We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family vacation spot”
Review of The Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Imperial Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Club
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A great family vacation spot”
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Our group spent 5 nights in condo #103 during the middle of July 2010 and had a wonderful time. We booked through Jeanne - http://www.jeannes-beach-villas.com/ibc.htm after finding her ad online. My wife and I traveled with her parents and our 2 year old son, and selected this property for its proximity to the ocean. Imperial Beach, which we had never visited before, turned out to be pretty gritty and pretty great. It has a long pier with many fisherman and many seal and dolphin sightings. It's about 300 ft from the condo. About 30 surfers are in the water day and night.

(Take a look at my pictures!) Directly across from the patio is a playground and picnic tables. This small park is packed with people during the weekend, with many families setting up tents and spending the whole day there. The beach area right by the condo is very popular during the day, but in the mornings and evenings it is nice and quiet. This particular room has one of the largest patios in the building, and is one of the few located on the beach. However, you cannot access the beach without going through and around the building, unless you are willing to jump the railing into the sand.

The rooms were not updated, but still fine for us. One only had 2 twin beds, which was not a perfect match for the couple staying in it. The other room was a nice master suite. The pool and jacuzzi were right outside the door, which was very convenient. The underground parking garage with 2 spots made things easy. There is wireless internet. The Beach Club Grill is downstairs, we had an ok lunch there. San Diego was 25 minutes away, but since we were paying for this beach location, we spent the majority of our time right at the condo, enjoying the patio and the beautiful ocean. This seemed to us to be one of the best rooms in this large building, and for just picking it online it was a really great find.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank some_honest_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We have stayed there two years in a row now and plan on going back again next year. The location is fabulous, clean beaches, wonderful views. You can actually swim with the dolphins. Great laid back place with friendly people. Very close to attractions if you want to go or plenty to do if you just want to hang out and relax. I love the pool and jacuzzi and the BBQ area. You just can't beat it! I also was very impressed with the local life guards...they are always on the ball and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kurtnsara6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom condo. Grandma and Grandpa had the master bedroom.. My husband and I and our 2 toddlers took the second bedroom which had a Queen and a twin. (They both fit in the Twin.) There was also a pull out couch in our unit, but we didn't use it. There was plenty of room for everyone. The view is breathtaking. You are RIGHT on the beach. We saw dolphins playing in the ocean from our 2nd floor balcony twice during our one week stay! There is a large sandy beach perfect for making sand castles. In fact just down the beach they have a huge sand castle competition every July. If you go during the rainy season, be aware that the beach will most likely be closed to swimming after a heavy rain because it is very close to Tijuana and gets the runoff from the Tijuana River which is basically raw sewage. But we were there in June and the beach was open every day. The beach was clean and not too crowded.

Imperial Beach does not have the touristy hotels, restaurants or quaint shops you'll find in Coronado or La Jolla. We saw a lot of locals at the playground right next to the complex. You could say it is a bit "seedy" but we felt safe in the complex, they have good security. Besides you would have to pay a lot more for a comparable condo in one of the more upscale areas. The complex is well laid out and has an inner court with a pool, jacuzzi and bbq grills. There is underground garage parking for 2 vehicles per unit. The kitchen was decently stocked. They do not have internet access, but who wants to be on the computer when your at the beach.

Everyone in the family had a great time and we plan on returning to the Imperial Beach Club next year.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank REIMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Maine
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

LOVED THE LOCATION!! We had 2 2-bed units that were supposed to be side by side and rented through a rental agency. One of the units had bugs and was below average, the other was fantastic. They did move some out of the "buggy" condo while they fixed it (a couple of days) then back again. We LOVE the location!!! and the other unit was super duper! There is a vast range in quality. The pool was clean and not many using it, everything (stores and restaurants) is nearby. We watched dolphins and seals!! Overall absolutely a wonderful family vacation!!

  • Liked — 1 unit-PERFECT
  • Disliked — 2nd unit below average
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CentralMEgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2006

Our Family Stayed in a 3br unit! What a deal we had a incredibel time! If you are looking for a very laid back place with no Attitudes thats Imperial Beach! We fell in love with it
We allready are planning are next trip!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2005

My family and I (mom, dad, 2 kids, and nanny) stayed in a 3 BR unit for the Presidents' Week holiday. The unit was spectacular -- we could have tossed a ball into the ocean from our balcony and it was a short walk to the scenic Imperial Beach pier. The location was also quite good -- it was only about 20 minutes to most of what San Diego has to offer, with the exception of the Wild Animal Park and Legoland, which are north of the city and took about 45 min - 1 hour to get to.

About Imperial Beach, there have been some comments regarding its "seediness". Here's my view: I think the area is up-and-coming, but it's certainly not La Jolla or Coronado. Then again, you're not paying for that at these prices (we got a 3 BR condo for $1200/week). Along the beach it is quite nice; as you go further from the beach there were a decent share of liquor stores and check-cashing outlets. One night there were some loud "partiers" on the beach near our unit. But overall, I felt very comfortable there with my family. The Beach Club itself was full of families.

And yes, the beach was polluted; recent heavy rains shut down all of the beaches from the Mexican border north to Coronado. It wasn't beach weather anyway so this didn't bother us; I don't know if this is always the case or not.

To wrap it up -- we would definitely go back! The Imperial Beach club offers location, value, space for a family, and amazing ocean views. It depends on what you're looking for.

Helpful?
10 Thank NJ2Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 18, 2004

We stayed in the beach club for a week in October and couldn't have been happier! The condo was amazing, the views were spectacular and as a family of 5 including a toddler, we couldn't have been more comfortable! We had coffee on the balcony over looking the ocean every morning and cocktails on the balcony every evening. It was very clean, safe & well maintained! The washer and dryer as well as the full kitchen made this the perfect vacation and we will stay here again! The beach was quiet and we felt safe walking it at night. This was by far the best way to take a family vacation!! Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imperial Beach
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sand Castle Inn and Suites
#3 of 3 in Imperial Beach
11 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club

Property: The Beach Club
Address: 714 Seacoast Dr, Imperial Beach, CA 91932-1800
Location: United States > California > Imperial Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Imperial Beach
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Beach Club Hotel Imperial Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing