We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 7, 2005

I just stayed at this Hyatt over Memorial Day weekend, and our family had a wonderful time. There were six of us: 2 couples in their 30s and 40s and our parents who are in their 70s. There was something fun we all could enjoy. We spent our days at the Oasis Pool, the only adults-only pool at the resort. This pool was really relaxing, pretty quiet but busy enough, and the service to get food and cocktails was excellent. Cabanas were available, but not necessary. The food at the resort was really good. We only ate lunch and breakfast there, but to eat overlooking the golf course or poolside (or to get Starbucks from the lobby espresso place) was great. This was actually our second visit to the Grand Champions, and I know we'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maverick8275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,381 - 2,387 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2005

Great view. Nice rooms. This should be a four or five star hotel and yet it often fails to meet my expectations. On several visits our room wasn't ready on arrival. On one visit the first room we were in overlooked the parking lot even though we had reserved the golf course view. On another visit we paid for the Regancy Club but were disappointed by the number of unsupervised children in the club.

To there credit they eventually fix the problems, but you don't go to a nice hotel to deal with problems.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoClherrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2005

Stayed for a Mothers Day weekend overnight. Have used the HGC previously. Saturday at the adult pool was full - but not unconfortably so. Good Cabana bar and the poolside service was responsive. The fitness center is excellent and the Spa is second to none. I used to think the Marriott Desert Springs had the best spa in the desert - no more. Quality surroundings and excellent service. The rooms are good, not extravagant. The bathrooms are large and plush. The balconies are small and offer little separation from the adjoining room's. As mentioned in a previous review, I also noticed the walls to be on the thin side hearing a speaking tone conversation in the nexr room at 6:00AM. I've stayed previously in the hotel's Regency Club - it wasn't worth free. The breakfast and hors d'oueuve hour look like seagulls at a landfill (and they charge you for any alcoholic drinks). A Starbucks located at the ground level is great.

Overall an enjoyable experience. The general pools can be mass mayhem with kids, but the adult pool takes the edge off.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hennepin, Illinois-(approximately 2 hrs form Chicago)
11
Reviewed May 3, 2005

Businness trip of significant other-as i tagged along. First trip to California for me--Great view and weather!! Facial was excellent-great spa. Room like a hotel, but spacious bathroom, living area. I did enjoy the stay-wished I could have stayed longer!!! Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Huntington Beach, CA
523
Reviewed April 20, 2005

I stayed at the Hyatt Grand Champions on Saturday March 5, 2005 for just one night with my husband and six year old son. We booked through priceline and got the rate of $115 for the night which was a great deal. The hotel lobby is very nice and has the usual large conference hotel feel. Our room was a large double overlooking the golf course with a nice view. While the room was large it had the same overall feeling of the hotel, a very thin veneer of quality that when more closely examined is really pretty shabby. The hallways of the hotel are very narrow and the balcony off the room is open to the balcony of the rooms on either side so there is no privacy if you want to use it. The furnishing were just ok, nothing special - although the room was quite large with a separate sitting area.

The pools were nice, especially the adult pool. The family area pools were not as well maintained, ie. debris and suds in the jacuzzi.

The hotel shares a golf course with the Renaissance Esmeralda next door but overall the Hyatt didn't have the feeling of space and luxury that you would expect from what is normally a very expensive resort.

It was a good deal at $115 but I would have been very disappointed had I paid there normal rate of about $250.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2005

Stayed at the Hyatt Grand Champions in March 2005 and the hotel and staff were very accommodating. Spa was especially wonderful. Pool area and cabanas were great. Fabulous room overlooking the golf course. Service was excellent - valet parked the car and it was always waiting when I called - always staff available and very helpful and friendly. Maid service was good. Room service was efficient and food arrived well prepared. Did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmc876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2005

At 7AM, the dads sprint to the pool to claim chairs with towels, newspapers and Hyatt magazines. By 8AM, every single chair in the vicinity of the pool is claimed, although a mere handful of people are actually at the pool. The staff refuse to do anything about it, and we resorted to being early morning sprinters, too, in order to have chairs for our family, but it was a stressful start to each vacation day.
We were staying on the Club level, and it seemed like everyone else was, too. There were lines for the bagels and lines for the toaster and lines for the juice and scrambling for a table regardless of the time that we arrived.
We were grossed out by the fact that used room service dishes are not cleared from the hallways for hours...we saw dinner dishes festering in the morning and breakfast dishes reeking in the afternoon. We talked to Housekeeping about it, and they said we'd need to call Room Service to pick up the dishes. Really? Every day? To clear our neighbor's dishes?
This is basically a convention hotel with a good location because of the great sunshine in the desert. You would be better off booking another hotel in the desert...The Hyatt is overwhelmed by crowds and cannot manage the mobs.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paloaltomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Wells
3.6 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
12.9 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#19 of 74 in Palm Springs
176 reviews
4.5 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
7.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Address: 44600 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92210-8707
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Indian Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Indian Wells
Price Range: $194 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa is a renowned Indian Wells resort situated on a 45-acre desert oasis. We offer delightful Indian Wells, California resort activities to occupy your days of leisure in whatever way pleases you the most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Grand Champions Resort, Villas Hotel Indian Wells
Hyatt Indian Wells
Indian Wells Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing