We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value....great margaritas”

Don Diego's of Indian Wells
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Indian Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value....great margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a nice atmosphere and the food was good too. I had chicken tacos and my husband had fish tacos. Both were good. They have fancier things on the menu but we wanted something simple. It's not gournet but it was fresh and nicely served. The prices were reasonable and the atmosphere good. We were here in September and it was busy so I magine from November to March it could be difficult to get into if you are looking for a 7pm reservation. I would defintiely recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoPalmDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    75
    34
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfside, Calif., USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don Diego's Fine Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Don Diego's at Cook and Highway 111 in Indian Wells is an excellent choice for desert type casual dining. Food & Service are superior. Margaritas come in three sizes, the small is bigger than you will find elsewhere, the medium will last through dinner and the large will serve two or more. Fajitas and fish tacos are our favorites, recommended to all, but there is a wide variety from which to choose.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unpleasant Surprise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were 3 couples, in the patio bar. Food, drinks, and service were average. My husband went inside to pay the bill, as a surprise for our hosts and their friends. He is a generous guy and left a good tip, in cash. At the time, he had not realized that the restaurant had added a 20% service charge to the bill. The worst part was that the hostess did not mention the service charge when my husband handed her the $20 for a tip. If he had paid the whole thing by credit card we would have had some recourse. In the end, we felt very, very ripped-off!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank podseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Don Diego of Indian Wells”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have eaten here for three years during the month of January and the food, drinks and service is always excellent.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RB4775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Had a wonderful lunch with a friend at Don Diego's yesterday. The food was excellent. My Taco Salad was delicious and my friend's chicken fajitas were excellent as well. The drinks were always refilled and the prices were very reasonable. Kudos to Dave and his team for making us feel like family.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Diego's of Indian Wells also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Indian Wells, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Indian Wells, California Desert
 

Been to Don Diego's of Indian Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing