We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Back at my winter home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Indio
Certificate of Excellence
Indio CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back at my winter home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I'm back for my third year at theBest Western Date Tree. It was great to pull in the driveway and see Jessica's friendly face at the front desk. I can't say how wonderful it is that all the guest relations people are. In my time here each year, (I'm here for seven weeks at a stretch) I have made great friends and it REALLY feels like home away from home. Aaron, the manager, Esmerelda, head of guest relations, Jeff and his maintenance staff,including Raina and Peter are all wonderful and extremely responsive. Each year the sprucing up of the hotel makes it fresh. Every member of the guest relations staff is so special. I look forward to seeing Jacob, Andrea, Lupita and Crystal each year. Martha, head housekeeper goes out of her way to make sure everything is welcoming and clean. I feel very lucky that this is my assigned housing for my time in the desert, and would reccommend it to any traveler wanting a place to stay with a personal touch !

Room Tip: I like building One where breakfast and exercise room are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    229
    50
    17
    10
See reviews for
264
271
65
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

the place was very open lots of space great parking. huge pool with convienent BBQ's and shade put together nicely. also their continintal breakfast was great food with good food varity.the rooms were clean with comfortable beds overall it was a very nice stay

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaime g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
239 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

After traveling a lot, one becomes attentive to details, such as a no-smile, bored front desk person, or a blinking alarm clock.
The room was fine, well equipped. Wifi was strong. Two good PC's in the lobby.
The catch was the breakfast. The room is woefully inadequate, people are sitting anywhere, banging into each other, queuing for the waffle maker. Add a few misbehaved kids, and it adds up to an unpleasant experience. I was glad to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Mojave,

First and foremost: sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. And especially in regards to our front desk. We have a special training session that all of our front desk agents have gone through--and one that has allowed us to have won two Best Western awards for Customer Service in 2010 and 2011.(And we are gunning for 2012!)

Even more: we have been the #1 rated hotel in Indio for the past 4 years.

That said, we obviously failed to live up to our expectations on your recent visit. And I want to offer a sincere and heartfelt apology for that. And we certainly hope you will give us another chance to win you over the Best Western Date Tree.

Hope to see you soon!

Aaron Segal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

About the 10th visit. Here to judge horses at Hits in Thermal.
Seemed to be a bit of disorder re:billing at desk. Again in evening, discussing a lot of noise in the hallway & playing of LaCrosse-sort of got blown off.
Rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. TV needs to go back to the 80's. Towels, soap, shampoo, etc., all very good.
Breakfast here is better than most. Lady server is very nice.
I think if LaCrosse region was kept in the driveway, and, not in the hallway-would be 4 star rating. We'll se what happens next year.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem to be in good order. Try and stay near front office, or, in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I liked this place. It felt like a resort. The room was very large and nicely decorated, although a few details were dated. There is a heated pool that is large, although not really Olympic sized, as advertised. Through the night I occasionally heard the distant rumble of a train, but it was a nice sound, not a bother. It had a very good internet connection. The staff was great. Breakfast was okay. I recommend this one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodyaps, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dan/New York,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our property--and for letting us know what we are doing correctly.

Our staff really is intent on providing the best possible stay...and it gratifies us to know when we are attaining that goal.

We hope you will continue to use the Best Western Date Tree on your trip through Indio.

Thanks!

Aaron Segal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed here in November over the Thanksgiving weekend. It is a very nice hotel with a good breakfast. It's more than a continental breakfast. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms were spacious and clean. There's free rentals on DVDs and the desk help was excellent. It is not centrally located to the Palm Springs area, but it is away from the noise of Hwy 111. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some people conplained of train noise. Our room was facing the train tracks, but far enough to not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgda2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed there for 6 nights between Xmas and New Years and it was our first time there . We had drove down polo horses from Canada and we did not have a clue where we were going to stay when we got in so we drove around and from the outside this Best Western met our objectives. We stayed at the Indian Palms Country Club & Resort at the end of Nov. and the Date Palm was by far superior for the price. From our checkin to our checkout Esmeralda was accommodating as well as other staff members.
The heated pool (bath tub temp) & hot tub were superior and the bbqs pool side which we used were a nice touch. The amenities, DVD player in each room & free DVDs to pick from in lobby. The breakfast was amazing as the period we were there was very busy for the hotel and it was difficult for the breakfast staff to keep up with the hot meals and the room size is somewhat small. Not an expert in the foot industry but I felt if all the hot meals were in the same area and napkins, plates & utensils were at the start or end of the counters I feel would flow better.
The grounds are amazing and the setting is very Palm Springs. The business center has two computers. Noise is not a problem at this hotel. Security cameras all around the hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable and the housekeeping staff did an amazing job.
We definitely hated to leave the hotel & the sunshine and this hotel will be first on our list when we go back in April.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indio
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Indio
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Indio
Days Inn Indio
#5 of 16 in Indio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
1.4 mi away
Royal Plaza Inn
Royal Plaza Inn
#10 of 16 in Indio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel
Address: 81909 Indio Blvd, Indio, CA 92201-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Indio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Date Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indio
Indio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing