We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cautionary Tale (June 2007)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
california
Level Contributor
170 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A Cautionary Tale (June 2007)”
Reviewed June 11, 2007

This is not really a resort. It is an odd combination of motel (think Holiday Inn Express) with a huge opulent marble lobby, bar, restaurants and meeting rooms. The rooms are fairly large and are just okay, not great and not terrible. They have the individual room air conditioners, as someone else commented, they are right next to one of the beds at about head level! They seemed to work fairly well and at the typical level of noise when they cycled on and off. Helps drown out the noise of other guests. Comments about thin walls are accurate. The pool is nice, with a great view toward the golf course and mountains. The lobby is a bit creepy and overdone (chandeliers and marble a la 1958).

Many people have commented on the $16 resort fee, and it definitely colors one's opinion. As of June 2007, the resort fee allows one access to the following: Continental breakfast (better than some). Starts at 6:30 pm. Includes oatmeal (hidden in black pot near the end of buffet), raisins, strawberry yogurt, small choice of dry cereals, usual cheap danish and muffins, fruit such as apples, half grapefruit, bananas, choice of toast. Juices, coffee, cheap tea. There are styrofoam cups for to-go coffee (or oatmeal or yogurt) but no plastic spoons.

There is a local newspaper (Desert Sun) in the lobby. I appreciate this because most places just give you the supremely useless USA Today.

Internet computer: The one which is at the "Concierge" desk actually works.

Supposedly there are free appetizers during a Happy Hour and half off drinks, but they don't tell you about this and I'm guessing anyone that walks in off the street gets it, too.

There is self parking. No sign of a valet but apparently there is supposed to be one. Just not during normal check in hours.

No free local phone calls.

Didn't bother to use the fitness room.

The room service charges and the ala cart breakfast prices didn't really seem that bad for a hotel. I didn't eat anything but the free breakfast.

They call the pool view the preferred rooms, and charge $10 more a night. They are worth the extra, and you won't get a free upgrade if you book via Priceline. Don't take a room facing Hwy 111 on the south wing, near the meeting rooms, loading dock, etc.

I thought the rooms were fairly large compared to Holiday Inn Express, which seems comparable in terms of price and amenities. However, the rooms with two beds have doubles, not queens. No HBO or CNN, but they do have the Golf Channel. The bathrooms seem to have been remodeled, with nice tile and a curved shower curtain bar, just like the one in Holiday Inn Express. However they haven't figured out that you need a longer shower curtain or water gets by the edges onto the bathroom floor. My bathroom was pretty clean, although the tub drain was really slow. The pillows seem old, and the sheets are cheap muslin. Assorted holes in the blankets. The towels were quite nice. I wouldn't use their toiletries, you know when the soaps are as hard as a rock they don't replace them. The room is equipped with a safe, one-cup coffee maker (!) , iron, hair dryer, and minibar. I was told that I could use the mini bar refrigerator without a charge, however upon reading the hotel data sheet, I saw that personal use may result in a $30 restocking fee. The desk clerk claims that if you leave everything in the mini bar you won't be charged. Unfortunately, there isn't much room for more than a few bottles of water if you do that. Don't forget to return the minibar key or it's $5.

  • Liked — Pool, pool view
  • Disliked — Rip off resort fee, front desk staff, old pillows, cheap sheets, noisy
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mlgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    186
    129
    90
    88
See reviews for
158
237
46
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, CA
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Recently stayed at Indian Wells for a short get away. Hotel is under serious restoration but still had a wonderful time. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful. Everything in the room (and several other places in the hotel) felt brand new. The pool was really relaxing and not over crowded although it had seemingly endless bugs and leaves. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The continental breakfast was great for the room price. It included coffee, variety of cold cereals, oatmeal, toast, juices, bagels and danishes. The only minor downfall was that you had to ask for pool towels at the front desk. It's worth it to pay a little extra for the pool/golf course view rooms (they're quieter than the rooms facing the street/parking lot). Had a great time and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livingingrace33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2007

I stayed for 3 nights in May.
The upside(s)
1. decent views out the back (towards the golf course).
2. pool area was nice, away from the street
3. Quality vs. price index is good.
4. Free Wi-fi
5. Friendly staff (allowed an extra night druing a busy weekend for a discount off rack rate).

The downs
1. The website double charged my card for a deposit. I addressed this SEVERAL times with staff, who told me they cancelled the duplicate reservation. They never did. I ended up overcharged by $100, and finally had to take it up with my Credit Card Company.
2. Indian Wells is NOT convenient. EVERYTHING is far away, including food/entertainment/shopping. Plan to travel a minimum of 20 minutes to do anything.

All told, I would recommend this as a well priced spot, if you want to relax by a nice pool for the weekend, but be vigilant with overcharges, as they may not resolve any such problems for you.

  • Liked — Pool, Wifi
  • Disliked — Allowed smoking outside, so smoke was CONSTANTLY in the air. Also, CC problem
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank baggobones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We arrived at night but couldn't find the place as they had taken the sign down. We were assured a non-smoking room which was a smoking room with the ash trays removed. It smelled so disgusting that we had to buy air fresheners and it still didn't really help. The carpet was so dirty we had to wash our feet before we went to bed. We had the same left over snacks from the people before us under the wall unit for the first 5 days. Apparantly, vacuuming once a week is good enought. By the weekend there were no towels for the pool and the bar by the pool wasn't open until our last 2 days stay. The "deluxe" continental breakfast was anything but, and the selections off the menu were hugely overpriced. It could be a really great hotel, but they need to do some much needed work on the rooms. Oh ya and the free internet would be great if it worked!!

  • Liked — That I wasn't trying to impress someone by this selection of hotel
  • Disliked — The fact that I stayed and didn't have another choice
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank strtnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2007

The housekeeping service was terrible. They didn't come even when we requested. The walls and floors are extremely thin, you can hear the movements of everyone around and above your room.

Not a bad place to stay if you don't want to pay alot, but you get what you pay for. This is definitately not a resort.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ug28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

I stayed here with my husband and three kids ages 3, 6, and 9. This is a great hotel in a very nice area of Palm Springs. You cannot beat the resort for the price. It may not be as big and fancy as some of the nearby resorts. But we paid $79 a night for a room with a view and were very happy. Our room was very comfortable and decorated nicely. The bathroom was large. The best feature of the room was the sliding glass doors went out to your own patio with lawn chairs in the grass overlooking the gold course. You could walk ten steps and be at the pool area. The resort is a bit isolated. A car would be recommended to go shopping or out on the town. But nothing is too far away. The free breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing. The bar at the pool was not opened the whole weekend so you had to go into the hotel to get drinks. The pool area is large and has lots of loungers and nice bathrooms. The resort does have a $16/day resort fee but so does every other resort in Palm Dessert. I found the staff to be very nice and had no problems. I did request no key for the mini bar since I had read some other guests reviews of being over charged. For your money, this hotel is a hidden gem in Palm Springs!

  • Liked — The room with the view!
  • Disliked — The free breakfast buffet was pretty bad!!!!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neelleyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Del Ray
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2007

Went with my girlfriend and had a fantastic time, the Suite overlooking the pool was GREAT!! The pool was fantastic but being 110 degrees at 9am you were not out their very long. The only down side was the vallet service, we had to carry our own bags and park our own car upon arriving and when we left. Also don't park next to the Golf Course unless you like removing water spots off you car that get BAKED into the paint! Over all Great trip!!

  • Liked — Rooms were big
  • Disliked — Vallet service
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LVN2LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Wells Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Wells Resort Hotel

Property: Indian Wells Resort Hotel
Address: 76661 US Highway 111, Indian Wells, CA 92210-8972
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Wells Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Indian Wells Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Wells Hotel Indian Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing