We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Wells Golf Resort

Indian Wells Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Upscale 36-hole facility offers two world-class layouts designed by Ted Robinson, which were recently featured on GOLF Magazine's 1996 list of "Silver Medal Resorts."
Vancouver
Level Contributor
171 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This pair of municipal golf courses used to be in the mid-range, pricewise, for playing in the area. Then millions were spent on upgrades, the prices doubled, and the mini-city of Indian Wells put even more money in the till.

We played the Celebrity course with a local resident at $65 per. The front nine is pretty but not very interesting as a challenge of golf; the back nine is less fancily decorated but has some really fascinating holes. The clubhouse restaurant is overpriced but has the best potato chips you will ever eat. Course service was adequate but not particular warm and friendly.

Overall, it's a unique golfing experience, not one you're likely to forget.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    22
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Public Golf Courses in the Desert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

These are the nicest public golf courses in the desert! A little pricey if you don't know a resident.
Residents can have guests for $65! The clubhouse is spectacular as well!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kharinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Resort has 36 holes, and 2 VERY different golf courses. Both are spectacular. One of the top Public Courses I've ever played. The service is even better than the courses. The clubhouse is unbelievable. It is truely a gofl desitnation. If you're going to Palm Springs to play golf, DO NOT MISS THIS COURSE!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank I3putt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Golf Tournament”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was redone a couple of years ago and they did a wonderful job. Had lunch and that was very good too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pampered on the golf course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have played at many nice public courses, but the service at Indian Wells was beyond anything we ever experienced before. I am not sure if it was the heat (107) keeping people off the course, or if this was normal, but it seamed we had our own golf assistant.
Let's start with the first hole - the starter welcomed us by name and provided ice cold mango scented towels to help beat the heat. He also introduced us to our on the course assistant. We were visited every 3-4 holes, offered beverages, ice .... to help us beat the heat. Many of the courses we played in late August did not even have a beverage cart, much less one you saw every 30 - 45 minutes.
The course itself was very well maintained with moderate sized and speed greens. Very well landscaped, only 2nd to Desert Willow in terms of course landscaping and beauty. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rkaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Wells Golf Resort also viewed

Indian Wells, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Indian Wells, California Desert
Indian Wells, California Desert
 

Been to Indian Wells Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing