We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, poor everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I spent only one night and almost two days in March for the BNP Paribas Tennis Open. The hotel building is very well located and the rooms are big but old so the furniture, carpets and the decoration needs to be refurbished. Breakfast is just a disaster and the food at the bar is awful. All salads have chicken and although the barman tried to make me happy getting some fish for my salad, the fish was not good. Do NOT ever try it out as it is TOO expensive for an old hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillyG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Front Office Manager at Indian Wells Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We are very sorry that the food was not to your liking. We do try to offer a continental breakfast to all guests to start the day off right. It is not always going to be to every individual persons liking, but for the most part it is a good value. I see that the bar tender did try to help out with a different choice... sorry once again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 721 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Rooms were outdated in a creepy way. Our room smelled like human feces. Staff was beyond rude and weird. Felt like we stepped into the twilight zone. Don't even get me started on entertainment. Lucile would appalled with her picture hanging all over this place with the disgusting condition her hotel is in. I would almost rather sleep on the sidewalk than stay in this piece of crap. Indian wells resort hotel can go screw themselves. I can't wait till the sun is up so I can get out of here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Henryw495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Front Office Manager at Indian Wells Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

So sorry you had a bad experience. As for our staff, I know that we are not rude or even weird. but you must have had an unusual situation. I wish you would have approached myself or any other manager to let us know what caused your bad stay. Truly unfortunate and very sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Lovely evening listening to Frank DeSalvo in the lounge at Indian Wells. He is a terrific entertainer and impersonator. The $10 cover charge is well worth the entertainment he provides. Mostly it is graded to the over 70 crowd, with Sinatra, Davis and Martin being his mainstay. Our dinner selections were good and the costs reasonable. I believe he entertains weekend nights through most of the high season.

Room Tip: We did not stay at this hotel. Just visited the dinner show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jectabernash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Clean and fine for a budget experience. We paid for a "view" room but only got a lower-level pool view so that was a little disappointing. I left a personal item in room after check-out and they claimed it was never found. We passed on the lounge act and went to Vicki's next door for the fun piano bar entertainment.

Room Tip: If you are paying extra for a view room, make sure you request a higher level with a golf & moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Front Office Manager at Indian Wells Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We are sorry that you didn't receive the higher floor room for your view room. You can definitely ask for a specific floor and we will always do our best to accommodate your request, if we can due to occupancy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel will take you back, WAY back! Beautiful grounds, great rooms and memoribillia galore! Great photos of past acts that played here. The guests are all so happy to be here. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Close to shopping and lots of great restaurants.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are cool because they have sliding doors for you to get out and enjoy the weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speeks714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Front Office Manager at Indian Wells Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we have to agree with you regarding the notstalgia of this property. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The lobby greets you with a Lucille Ball/Frank Sinatra decor. The lounge is called "Frank's Place" & features nightly Sinatra era-ish entertainment. Dinner was a bit expensive, but nice American menu choices. Pool area was clean, well kept, but nothing out of the ordinary. Towels provided. Pool lounge with music. Drinks EXTREMELY expensive. Free breakfast buffet, but no scrambled eggs, pancakes, waffles, or peanut butter. The basics only provided. Room was very clean and had all amenities needed. The shower was VERY nicely done.A relaxing vibe with a throw-back feel is what you'll find here. My husband's cell phone was stolen by the pool though & no one turned it in.......so sad ending to an otherwise fabulous stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Front Office Manager at Indian Wells Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are so sorry that your cell phone was not returned, that would definitely put a damper on a trip. Just note that we consistently work on our breakfast menu, and I have passed this forward to our chef. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was very satisfied with my stay here. The room was spacious and modern. It was very clean. It was pretty cool to see the history behind the hotel in the multiple photographs on the wall. We had our own lawn with patio chairs and direct access to the pool which overlooked the golf course. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We wanted extra towels and toiletries due to our kids needing a little more and they brought them immediately. The hotel was beautiful and in a nice area. The kids enjoyed the pool and spa which was beautifully lit at night. I didn't expect much from breakfast due to previous reviews, but, for a complimentary breakfast, it was quite nice. They had a variety of foods, including fruits, waffles, toast, oatmeal, cereal, boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, juices, milk. If you want something more (such as sandwiches, burritos, etc) you can pay a little extra for those items. I thought the complimentary breakfast was a nice and unexpected touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor. You'll get better access to the pool, and your own little ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccabrales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete D, Front Office Manager at Indian Wells Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Our staff appreciates your kind words because we really do try to make everyones stay in the desert special. We hope to see you again soon, when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
4 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#14 of 23 in Palm Desert
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Wells Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Wells Resort Hotel

Address: 76661 US Highway 111, Indian Wells, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92210-8972
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range: $93 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Wells Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indian Wells Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Wells Hotel Indian Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing