We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh baby!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tapatio Restaurant Catering

El Tapatio Restaurant Catering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh baby!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Why is the south bay saturated with so many amazing restaurants? In my book, El Tapatio is one of four 'Excellent'-rated Mexican food restaurants in Imperial Beach alone. But El Tap is one of two of the four that 'Excellent' can't quite describe. Yay!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank YuckYummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is the Real Deal and Great Prices as well!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

El Tapatio is a small restaurant (about 7 tables) but the food is just wonderfull. We live about 25 miles away but make the trek to El Tapatio for our Mexican food fix more often than we should. The Soft Taco Carne Asada's are absolutely authentic and taste wonderful. The Chilli Reano Burrito is to die for. The service is friendly and the salsa is freshly made. Be careful the freshness means that the heat factor changes from visit to visit. We learned that with the salsa the hard way. But if you want real deal Mexican food for a great price this is the place for you.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I've been going to "El Tap" for years. For consistently good food and a real "Beachie" atmosphere, this is where it's happening. I love their chicken taco and fish taco specials, which include rice and beans. Ask for "salsa fresca" with your chips for a delicious freshly made onion, tomato and hot sauce mix, great on your food or with the corn chips that are complimentary and come with every meal.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IBLocalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

Good service, very good and cheap tacos, I recommend the carna asada tacos. Also cheap wine.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amanz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, ct
Level Contributor
417 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

A staple in Imperial Beach, I'm told. Visited here on this trip - very good food, reasonable. Cozy atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sullific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio Restaurant Catering also viewed

 
Imperial Beach, CA
 
Imperial Beach, CA
Imperial Beach, CA
 

Been to El Tapatio Restaurant Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing