We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great desert getaway for couples or families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“great desert getaway for couples or families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a great long weekend at the Miramonte - some thoughts:

Pros:
- Beautiful grounds at this spanish-style resort - very well maintained
- Mid-sized rooms, but well appointed - seemed to be recently remodeled, with comfy beds
- Beautiful pool and spa area, although not huge
- Felt more like a boutique resort than a mega-resort
- Plenty of parking near your room
- Easy and fast check-in/out
- Good service and friendly staff
- Got a great deal on priceline

Cons:
- LOUD - the walls and windows must be paper thin. We like to sleep in on vacation - but the weed wackers were in full effect bright and early. You can hear everyone near your room at even a whisper
- We were there over Easter weekend, but the pool was packed early - not an open chair to be found
- The fridge and safe appeared to be removed - they were charging to use them for your stay (seems like nickel and diming for this type of resort)
- Plan on the $25 resort and $8 parking fee upon checkout

We had a lovely stay and would definitely return - the weather in Palm Desert always seems to be perfect and sunny!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cj_minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Hunt L, Manager at Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback about our resort. We appreciate that you took the time to share your observations of our strengths and weaknesses. I will certainly bring your comments to the attention of our management. We are pleased that we were able to provide you with good service and a well-appointed room. We hope that you will join us again in the future. Thank you, again, for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    440
    247
    103
    71
See reviews for
294
550
65
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Charmed by the Italianesque description, We took 3 generations to the Miramonte for Easter weekend, staying in two connecting and a third "luxury" room. The resort was at capacity, which I was reminded of over and over throughout the stay by staff as they made excuses for poor service. While there is great potential on the property, with lovely grounds of rosé bushes, raised herb garden, firepit, etc., the Miramonte was greatly lacking in the basic niceties to be expected of a hotel at this price point. They were tragically understaffed for a full house and should consider re-evaluating management staff and style.

While any one of these issues might be insignificant alone, the accumulated volume over a brief weekend stay is evidence of greater problems:

- rooms were slightly musty, surprising in the desert

- wifi didn't work in our "villa." It took over an hour to get a call back about the problem. When the manager called, her attempts at troubleshooting were evidence of her inexperience in technology. Eventually, she admitted that the router was broken and would not be repaired until after the weekend, making me wonder why she didn't lead with this tidbit of important info. She FINALLY offered to waive the resort fee for wifi!

- not clean enough. Granddad found a pair of "badly worn" ladies underwear in his bedside drawer. Amusing dinner conversation and fun to hear about from an 84 year old, but made us very suspicious of the white matter caked on the clock in our teenage daughters room.

- Gift shop isn't scheduled to open until 4pm, and didn't open until a harried worker arrived at 4:30 pm, a real frustration for our daughter eagerly waiting to make her purchase.

- No bathrobes, in spite of the sign hanging in the closet announcing that there would be.

- Amenities are of a nice quality, but one of rooms had none, while the other did.

- bring your own bottled water! Bottles in the room are billed at $5 each. This is the desert, it would add a lot to the experience if they were provided at no cost.

- housekeeping had not been to the room by 5 pm. When I called (again met with excuses about a full resort), they made their way over and spent less than 15 minutes whipping through the 2 connecting rooms.

- Bags of trash, towels and piles of room service plates were left in hallways for hours as housekeeping made their rounds.

- The pool area is nothing special, but large with a few lovely cabanas on one side. Luckily we rented one ($150) for the second day. As you will find at all crowded resorts, guests wake early and "reserve" their chair with a towel and book, often hardly using the chair at all. Like all areas of the hotel, pool attendents were understaffed and busy with taking bar and food orders. Dirty towels, food containers, trash, etc., remain on chairs all day making it impossible for guests who are actually present to sit poolside. Several times throughout the weekend the clean towels were totally depleted and it was over an hour before fresh ones arrived. Dirty dishes, cups, etc. are left everywhere.

- Check out took 30 minutes due to overcharging for room rates, Easter brunch, a mistaken charge posted from the gift shop and a failure to post a credit for resort fees (offered by management earlier) in 2 out of the 3 rooms. In short, billing mistakes in every area of the resort amounting to almost $500 in over charges.

The overall design of the resort was beautiful, Easter brunch was well done with a great acoustic guitarist playing throughout. When I asked our server if gratuity was included in the buffet price he said that it was, but that servers don't receive it. All staff was kind and courteous, although clearly overwhelmed. Kids activities were minimal, a minor egg hunt was all that was offered. All personnel were courteous in resolving problems. It takes an extra 20-30 minutes to drive to Indian Wells from the LA area and the inconsistances at Miramonte is not worth the additional hike. All said, we will likely stick to Rancho Las Palmas or Smoke Tree Ranch for future Palm Springs visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, nice mgmt, mediocre property & rooms; decent enough I suppose but missing any discernible "wow" factor. Lots of kids (logical for time of year, end of Spring Break family vacations), decent smaller pool area, nice spa but small. Overall old fashioned & dark decor, restaurant is OK, but again nothing memorable. Lots of guests smoking on room patio areas. This is the kind of hotel that you self drive and park near your specific building and unload baggage. Easy access in and out, great parking, and great location, but not very romantic. I think that it's a nice hotel at the lower room price points but much above $200 per night and I wouldn't be happy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank misshotelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

First, visit Sally the concierge. She booked our rental car, hailed our taxi, recommended shopping & restaurants, even highlighted a map showing the local places we should visit. This was an excellent hotel, great poolside service, a nice hotel cafe with live music, the spa was one of the best and the location to the posh Paseo was convenient! The air conditioner was a bit loud but overall, the room was great. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Mother/teenage daughter trip to the Desert. we booked a $100 priceline stay and enjoyed it immensely! We had a room w/2 queen bed...on the 2nd floor w/sliding glass door..next time will be sure to request a balcony (and stay an extra day!) This was mid-week during Spring Break and it was quiet and relaxing! The staff was so friendly. We only ate breakfast there but it was delicious! Daughter loved the oatmeal with bruleed bananas. My huevos rancheros were the best I've ever had...I lived in the Desert for many years, also Santa Barbara and LA...I know my huevos!
the pool was great and the views spectacular...I do love the view.
Only minor issue...some room service trays were at the foot of the stairs when we arrived and still there the next morning...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyHinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just got back from this great resort and can't say enough good things about it. The grounds are really beautiful and the staff is better than anywhere I have ever stayed. They could not do enough for you. The restaurant was also top notch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back from a 'girls weekend' at the Miramonte Resort & Spa. This property underwent recent renovations and the rooms were impeccably clean, updated, and fantastic. We got a free upgrade (it was my birthday) to a room with a patio and access to a semi-private lawn. At night property was quiet and we couldn't even hear the housekeeping staff cleaning adjoining rooms. I stayed in room 607 and my friends in 612. Staff was excellent, the pool area though small was very enjoyable. Only complaint was the Spa - we tried to get a weekend pass and were told they were not available and all services booked. Staff was not very friendly in comparison to front desk and other employees.

Room Tip: downstairs rooms have sliding door with access to patio/garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Property: Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Address: 45000 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, CA 92210-8790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Indian Wells, 15 miles from Palm Springs, the Miramonte Resort & Spa features relaxing dining options, a world-class day spa and nearby championship golf courses. The resort also features three swimming pools, a fitness center and a host of convenient amenities to put you at ease. The hotel joined the Curio Collection by Hilton in December 2016 and participates in the Hilton HHonors program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramonte Resort And Spa
Miramonte Hotel Indian Wells
Miramonte Resort Indian Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing