We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT!”

El Mexicali Cafe II
Ranked #13 of 141 Restaurants in Indio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indio, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Like its sister location, El Mexicali II is just great. Some of the best Mexican food in the area. The peppers stuffed with shrimp are THE BEST. Also, I highly recommend the fish (broiled) tacos! Very nice staff and great location!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Will Sprinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the Weekend”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We do not frequent this establishment that often but when we do the food and service are alway top notch. They have expanded their restaurant so they can accomodate more customers. Menu very good diverse. We have only had breakfast there and not dined here for dinner. We like it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This has become a favorite place because it is truly authentic and wonderful Mexican cuisine. Monica, the owner, and all the staff are so friendly. It feels like home when we arrive. We always hate to leave. This is better than any of the other local Mexican restaurants, primarily because the ingredients are top shelf, fresh and the cooking is done with love.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitemice46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“South of I-10”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Why go south of the border when you can have great Mexican food in Indio, just south of Interstate 10? This lively restaurant has an extensive menu that is reasonably priced for the quality of food that is served. I recommend the tableside guacamole, prepared with only the ingredients you want. Service, drinks and atmosphere make for a fun lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California, United States
1 review
“One Word”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

YUM!!!!! Been here a couple of times and it is on my to visit list when or near indio. People are kind, Food is tasty and its a reasonable on the pricing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mexicali Cafe II also viewed

Indio, California Desert
Indio, California Desert
 
Indio, California Desert
Indio, California Desert
 

Been to El Mexicali Cafe II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing