property and I am indeed impressed!

I was there in Dec 07 and I checked in after a game of golf. I was offered water and cookies during checkin, which was sweet.

I was given a room on the ground floor, which was very convenient for me as we parked directly outside our room (free parking)

There was a pantry corner that serves coffee, tea and some pastries all night. There was also 2 computers with a printer for guest use at no charge. There are free DVD rentals too...it was a huge variety of DVD titles, including new titles! I had a lot to do in this property throughout the night, using the computer planning my trip, eating, watching dvds and doing some laundry (coin operated). There is free wireless internet in the room if you have your own laptop.

Room was very spacious with 2 queen size beds, one working desk and a round dining table. Ironing board was also provided with an iron. Bed was soft and comfy.

Bathroom was alright, with lots of towels given. Hairdryer provided. No bathtub, only a shower area. Showerhead was so-called massage shower head but water pressure was not strong enough to really massage. No problem with getting perfect warm water temperature.

Free breakfast was included and there are waffles, jucie, coffe, tea, muffins, sausages, fruits.

I totally loved this place and will surely come back when I visit Palm Springs again!

  • Liked — DVDs, Free internet
  • Disliked — Shower area a little too small
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank g0lf_vacati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Our family just returned home from a trip to Arizona and as always, The Date Tree Hotel was our halfway point stopover. We have made this trip 35 times or more over the last 8 or 9 years the hotel is always a delight. Only one bad experience with the air conditioning this summer but management made it right.

Everything is clean, clean, clean, management is always superhelpful, free DVD's is a very unusual touch for an inexpensive hotel and much appreciated, especially for families with children who need a little distraction!

Beautiful huge pool that is not so close to the building that you can hear any carryings-on while in your room. I never notice any passing trains.

The breakfast this time was even better than usual. There is a waffle iron and batter for FRESH waffles! Homemade biscuits with sausage gravy (possibly best I've ever had). Lots of fruits, cereals both hot and cold, juices, milk of course, plenty of coffee, yogurt, bagels and other toastables, muffins, various danish, cream cheese, jelly, hardcooked eggs, date bread (yummy and very homemade!), I am probably forgetting some things but can't even think of what else anyone might expect. The staff keeps all the food replenished at all times and the areas are cleaned up constantly.

We were in the main building this time which has been redone recently. New refrigerators, furniture, nice microwave and best of all, new heating and a/c unit that worked beautifully.

My only complaint is that they have locked off all the balconies upstairs for some unknown reason. It used to be handy to put bathing suits and towels out there to dry, or just to enjoy the view. (One year we were there for 4th of July and watched the local fireworks display from our balcony, the kids loved it!) I know that it is now a smoke-free hotel and people used to smoke out on the balconies but I don't understand why that would be any kind of problem. It IS outside, after all.

This really is our favorite hotel anywhere, bar none.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and attention to details
  • Disliked — Locked-off balconies
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maryboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We were very pleased with the hotel facilities were great pool is perfect for kids and jacuzzi is very nice and hot. Rooms were clean and toilteries available were a great quality. Also pet friendly which worked out great for Us

  • Liked — Great Staff and Great Pool
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cpusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed at the hotel while evacuated from the So. Cal. wildfires and found the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous. The hotel itself is very clean and immaculately maintained. The pool and hot tub were clean and great fun for the family. The free breakfast was quite good and there was plenty to eat. The BBQ's poolside saved us lots of money eating out. They recommended a local restaurant-Mario's-which was nearby-food was excellent and service was great. They are pet friendly, so our dog and cat got to stay with us instead of being locked down in an expensive kennel. We are planning to "evacuate" here again. Thanks to the great staff and management.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank crax-bax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Before booking a room at this particular hotel, I researched and read all of the reviews. My girlfriend and I like to head to Palm Springs (From the Los Angeles area) for the casino's. Our budget is quite ofter limited, so we are usually looking for a bargain. To our surprise, this Best Western was a diamond in the rough. It's only 3 miles from Fantasy Springs Casino and Spotlight 29, which are our 2 favorite Casinos in the Palm Springs area. This Best Western is located in Indio, about 20 miles from downtown Palm Springs. The hotel is very close to the 10 freeway, which is also convenient. The surrounding area is nothing great, but just a short drive (if you know where to go) and you can find about anything. The hotel was very clean. The staff was friendly. Some noticibly extras were that the pool and hot tub area is open 24hrs (you rarely see that). There are 2 computers in the lobby for guests to use the internet. They have a large DVD library for free use with the in room DVD players, with movies for about anyone's taste. If there was one negative, it would be that we could not cool our room down. The room was 85 degrees when we got there. We cranked up the A/C and went to the casino, but when we returned, several hours later, it was still 84. It had cooled in the evening outside, so we opened our window and left the A/C blasting. Over night, it only cooled to 79 in the room. We asked about it at the front desk and the girl seemed surprised. Besides this, we loved the place and will defintely give them one more chance. The room we had was 146, on the second floor, so if you get this room, just verify that the A/C works! :)

  • Liked — Free DVD's & DVD players.
  • Disliked — The A/C did not seem to work in our room.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We arrived at the Date Tree hotel in Indio on a friday evening ,on first impressions looked fine . We had booked a deluxe room with suppposedly "enhanced furnishings, but they appeared to be just standard furnishings, the whole hotel is relatively old & could do with a complete makeover. The room was ok but would not say it was spotless. The main problem with the room was the air conditioner sounded like a jumbo jet taking off & with the outside temperature at night in the mid 80's this was a problem as we had a small child with us who could not sleep due to the noise. We complained to reception & she gave us the keys to 3 other rooms to look at. 2 of theses smelt like someone had died in them & all 3 still had noisey air con units. The receptionist then sent a hotel handyman who removed the cover on the air conditioner & wedged a piece of paper inside to try & stop the noise, but of course this did not work. We then endured a very hot & sleepless night in this room & at about 8am went to breakfast only to find the breakfast room only had about 6 tables which were all taken by a party of people who seem to have taken over the room, There was also no staff to clean the breakfast room, with rubbish on all the table & floor(a maid did appear at 9.30 prompt to put away the food while we were still trying to get some breakfast). Needless to say we check out & moved to the Holiday Inn Express Indio which was 100 times better. We do not understand why this hotel is rated #1 on here as it should not be

  • Liked — dvd rental
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Norwichtraveller639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indio
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Indio
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Indio
Days Inn Indio
#5 of 16 in Indio
112 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Royal Plaza Inn
Royal Plaza Inn
#10 of 16 in Indio
149 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fantasy Springs Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Date Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Date Tree Hotel

Property: Best Western Date Tree Hotel
Address: 81909 Indio Boulevard, Indio, CA 92201-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Indio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Date Tree Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Date Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indio
Indio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing