We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice management.”
Review of Fern Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fern Valley Inn
Mexico City
Level Contributor
379 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Nice management.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Simple, comfortable, clean. It would be good to have telephones in the cabins and to be able to double lock the rooms.
Manager was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We received a cordial welcome from the co-owner, Ray. We stayed overnight in Cabin 6. The accomodation was simple, yet comfortable. A full kitchen and a private deck. Near to town and the excellent restaurant, Creek House. We would return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gnstringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our cabin was a free-standing house with full kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. I loved the antique touches. Built probably in the 1940s, it has that solid feel of a real home, with built-in niches, that were thoughtfully stocked with books and playing cards. The back porch had a table and chairs. To enjoy nature, all you had to do was go outside.

We saw quail, blue jaws, woodpeckers, squirrels and huge June bugs. (The June bugs stayed outside.) Just across the street was a little road that led to a nice creek. A little bit up the road was hiking trails. Very relaxing and serene.

I enjoyed talking to the owner, who only took over in February. He has plans to redecorate, which is probably a good thing. I didn't mind the 1970s antique country decor. It was very comfortable and homey. He was also explaining how some of the plants and shrubs are heirloom, including the lilac bushes planted year and years ago by someone who knows gardens.

I look forward to going back and seeing the changes. The owner and the staff were very friendly, and I'm sure the Fern Valley Inn is a good thing that will keep on getting better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PWestcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Nayarit, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The decor of the cabins at the Fern Valley Inn is Victorian-kitch. I think there is charm in that theme, but I feel the rooms are a little overdone. The doilies should go. And some of the wall art should be updated. Money should be spent on installing phones in the rooms and making sure the window blinds work. For those who stay and need to use a computer, there are very few options in the rooms for setting up . . . and very few electrical outlets. BUT, with those improvements in mind, I would give this place a high rating. The setting is charming, and the amenities in the rooms are complete. The quiet of the surrounding neighborhood is a plus . . . close enough to town yet removed from the car noise of the center of town. Handicapped people will find this place a challenge, as all the cabins have steps up to the front door, and the bathrooms are way too narrow for a wheelchair.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanpanchojudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I spent one night at Fern Valley Inn on 7/9/2011. Our experience was very pleasant. We stayed in cabin #5 which has a full kitchen and a saparate bed room. The entire layout was very cozy and apacious for two persons. We spent more time to look every room (there are 10 of them) before we checked out on 7/10/2011. Every room looked clean and was with its own character. We can't wait for trying out some other rooms in our enext getaway trips. The new innkeeper, Gary, has done a wonderful job since he took over in Fe. 2011. This is definitely a place you want to stay in when you visit Idywild.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choupai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

What a beautiful place. The setting is serene. The rooms are clean and cozy with a fireplace. Our room had a kitchen with all the amenities. The Inn Keeper, Gary, kept us well imformed about all the happenings in town and the many great resturants available. The Fern Valley Inn really compliments the town of Idyllwild and I already have made reservations to return with a friend from Washington state. I am looking forward to returning!
Linda
Modesto,Ca

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindamajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our first day, brought bad weather so the drive up the mountain was not scenic. As Floridians the nail biting drive provided a sparse amount of guard rails, twisty curves and little fog/rain. When we arrived at the Fern Valley Inn, we found it to be quite charming. One of the new owners, Gary was more than happy to start our fireplace in our room (again we are from Florida).

We stayed in the school days themed room. The rustic charming room was decorated nicely and had a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The bathroom is a little small but none the less a full bath.

The little town of Idyllwild has cute little shops, coffee spots and restaurants. We ate at Joan's...."she's back", says the sign. Not sure where she went but the food was good so we are glad she's there.

Our second day there provided much better weather and some hiking. We would recommend this little gem of an Inn and say hi to Gary for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Idyllwild hotels
2.0 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#3 of 9 in Idyllwild
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#4 of 13 in Idyllwild
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Idyllwild RV Resort
Idyllwild RV Resort
#1 of 13 in Idyllwild
317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 13 in Idyllwild
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Woods Resort
Pine Woods Resort
#8 of 9 in Idyllwild
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Valley Inn

Property: Fern Valley Inn
Address: 25240 Fern Valley Road, PO Box 116, Idyllwild, CA 92459
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful mountains above Palm Springs, we offer 10 cabins/rooms for a quiet get-away from the busy city life. Come to Idyllwild to Idle a while in our mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fern Valley Hotel Idyllwild

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing