We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Don Diego's of Indian Wells
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Indian Wells
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
temecula
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I loved my combo platter...chips and salsa were excellent as was service but my sons ordered the tostado grande and both complained about lettuce not being drained properly...so heads up if you order this item to mention to server.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank iluvthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    78
    35
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ladera Ranch, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try the Fiesta Hour!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We live about 5 minutes away from this great little Mexican restaurant and love going there for the Fiesta Hour. Don't get me wrong, any meal is good... we've had breakfast, lunch, and regular dinners there too. However, we're generally just looking to pop in, have some great food and a margarita for a really good price and get home and the Fiesta Hour Menu is where it's at! Amazing choices for one or two dollars.... try the chicken taco... incredible.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palmdesertdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy happy happy good spot”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

we spilled a drink, and were immediately surrounded by 4 people wiping it up,.. and then we were not charged for the Margarita, which is famously good!... Then there was a really good strolling guitar player who also had social grace and never was 'in your face'. Nice sense of bustle and laughter, every one of the 5 or 7 times we've been there this month.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Locals and Snow Birds!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This restaurant has great food, potent Margaritas and is slightly off the high tourist area. Don Diego's is at the corner of Cook and Highway 111 in Indian Wells (close to Renaissance Esmeralda). If the weather is nice, you can sit in the patio. Okay, the patio looks out into a strip mall parking lot, but it is really very nice.

The food is consistent; always hot and tasty; and service is very good. My favorites are the gazpacho and the Chile Relleno Tia Maria. The Chile Relleno Tia Maria seems really weird, with shredded beef, bananas, raisins, olives, capers, walnuts. I know, it sounds odd, but it is fabulous! Try it and report back here, please!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Meet Friends, Make Friends”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Conveniently located on Highway 111 whether you're about to go out to local sights or coming off a shopping trip in the area you're bound to be pleased with your stop by Don Diego's. If you're meeting enthusiastic friends, best choose the outdoor seating. sparkling fountain cools off even warmer afternoons and the umbrellas over each table offers shade and intimacy. The wait staff is prompt and friendly with suggestions and explanations of the offerings. Try the California-sized nacho plate piled high with everything you might want, then add the marguritas -- the in house ones are good -- no need to pay twice as much for top shelf. While the place was busy, there is no effort made to rush customers on their way, so sit back, enjoy the conversation and let the afternoon slip into evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Diego's of Indian Wells also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Indian Wells, Greater Palm Springs
 
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Don Diego's of Indian Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing