We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 4, 2008

This is not a resort. A few folks posted that it's a high class motel or a 4 star motel and those observations are true. The layout is disorganized and you're led to a parking lot. The entrance is not very grand. This is not a resort more like a beefed up courtyard marriott. i planned to visit the spa, but cancelled b/c my friend who had her treatment said the spa is small and coed. This was disappointing. The redeeming factor is that the rooms are new and that the location is central to some of the activities.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank abitofsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
There are newer reviews for Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,463 - 1,469 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2007

I had read the good reviews and was somehow expecting a bit more than I found. The grounds were very nice but I felt the outside of the buildings needed some sprucing up. The stucco around our door was dirty, our balcony's stucco was dirty and stained. The room itself was very nicely furnished and the bedding, upholstered chairs, things like that were really nice. The vent above our bathroom sink looked like it had a gray fur sweater stuffed up there. Our clock was not working, room safe did not work. On the other hand, staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. The beds were VERY soft, if you like that sort of thing. And worst of all..........cheap toilet paper!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

We chose the Miramonte after staying at the Esmerelda during our last visit. We really enjoyed the privacy of our casita and the beautiful grounds of the hotel. The Miramonte is a better choice for adults travelling without children and those who seek some peace and quiet.

The room was good sized and extremely comfortable. Water pressure was excellent and and the bed was terrific. The workout room was more than adequate and the pools were lovely. The concierge made arrangements for court time at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden which was quite an experience.

We ate at the pool a couple of days and lunch was delicious. There was a minor error in the bill upon checkout but the staff was quick to remedy that. We'll stay here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Greataunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Our Stay can only be descirbed in one word "Magical". Everyone was so wonderful and the service was great. The rooms where spacious and very clean. The view of the Mountians was beautiful. We will always make this our special place to go each year.


Happy in LA

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank trupti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Booked on Hotwire for $173/night.

Pleasant grounds, "mediterranean style" means, apparently, no elevator for 2nd floor rooms. Rooms are average size, appointments are above-average. Outstanding toiletries.

Staff are pleasant, helpful.

Some nits to pick:
* internet access was interrupted / unavailable for a period -- unacceptable in a hotel of this class. They need to improve the service (I will spare details, but if 'net access is important to you, I would recommend staying elsewhere)
* staffing levels in kitchen / food area are low. Supernice guys (willing to do a special order for room service), but they are overworked and need help.

I am assuming that I got a "deal" on hotwire, esp. given the location and quality of the landscaping (high). For this price, ALL details should be perfect - substandard internet access is just this side of not having the telephone work. Tsk.

Staff are first-rate, grounds very pretty, nice setting.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank Danhedonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in September on a Fri/Sat for our first anniversary. We wanted a calm, relaxing trip to unwind and celebrate. We chose The Miramonte because I love Indian Wells and I wanted to try the The Well Spa.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the valet when we pulled up to the front. Our intention was for me to wait in the car while my husband checked in, but the valet attendant seemed nervous that we might block traffic or that our car would have to be moved even though we were out of the way and it seemed like a loading zone. We opted to get out and gave him the keys. Check in was smooth, we were offered a key to the mini bar in our room which we declined. The lobby was pleasant, the staff we met was very friendly. We drove around the property to where our room was located. Parking wasn't impossible, but we had to park a fair distance from our room a couple of times during peak hours. The location of the hotel is very conveinent to other areas such as La Quinta and Palm Springs.

We had the most basic, standard room. It boasted a very comfortable bed and a fairly spacious "living" area with a couch, table/desk, etc. While it was clean, I noticed that there was some grime on the wall and switchplates, and the garbage under the vanity sink hadn't been emptied. It wasn't a big deal, but given the price, I thought it should be a tad more pristine. At 7 months pregnant, I couldn't take advantage of a big whirlpool bathtub if I wanted to, but if I could, the room didn't have one. It had the typical Holiday Inn type of bath/shower, which I thought was very small, but the water pressure and the temp was GREAT. The bathroom itself was small but adequate, and there is a separate vanity outside the bathroom that I appreciated for doing make-up, etc. We had a sliding glass door and a view of the pool/jacuzzi, but no balcony on which to sit.

The grounds were very beautiful and very well maintained. Tons of pretty flowers, fountains, benches and green grass. We really enjoyed strolling around the property. We're early risers, and when we returned from breakfast at about 8:30 am, the yard crew was already at work with very loud clipper machines and were shouting back and forth over the noise. I'm sure that wasn't pleasant for those staying in nearby rooms.

We ate at the restaurant once. It was good, and the desserts were divine. There was a jazz guitar player providing entertainment.

The Well Spa was wonderful. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The entire set-up was very professional and comfortable. We checked in, and the process of paying for services was very simple. We were given a very nice tour of the facility and all of the amenities were explained. The women's locker room was very nice and well maintained. I especially appreciated the ice cold washcloths and generously sized towels. There are two shower stalls and a steam room. It was definately busy at the spa, but it wasn't overly crowded. The lounge area where guests wait to be lead away by their aesthetitian was very pleasant with nice, comfy chaises to lay on, but they filled up quickly and some people had to stand. My massage session was awesome-- the therapist was super nice and professional. My husband's cabana was located closer to the main pool and he said it was very noisy. Guests have use of the pool facility within the spa compound, one is heated, the other is not. There is very limited seating/lounging, and I noticed quite a few people turning away when they realized there were no vacant spots to sit and were pretty annoyed. Food service was available if you wanted to have lunch by the pool.

The general pool area is nice... big pool, lots of seating, plenty of towels that are replenished regularly. It does get crowded mid-day. We did not hang out there because my husband did not like the noise level of the steel-drum band (the music was good, it was just really loud). We grabbed a tropical cocktail ($8) and a fruit smoothie ($6) and hung out elsewhere.

I had a great time here... I don't know that I will rush back as a hotel guest, but I will definately return to The Well Spa.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TeacherTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Nice hotel, very pleasant. The bed was plush and comfortable. Everything was clean and tidy. The concierge called in advance to ask if I needed anything, which was a lovely surprise: I've rarely had that happen. It was easy to find and not far from the shopping in Indian Wells. The first five minutes on the business internet was free, and that was all I needed, so that was a plus. The food was very good: I was quite happy with it. I never had a bad meal there. My only complaint was that the layout of the grounds was very confusing. It was hard to figure out how to get from my room to the main lodge: I never really figured it out, even though I examined a map more than once. It would be helpful to have more signs.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DCKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
3.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.6 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Address: 45000 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92210-8790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range: $170 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the desert, all resorts are an oasis, but only one is the Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa. Nestled at the base of the Santa Rosa Mountains, Miramonte’s 215 guestrooms, suites & villas are woven into 11 acres of citrus groves, rose & herb gardens. Bougainvillea-covered villas welcome guests to their soothing sanctuary retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramonte Resort And Spa
Miramonte Hotel Indian Wells
Miramonte Resort Indian Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing