We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Watch Polo”
Review of Empire Polo Club

Empire Polo Club
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Indio
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Decatur, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,042 reviews
317 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Great Place to Watch Polo”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We try to visit here every winter and it seems as though each year there are more improvements in terms of seating and service. We paid $25 each for a cabana with table service. We were right along the polo field and we an excellent view of all the action.

Our server, Scott, was excellent and he made sure we were well taken care of all afternoon.

Love the action and the champagne divot stomp!

Can't wait to return next winter!

Note: You can tailgate and watch the polo for a $10 parking fee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    34
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An interesting afternoon”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is advertised as a free attraction but there's a $10 cost to park in the tailgate area so I would call that a fee. Also if you don't arrive early you'll be parking well back from the field, which makes tailgating sort of pointless. There are small metal grandstands for seating but no shade (91 F the day we were there). Luckily we had a golf umbrella in our vehicle which was much appreciated. We watched most of the noon match and enjoyed the commentator's sense of humor and excellent knowledge of the game and players. We stomped some divots between chukkas but didn't stay for the free champagne. We did get some good pictures and a video of one of the goals. For something different to do on a Sunday we recommend attending a polo match. It's an event for the whole family, although we have to admit some of the children there looked bored.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2Leftcoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Empire hosts a better event than Eldorado”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

There wasn't a lot of info. on polo so hopefully some of this helps. If you can go to a Sunday match versus a Saturday (they have better players and therefore a better game). There is a 12 and 2 o'clock match (the 2 o'clock is the best match).

I concur with the writer below about the $25pp VIP tickets being worth it if you are not tailgating.
The table service was very good as was the food and drink (we had wine and Mediterranean tapas which were very ample, tasty and reasonable).

The company (Empire) versus (Eldorado) was hands down better run (we went to both so we know).

The only other thing to note was based on the writers description below we thought our VIP
seats would come with a sofa but that is not true. The sofas are reserved for seasonal cabana renters so they are off limits.

Enjoy!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2dine054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“VIP seats at the clubhouse...$25 per person was well worth it!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

FREE (for east side of field) spectators:
For those who choose to tailgate or pack a picnic lunch and get comfy on a blanket or relax in their own chairs the polo games are FREE. You can also commingle with clubhouse guests, as the commentator does a great job facilitating both sides to interact during "divot stomps" as well 1/2 times. Tailgaters are encouraged to cross the field to socialize, purchase food from the clubhouse concessions as well as purchasing gifts from the clubhouse vendors. The commentator will make announcements as to when it is the appropriate times to do so...

VIP table seats (for west side clubhouse spectators):
+It buys you VIP (grass NOT dirt) parking, very close to the clubhouse, truly convenient.
+Table seats with umbrella (avoid melting) a necessity in the desert!
+Server (phenomenal top notch service) it was the biggest perk of all, it allows for all eyes on field, opposed to waiting at the concession stands under the desert sun. Loved it!!! Our server "Scott" was fantastic, they really cater to their VIP guests.
+FREE glass of champagne during the last polo "divot stomp" match.

PLUS it allows you a sofa in front of your table (closer to the field) great place to take videos or pictures. Very comfy sofa, it was a GREAT bonus!!!! :)

Clubhouse Food:
They offer salads, panini's, charcuterie platter (very tasty, it was really nice) sliders (also very good) amongst other finger food type items. Their beers were really cold (it was perfect) as well as champagne, cocktails and soft drinks. I was surprised to see desserts on their menu, they were delivering chocolate brownies with ice cream and such...looked yummy!

As this was my first visit to the Empire Polo Club I was a little skeptical ...it is always nice to encounter great service, a great time and moreover Tony (sales director) made us feel welcomed!

*Points of attention:
I recommend following Tony's map that he emails you, it can be very confusing for first-timers if you don't...we initially ended up at Eldorado then we were sent to another field. GPS sent us on quite the circle jerk, a bit of a delay arriving at the right venue (GPS iPhone is the worst) yea, don't ignore the emailed map!


Highly recommend!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice area”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were actually there for a dog show. Ate in the Tack Room, nice enough for lunch. It had kind of a funky area at a bar where the chairs were actually saddles.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregoryOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Polo Club also viewed

Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 
Indio, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Empire Polo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing