We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS WAS OUR MAKE OR BREAK VISIT,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were asked to go back by rooms director after a lacklustre performance by hotel last Christmas,New year.So we went back with a promise of getting it right,couldnt be further from the truth,we booked for 17 nights,room make up was always late despite complaining,always something missing like coffee or water or towels,asked for extra armchair and got a chaise longe,when told they bought a hard backed chair,this continued right through our stay.So we told management this is our last visit,will find another hotel that trys harder next year.
Agreat pity relly as swe have made friends with a lot of the very nice staff there.Marriott neewd to get up to seed at this resort it is very lacklustre for supposedly a four star resort.

Room Tip: Dont bother try Hyatt next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PENANGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive remarks about our team’s friendliness. We apologize that your room was not refreshed early each day and with the correct amenities. Additionally, we are very sorry that we did not deliver the correct style of chair to your room. Please know that we have shared your comments with our staff as our goal is to provide a true home- away-from-home sanctuary and we realize that we came up short for you in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here in mid-December. This is a beautiful hotel with very friendly staff, nice large room with a great view, and a comfy bed. The surrounding area is gorgeous and peaceful. Enjoyed several nice breakfasts at their causal restaurant, Cava. Their lemon risotto pancakes are particularly yummy. There was however one big negative which may preclude me from staying at this hotel again and from giving it an excellent rating, and that is that many of the rooms, including mine, face out to a beautiful atrium area where the bar is located. This meant that I could hear loud music, loud talking, singing and bar games that lasted each night til 1 a.m. IF I stayed here again I would know to ask for a room away from the atrium area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy atrium area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cswy822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind words about our resort and team. The lemon risotto pancakes are indeed yummy! We make every effort to ensure that all elements of your stay are excellent and we very sorry to hear about the noise disturbance. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights after Christmas. The lobby was beautiful and nicely decorated for the holidays, the rooms were large and comfortable (although did experience noisy AC issue as stated by previous traveler). Staff is very friendly, Cava served a nice breakfast. We especially enjoyed the outdoor seating by the pool, and drinks by the fire pits at night. My only complaints are that the tennis courts are poorly maintained (only 2 courts) and clearly not a priority for this property, and the hallways are very institutional feeling. Not a deal breaker, just odd. I would stay again, as overall, it was pleasant, close to El Paseo drive for boutique as well as nice chain store shopping. A recommendation for honest to goodness New York deli food is relatively nearby "Shermans Deli". An unexpected treat in the desert. We also went to Old La Quinta. It is close by, pretty scenery, with a small shopping/restaurant area. Not a must do, but a pleasant area to stroll, have a snack,

Room Tip: North facing rooms had a nice view of the golf course, distant mountains, and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed here before, but this visit stood out as a great experience for New Year's Eve. The whole staff was extremely friendly and helpful, including the reception desk, restaurant and employees passing you in the hall. We were even greeted by the maintenance people as we walked to the parking lot. It was a nice touch getting an email after our visit, thanking us for coming. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and thought the food was very fresh, plus a nice selection. We'll be back.

Room Tip: They do have rooms away from the noise in the main area, you just need to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CucamongaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

We so appreciated hearing your positive comments about our friendly and helpful team during your stay over the holidays and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here with my sister for the New Years holiday and had a fabulous time. Because of rewards standing, we got all sorts of complimentary upgrades, which doesn't hurt, but I'm sure we would have had just as good a time in a basic room with no frills. Check in was seamless, we worked with Jackie at the front desk who combined our two one-night reservations before we even showed up so we wouldn't have any snags with needing to change rooms halfway through our stay. Our room was ginormous, corner-view, enough room to do gymnastics, two closets, and a spacious bath. I especially loved the mid-century desert architecture wallpaper in the toilet room. The breakfast buffet was understandably expensive, but delicious and with lots of options including a juice bar (though we were looking for greek yogurt at the buffet... hinthint). And our time at the spa was great, my hot stone massage from Patricia was just perfect and she was lovely. The only negative to the whole stay, honestly, was overhearing less-than-gracious fellow guests complaining to staff (who handled everything well) or being unnecessarily loud in the spa area... but that's too bad for them because we were having a great time.

I would return to the property in a heartbeat, and probably will.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SissieJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We wanted a relaxing, fun, New Year celebration with friends who live in the desert. We ended up with sleepless nights, due to the sheets not fitting the bet and coming off and the mattress pad was not fitted so it wrinkled up all night. The noisy a/c blowing in our faces in bed. The smell of vomit in the hallways, poor room service, poor food at the hotel and kids banging on walls. I would never stay at this hotel again. There was mold in the corners of the shower. We had a suite which was fairly large, but poorly appointed. Sunbrella fabrics, so the sofa could be sponged off! It took 45 minutes to get wine glasses for a cocktail party 2 days before New Year. The cleaning people made excuses on why it took 7 hours to get to our suite to clean. One maid has on very heavy perfume so our rooms reaked after she left. Also they were constantly blocking the hallways up until 5:00pm. Not enough staff to clean the rooms. The grounds of the hotel were the only beautiful areas, however, they were trimming around the pool area very early, 8:00am.

Room Tip: We had a suite and the $450.00 was not worth it. The room was on the back side of the hotel overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crownpacificgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceEsmeralda, General Manager at Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

We were very sorry to hear about your experience with us over New Year’s and want to assure you that your comments are being reviewed by our team and are being addressed immediately. I would very much like to speak to you directly and can be reached at 760-773-4444 or by email to my assistant at Dilly.Perera@renaissancehotels.com and I will respond at once.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Everything was perfect with our stay last October and all our stays. The service is impeccable and the room is beautiful. Marriott treats their guests like GOLD.... It is a lovely oasis. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaK-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
3.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Address: 44400 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92210-8708 (Formerly Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range: $226 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esmeralda Hotel Indian Wells
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort And Spa
Renaissance Indian Wells
Indian Wells Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing