We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Property...GREAT for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Older Property...GREAT for kids”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

Stayed the night here recently after spending 4 nights at Westin Mission Hills. Wanted to check out this place since it had such great reviews. Wish I would have stayed at the Westin.

This place is old and no where near the quality of the Westin. If you have young children, this is the place for you. The pool is set up for kids and the movie on the lawn at night which can be watched from the pool area is great.

The room was OK, again everything is old and dated. Several areas of the hotel are not air conditioned or very limited. We did reserve a corner room as suggested on this site and it was huge. The floor on the right side of the bed was soaking wet to the point of puddling water and getting worse. Called twice with promises that it would be fixed and never was. Tried to avoid it but did forget a few times and got a nice swoosh of water on my bare foot..yuck!

Pool in all fairness was OK. We did go in at the end of the day and with the sand area for the kids, the bottom of the pool pretty much had sand from one end to another which I didn't care for. There were servers on duty but no one ever approached us unlike the Westin where they not only checked on us once we were served but brought us glasses of ice water without even being asked.

Maybe we were just spoiled by the Westin but I would not return to this hotel and not recommend it to anyone other then someone with small children.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jaknix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    425
    136
    70
    49
See reviews for
361
314
38
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
northridge, california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

Just returned from a one night stay at the Esmeralda Resort. Let me get this out of the way first...yes, there were kids and families everywhere. If you're looking for a place to ponder your existence on Earth go someplace else. This is not the place for you. However, if you're planning on bringing your kids and, or extended families, then it might be an option. My wife and I chose to leave our kids behind and make a romantic weekend out of it. First of all.... the resort is huge and requires quite a bit of walking to get around. The pool scene was a maze of kids and flotation devices. The pool itself is fairly large and had a waterfall device that all the kids went crazy about. We commented that our kids would have liked it as well. One thing I did notice was the GREEN ALGAE in several spots of the pool. Some better scrubbing and or chlorine may be needed with all the guests. Are you listening, HOTEL MANAGEMENT. Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable, and this is coming from someone with a chronic bad back. The bathroom was also good size and clean. We had some drinks at the pool and as usual, they were 10 bucks a pop. However, what were you expecting...$3 pina coladas?...not gonna happen. For dinner, we drove a few miles down highway 111 and ate at Ruth Chris Steakhouse. Excellent meal. Highly recommended. As for the resort food, the only thing we had was a burger by the pool. It was good and arrived hot. The poolside service was very good. Our drinks and food arrived pretty quickly. Parking at the resort filled up quickly and we ended up valet parking at night. It cost 22 bucks. Our room cost 160.00 a night, certainly not outrageous for a resort like this. Then again, it is low season. If you like the heat, come on down. All in all, it is a nice resort. If you're thinking about heading to the desert with family and kids, the Esmeralda should be at the top of your list. However, If you want to meditate, find a Joshua Tree and lay down.

  • Liked — clean and nice size rooms.
  • Disliked — Too many kids at the pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

If you don't have young children, and we didn't, this might not be the hotel for you. We just got back from a weekend stay. The hotel staff was nice enough (the concierge Kate is wonderful) and the room was fine. There were, however, very young children everywhere. My teens were okay with that, thank goodness they like little kids, but if you are looking for a quiet getaway this definitely is not the place for you. If you have older children, they also may find the pool boring - 3ft everywhere and nothing to do, i.e. a waterslide. I tried to read a book poolside and the noise level -- because of the young ones -- made it nearly impossible. I wouldn't stay here again, but I would recommend it to my sister who has a 1 year old.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgh4ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

The service here is so impeccable that I hate writing anything negative about the hotel. Everyone bent over backwards to see that we wanted for nothing, the service was so phenomenal it was like a 5 star hotel from that perspective. The room and bathroom were lovely and the food better than most hotels at this level. So what is the negative?: The pool.....it was so packed (and this was the middle of summer when it is almost 110 degrees) it was hard to find a chair and the chairs are so close together it was hard to walk. I felt bad for the servers who wove their way in and out. The pool was mediocre (and it's not 5 pools as the website says-its one big pool area broken up with concrete walkways) and not very clean. Clearly a family hotel, it was wall to wall kids with all sorts of things in the pool which made it even more crowded. If you have kids, this would be a great place. If you want to relax, it's a big no....

  • Liked — Service, room
  • Disliked — pool, noisiness, crowded
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinghopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

We recently returned from a weekend stay at another hotel that was pricier than this one and realized what a wonderful stay we had at the Esmeralda.

We stayed for a long weekend at the end of March. We found this hotel to be extremely kid-friendly from the beginning when our daughter was given a goody bag at check-in.

The room was very comfortable and clean. Since it faced the central open courtyard we thought it would be noisy but it wasn't.

The pool was perfect. Not too deep and quite big. We could always find chairs and there were numerous floating mats to be had. The small beach area was a big hit and they even provided sand toys. We were very impressed with the poolside food service. It was efficient, courteous, and the food was hot on arrival. They also had a number of healthier options!

While we were there, they had a "dive-in" movie which was a big hit with our daughter. She got to watch a movie from the pool and lounge in a pool chair. What a treat!

We were also very impressed by the on-site restaurant. They had a kids eat free policy so we never paid for our daughter's food and they brought her a special dessert for her birthday.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for a quick LA getaway. I think it would be fabulous in the heat of the summer because the rates go down and the pool is great.

  • Liked — Great service and pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candyice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

This is the best Resort I have stayed at. The Italian Sirocco Rest. was the best I have ever eaten at! The rooms were elegent and the staff very accomodating a friendly.
The pool had a great feel, not the kids that the other review showed? A great stay....

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank walshbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
236 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

The Renaissance Esmeralda Resort and Spa is located at the edge of Palm Springs, on extensive grounds and with all of the glitter that you would expect of a five-star Marriott property. The hotel, located half an hour from the airport, is built around a large and airy interior atrium, which opens onto a vast pool area. There is an attached golf course, and the hotel looks geared towards the convention and meeting trade with entry-level shops and starbucks, large lower-level meeting rooms, and spacious executive rooms. The staff is friendly, attentive, and visible: you seldom go anywhere without being greeted with a smile. The restaurants are quick and efficient, and the food is good. ***

Check-in is handled attentively in a separate lobby to the far right of the main entrance: clerks are calling out to help as you enter the lobby. There are large public and promonade spaces leading to the guest elevators, and rooms are arranged around the large atrium and on wings extending around the pool area. The rooms are large and comfortable, outfitted in warm desert tones with firm beds, large working desk, TV, minibar, and a small porch. The bathroom is large, with the toilet in a separate alcove from the main washbasins and shower-tub. The water is slow to warm up and of moderate pressure, they have a large array of toiletries included on the counter. ***

All in all, this should be a 4-star property: however, there are innumerable little things that they just don't get. Coffee in the room was only replaced every couple of days; towels were taken away without being replaced (I had to chase down the maid), At meals, the fish was somewhat dry and there never seemed to be a sauce: we couldn't get the waiter to bring wine for dinner. The pool bar closed at 9 pm one day, 4 pm the next (there is a small and grumpy bar just inside from the pool and a large adult's-only lounge with music and dancing further inside the hotel). Public telephones had been removed from the meeting area; there was a 9.95 per day charge for in-room internet access. The golf course is dug up for rennovation. ***

Unusually, the weekdays and weekend that we were there, the hotel was absolutely filled with small children (<10 y.o.). I love kids, but in this case they completely overwhelmed the pool (they show cartoon movies for an in-pool party each evening), the public areas, and the elevators. Coupled with several large weddings also on the property, the hotel can feel very busy and crowded despite the extensive spaces. ***

It was surprising to find so many small lapses in a property with the infrastructure and staff in place to be so much better: avoid rooms overlooking the pool and plan on having cocktails early...

  • Liked — Facilities, staff
  • Disliked — Internet fees, spotty room service, strange restaurant service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
3.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Address: 44400 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, CA 92210-8708 (Formerly Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing